Advice on testing times and help planning ahead

Ben and Oreo

Member Since 2022
Hey can someone with some experience look at Oreo's spreadsheet and let me know what the best test times would be. I'm out of the house at 6:30am which is 30 minutes after her am shot and I get back a little after +11 I come home and check on her at +5 but its really hard to get a test in as I only have 2-5 minutes before I have to head back to work. Ideally there would be as few as possible that would keep her safe because she's not the biggest fan of testing. And is there any general advice you guys could offer e.g. what should my no shoot number be (or contingency plans because I have to be cautious during the day) and should I plan a dose increase to 2u for Thursday night? I figure I'd ask because after this libre failed which I was hoping to get some good numbers from and give us both a break from ear pokes I'm starting to feel defeated especially since I haven't seen and reliable blue yet. I don't want to hypo her but I also don't want to drive her away from me when I'm just trying to keep her safe.
 
Hi Ben, I am so lucky to have been working from home during this whole thing that I am probably not the best person to comment here. Your situation is tricky.

I know there are members who have done TR while working full time, it is quite possible. @Wendy&Neko maybe? If my memory serves.

It looks like you just increased to 1.75 and getting some lower pre-shots and middle yellows mid-cycle, that's not terrible at all. It's progress. I'm sure Bhooma or one of the experts will be along to offer some guidance, despite being at this for six months I'm not comfortable giving much advice I'm afraid.
 
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw I appreciate the reassurance on the recent numbers. I totally understand not being comfortable giving advice and thank you for responding. The thing that really bothers me is I look at quite a few spreadsheets and see that the reduction numbers often come at what seem to be random times and I'm worried that because of my schedule I may end up missing them.
 
well I don't know if I would say random.

Typically around nadir but yeah, on occasion a reduction is earned at a weird time like Hendrick's first was at +6, when he had almost ALWAYS been rising. I definitely didn't expect to see a 45 that night at 1230am.
 
Have you had a look at the post about TR and working full time?

I found it really helpful.

I get up extra early to give myself a +2 before I leave the house, so I know if I'm going to need to make a lunch-time (normally an early-ish lunch so I can be home around +5/6) trip home. Could you move your shot time up 30m so you could at least get a +1 before leaving the house? It might give you an idea on if you need to leave some higher carb food out to forestall steep dives. The linked thread above talks a lot about that.

I also had to find the right treats to bribe Faraday with to get him okay with the tests. He's getting a little bored with the original ones (freeze dried chicken breast), so I ordered some freeze-dried shrimp to tempt him into being cool with testing. He obviously doesn't like the testing process (his tail whips around wildly while I'm poking his ears), but he puts up with it (and doesn't try to actually bite me or run away too often).

I'm still very new to all this, but I hope my 2 cents help a little!
 
I have also seen in the facebook group for libre for cats and dogs that there is an option to install a gadget that reads the libre sensor placed on the kitty and sends data to your phone every 5 min. I have the libre but have not done the gadget. Here is the facebook group:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2894089194158745

Just an option to think about for extra piece of mind while away.
 
@Roxana & Henry that's not a bad idea but to be honest I've been having mixed feeling on the libres, like last night where it was reading over 100 points higher than what she was. The other problem always being their size because there really isn't an ideal place to set them that they stay on for longer than a week. I did see that abbott got fda approval on the libre 3 which is supposed to be way smaller and bluetooth capable. I might try shifting shot time back a bit and maybe talk to my boss about coming in an hour late which could let me get a +2 test but it might be tricky because the schedule currently has me running on fumes and some days could be pretty tight getting home.
 
Also @Cali S luckily she's not aggressive (but she can get me with her claws on accident) but I swear she could squirm out of a bowa constrictors grasp if she had the mind to haha. As far as her treat this week has been pinches of baked red salmon which she loves and probably is why I can get any test at all.
 
@Roxana & Henry that's not a bad idea but to be honest I've been having mixed feeling on the libres, like last night where it was reading over 100 points higher than what she was. The other problem always being their size because there really isn't an ideal place to set them that they stay on for longer than a week. I did see that abbott got fda approval on the libre 3 which is supposed to be way smaller and bluetooth capable. I might try shifting shot time back a bit and maybe talk to my boss about coming in an hour late which could let me get a +2 test but it might be tricky because the schedule currently has me running on fumes and some days could be pretty tight getting home.

I am pretty new here so I cannot really give too much advice but can speak from my experience with the few libres I had so far. The libres are not perfect (far from it) but are great for trends and determining nadirs and understanding when the BG is dropping too fast. I too was very annoyed in the beginning. I have done some research after getting some different numbers sometimes higher sometimes lower (even ended up scared at the vet two times lol) . This has been my own experience:
1. One time I had my AT being at 50 less than the Libre and was freaking out so went to the vet and they tested with their AT and the numbers were closer to the Libre but not my AT. Another time I took a reading with a Free Style Lite and the reading on that was 100 less. It turns out if a number makes no sense, the strip can be bad and you need to use another strip. I used the AT and was close to the Libre which means the Free Style Lite strip was wonky.
2. The FDA allows I believe 15-20% variance for a glucometer. "Every glucose meter and blood glucose monitoring system available for sale in the United States today is approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and is required to be within 15 percent of “lab value” glucose readings 95 percent of the time, and within 20 percent of "lab results” 99 percent of the time (these ranges of inconsistency are called variance)"
Now if the cat is 500 that means they allow 20% variance so real BG can be 400 in theory . But as the BG gets lower the 20% will not be 100 variance anymore it maybe 10 points for example. That is not for the libre but for all glucometers. I have an AT and also a Contour Next I can use when the BG on the libre starts going down fast and I need to do ear poke for piece of mind. The libre has the arrows which show going down fast or slow same with the increase (no, they are not always accurate lol)
3. The libres are pretty finicky at low numbers. Maybe a 50 on the libre is not really a 50 it is higher and kitty is safe but still a great time to do ear prick. You never know. Plus if you see the BG is rapidly going down from 80 you can act quickly and do ear prick/feed the curve etc.
4. The libre takes the reading not from blood but interstitial fluid so there is a delay between the libre and regular glucometer.
5. The libres do last 14 days if properly placed and covered with something like a onesie. The cats don't like the onesie. I buy dog ones from Amazon and trim it to fit the area where the Libre is so the poor cat does not have the full body covered. Tons of good info on how to keep the sensor on the Libre for Cats and Dogs Facebook page. My libres never ever lasted full 14 days until I covered with the onesie because my cat has a master in Yoga and is very flexible and picks at the libre regardless where it is placed. The top right shoulder area is the most tolerated by my kitty but again ECID.

This is not to convince you the libre is great (it has its many flows) but can be used as a tool in conjunction with others to get our babies on the way to being regulated and quick remission hopefully. It is a tough fight and I am going to use all the help I can get. It may not work for you and your baby in the end but don't give up on the libres yet, you can use them to your advantage as long as you are fully aware of the flows and strengths:) I did see the Libre 3 is coming out and is smaller and honestly can it please be released faster? I think it is wonderful. PS: Oreo is a cutie pie. Super adorable.
 
should I plan a dose increase to 2u for Thursday night?
Yes, unless you see blues or greens tonight you could actually increase tomorrow.
And is there any general advice you guys could offer e.g. what should my no shoot number be (or contingency plans because I have to be cautious during the day)
Do you have an autofeeder for Oreo? It's a great tool if Oreo will use it. If I was worried about where Neko might be going and was going to be away, I'd load the autofeeder with higher carb food for around nadir time. Basic general advice is to get enough testing to know when Oreo's onset is, and when typical nadir times are. That allows you to be strategic about testing and feeding to give her safe. The only "no shoot number" when on TR is 50 if using a human meter/68 on the pet meter. If you get a preshot mumber below 150, do NOT feed, and post for help. There are several options at that point, which are situation dependent. As you get more familiarity with Oreo on Lantus and seeing lower numbers, you'll be able to see what she does with a lower preshot and feel more comfortable shooting lower numbers.
 
@Wendy&Neko Thank you, I do have an auto feeder and she loves it because she knows when she hears it turn its meal time. That's good to know about the preshot up until now I was considering that number to be 200. Gonna see if I can get a midnight test in (+6) and if I don't catch a blue I will probably raise her up tomorrow night that way it gives a couple cycles before the weekend for her to adjust to the new dose. Also @Roxana & Henry your right with the libres being good for showing trends up until about 2 weeks ago all of her numbers are libre numbers, for her the challenge with keeping them on seems to be her activity level paired with her skin and fur characteristics (though 2 failures including the one from last night were from poor placement by vet techs). The shirt is absolutely a must because she will bite them off first chance she gets but other than being a slight annoyance she doesn't really mind them. Back on April 23 I had what I believe to be a really incorrect reading (considering she didn't hit a hard black that preshot# I imagine she would have bounced really hard if that was a solid reading) of LO at 1 am so I'm right there with you of the freak out readings. I'm not gonna discount them because they are a really powerful tool I'm just a little bitter from last nights libre haha. And thank you she definitely has her ways of cheering people up at the vet, Henry's a handsome boy too.
 
Back
Top