Advice please! AMPS Tucker: 3.3(53)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker

Member Since 2018
I need some help, please. Tucker's preshot was 3.3 which he has never had before. I used a second meter and got 4.3. Yesterday was his first ever morning blue with a 9......and his PM +6 last night was 6.6.
 
First question, do you have a testing supplies, syrup and HC around? Are you close to a vet if needed?


  • Stall - don't feed, wait 20 mins and test again to see if he is going up or down. That may help you decide whether you want to shoot or not.
  • Based upon what you get from the stall number and the situation you can either - 1) don't shoot- just skip 2) give a BCS (big chicken shot - like a half dose) 3) give the full shot.
 
I need some help, please. Tucker's preshot was 3.3 which he has never had before. I used a second meter and got 4.3. Yesterday was his first ever morning blue with a 9......and his PM +6 last night was 6.6.
30 minute retest was 5.
 
I came into the bedroom to post on this page and my husband was in the kitchen with Tucker. He said he turned around and Tucker had eaten appx a tablespoon of Fancy Feast Classic out of his brother's bowl.... That was 1/2 and hour after the 3.3/4/3 AM test, so he HAS had a tiny bit of food on accident. He also let him go outside to wee in the garden in the rain, which he did and now he has come back inside and is just hanging out with me. Defs not starving which is a new thing for him--the other cats are in the kitchen eating and Tuck's just sitting here with me. His eyes look very bright and clear and he is head-booping me...so pretty happy in himself.
 
Ok. He is on the way up.
Which meter was that number from? Just stick to one meter now otherwise it will confuse things.....although was a good idea to retest at preshot time.
When I posted the 5.0 result I noticed that when I went to the US measurement it didn't show up there. I'm not sure what I've done wrong?
 
When I posted the 5.0 result I noticed that when I went to the US measurement it didn't show up there. I'm not sure what I've done wrong?
I'm talking about when you said ' that was 1/2 and an hour after the 3.3'
How long now since the first pretest? And when he ate?
 
I'm a bit confused....how long after the 3.3 did he eat the food and how long now since the first test of 3.3.?
Ok, the 3.3 was at 5:45 am. He ate the food at appx 6:05. I retested at 6:15. It's now been 45 minutes since the first blood test of the day. I have not given him any insulin yet. I have my husband letting him outside whilst this is going on so it got a bit confuddled.
 
Ok, the 3.3 was at 5:45 am. He ate the food at appx 6:05. I retested at 6:15. It's now been 45 minutes since the first blood test of the day. I have not given him any insulin yet. I have my husband letting him outside whilst this is going on so it got a bit confuddled.
Ok. I get it now:)
Retest now but stick to the one meter you retested with.
His BSL will be influenced by the food but let's see what it is anyway
 
Also, husband is upset that his cat is going to go into a coma and that 'How can he go from 15 one morning, to 9 the next to 3.3 the next.....are we just guessing........what if he had given him the shot and killed him today.........'. I'm actually thinking that he may have let him have the bit of Fancy Feast because he thought Tucker was so low we might lose him. He's scared for his cat. I've sent him off to work and I'll deal with when and what to shoot.
 
Ok, I'm going to retest now and it will be 50 minutes from the first test of the day. I am using the meter that gave the 4.3, then the 5.0.......I'll let you know in a minute what this test is.
 
Also, husband is upset that his cat is going to go into a coma and that 'How can he go from 15 one morning, to 9 the next to 3.3 the next.....are we just guessing........what if he had given him the shot and killed him today.........'. I'm actually thinking that he may have let him have the bit of Fancy Feast because he thought Tucker was so low we might lose him. He's scared for his cat. I've sent him off to work and I'll deal with when and what to shoot.
Tell him that the insulin is finally doing the job we wanted it to.
We are not just guessing.....that is what happens when you give insulin and NOT test!
I can understand he is concerned, but that is why we test .....to keep them safe.
Have you retested yet?
 
So using meter #2 we have: 4.3 (+20 minutes later a tablespoon of FF low very low carb), +30 minutes 5.0 and +52 minutes 6.7.
 
52 minutes after the 4.3 and his test was 6.7.
Ok so he has gone up some, but the result is food influenced.
I would not give the full amount because of this.
You can give a reduced dose or give a 'big chicken shot' ie 1/2 the normal dose.
I think a half dose, because he has been fed and we don't really know if he would have gone up on his own.
You will have to retest at +1 and +2 and keep a close eye on him all cycle....he tends to drop later in the cycle at times.
Are you happy with that?
The alternative is to wait a bit longer and see if he goes up higher but you will get more off schedule.
 
I'm thinking I might wait another 15 minutes and test again. This guy usually eats about 6 times what he has eaten today for a normal Tucker breakfast. He's laying here with Daisy on the bed and not wanting food, this is very strange behaviour but he does not seem unwell?
 
I just heard from our vet. She says the way she does it with her own diabetic cat, and she is not doing TR at all is "If he eats-he gets his full dose, if he nibbles he gets a half dose, if he doesn't eat she skips the dose". So she is telling me to offer breakfast and probably shoot half. Now that seems haphazard to me-but my husband had issues with me retesting??
 
I'm thinking I might wait another 15 minutes and test again. This guy usually eats about 6 times what he has eaten today for a normal Tucker breakfast. He's laying here with Daisy on the bed and not wanting food, this is very strange behaviour but he does not seem unwell?
Ok that is absolutely fine as this a lower preshot than you have done before. It's a shame he ate that food as the picture is blurred somewhat.
It is important you don't do something you are not comfortable with.
 
I just heard from our vet. She says the way she does it with her own diabetic cat, and she is not doing TR at all is "If he eats-he gets his full dose, if he nibbles he gets a half dose, if he doesn't eat she skips the dose". So she is telling me to offer breakfast and probably shoot half. Now that seems haphazard to me-but my husband had issues with me retesting??
Retesting is the only way to tell if he is going up and it is safe to shoot. Testing doesn't hurt Tucker....it keeps him safe.
Doing it the vets way is doing it blind in my opinion.
If Tucker was my cat I would do it the way the forum does it.......stall and retest.
It is difficult for you if there are conflicting views in the household
 
My husband panics when he goes high and then panics more when we get results and he is going lower. I have to say that it is a bit scary to me as well........but I'm ok since I have this forum and people like you to ask questions of when I'm worried. It's been 75 minutes since his first BG test of the day and he usually gets his shot 60 minutes ago. I'm going to retest him now and then make a decision.
 
My husband panics when he goes high and then panics more when we get results and he is going lower. I have to say that it is a bit scary to me as well........but I'm ok since I have this forum and people like you to ask questions of when I'm worried. It's been 75 minutes since his first BG test of the day and he usually gets his shot 60 minutes ago. I'm going to retest him now and then make a decision.
It is scary in the beginning when you start to get low numbers....we all understand that...I totally was scared.
I used to worry constantly about the high numbers then when I first got the low numbers I was more worried and longed for a higher number!:eek::rolleyes:
 
+80 minutes after the first test and he is at BG 8.
He's rising so that is good. Because we don't know if it is because he is doing it on his own or if it is food influenced, which I am sure it is at least a bit because he ate some food....I think I would go with the half dose this time and see how he goes.
Are you happy with this?
You will still need to test +1 and 2 and during the cycle.
 
That seems fair to me. I'm also annoyed with my husband but I'll let that go for now....
He loves his cat and I totally get that. But it is frustrating for you..........
Maybe if he read the TR protocol he might understand the process more and be happier with it.
Can you post all your tests please as I will be watching out for them.......thanks
 
Thanks Guys. I will keep checking in with Tucker and keep you posted. I gave him the half dose and now he is asking for his regular breakfast. Is that ok to give him now?
 
Also, I think when he saw the '3' he did panic, I did a little bit too... When I said 'we stall and ask and then retest' he was saying "But if he is only at 3 now and we do nothing, what happens if between now and a half an hour from now he goes even lower and we lose him?" because in his head, why would he suddenly start to climb without any food? He thought he might be going to drop into a coma...so he wanted to give him food. I barely stopped him from doing Karo syrup. I came in to contact the forum and Tucker got to eat that tablespoon of food....funny that.
 
Hmmm...he is not eating like the Tucker I know. He is eating, but sort of a few bites, then wants to come over and head boop, a couple of bites, head boop. His whole life he has eaten like a pig to be honest. I had never heard a cat smack their lips before Tucker, listening to him eat has always cracked me up. Whatever we give him it's 'lip smackin' good'! I would say he has had the better part of a can of Fancy Feast at this point, but is leaving some in the bowl. On any other day he would eat one can, and be begging me to open another for him.
 
Also, I think when he saw the '3' he did panic, I did a little bit too... When I said 'we stall and ask and then retest' he was saying "But if he is only at 3 now and we do nothing, what happens if between now and a half an hour from now he goes even lower and we lose him?" because in his head, why would he suddenly start to climb without any food? He thought he might be going to drop into a coma...so he wanted to give him food. I barely stopped him from doing Karo syrup. I came in to contact the forum and Tucker got to eat that tablespoon of food....funny that.
I paniced the first time I got a lowish number and it was 9 (162).!!
It was pre forum days and I had guests for dinner....I was a total mess. Didn't know what to do.
So I understand.
Tucker seems to sometimes go lower in the latter part of the cycle, so I think if you get a lower number at +6, I would test again at+8 or 9 to check he isn't going lower like he did last night then you can be more prepared for a low preshot.
 
Hmmm...he is not eating like the Tucker I know. He is eating, but sort of a few bites, then wants to come over and head boop, a couple of bites, head boop. His whole life he has eaten like a pig to be honest. I had never heard a cat smack their lips before Tucker, listening to him eat has always cracked me up. Whatever we give him it's 'lip smackin' good'! I would say he has had the better part of a can of Fancy Feast at this point, but is leaving some in the bowl. On any other day he would eat one can, and be begging me to open another for him.
Probably enough for now. Offer him more a bit later. You don't want to fill him up now in case he needs to eat for you later when the insulin kicks in
 
I just heard back from our vet. She has been thinking on it and says that 5.5 is a pretty high dose and she's worried that something else may be going on that he needs that much insulin. She's asked me to do a urine test and she wants to see him. Just when I'm thinking we are getting this guy regulated....
 
Infections can cause higher BG. If you have keto sticks, you can do a home ketone test. If you don't have them, they are $10 at the pharmacy.

And he is almost regulated. Getting there.
 
I just heard back from our vet. She has been thinking on it and says that 5.5 is a pretty high dose and she's worried that something else may be going on that he needs that much insulin. Yes She's asked me to do a urine test and she wants to see him. Just when I'm thinking we are getting this guy regulated....
I think you are getting him regulated. He might start needing less insulin now. That often happens.
He could have had some insulin resistance.
Probably good to get him checked if she advises it but don’t get stressed at this point. He is doing really well.
Just make sure he eats this cycle.
Any more BSL tests yet?
 
Last edited:
Sorry Guys! I did have to run out but made sure Tucker was at 11 before I did leave the house. I'm putting the numbers up now. He's normal today BUT obviously pissed off with the extra blood tests.... I'm not quite as popular with him as I was yesterday.
 
Tucker's numbers are looking good for yesterday.

For blood testing, Leo has been diabetic for 3.5 years now. He just kinda puts up with it. But mostly he is impatient because food usually follows the test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top