? Advice on shooting at 216

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mancat

Member
Ok so normally I wouldn't post a second thread to continue my original but I wanted to make this a separate thread because of her numbers. I appreciate your patience :). I tested her this morning and AMPS came in at 216. Being that I'm headed out to work I wanted to make sure she'd be high enough and fed her and waited 30 minutes to test again. She came in at 315 on her second test. It seems she has a really swift reaction to her food (low carb canned, wet 0-3% carb) and in her case I was thinking it would actually be alright to shoot her at 200-216 with her 2 unit dose. The spike after she eats seems to prevent her from bottoming out too low at nadir. Now I can't be 100% sure as it was pointed out that I have no +7 and +8 tests on my curve from this past weekend but next week I can absolutely get those in to see if she has a semi-late nadir.
 
Hmmm, that's tough. Since she ate, we can't be sure what the number was going to do. I would think it would probably be all right...could you leave out a frozen puck of food or anything so she can bring herself up if she goes low?
 
It looks like it should be okay. She seems to nadir late. You were 70 points higher yesterday and her blues were in safe ranges. I guess we don't know if she had the food spike yesterday?

As Rachel said, leaving food out is a great idea. It might be worth your while to invest in an automatic feeder if you don't have one. I love my PetSafe 5. It has 5 slots that open and close. You can program it to open at a given time. And I have found it cat proof. With it, you could set it to open at say +6 and 8, with just a little snack. That way she can't gobble down the food before she needs it.
 
Sue that's an excellent idea. I just looked it up on Amazon and I think I'll get the 2 meal feeder of theirs. I could take a little bit from her breakfast and put it in there for her to have later. Its a really reasonable price too which I like. Since its just her eating from it I shouldn't need the 5 meal. Thanks to you and Rachel for that tip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top