? Advice on dose skipping/ meal size?

Stella510

Member Since 2023
Revised questions: crossposted on FB group incase it's seen sooner.

Hi All! Recently switched from ill-advised vet advice that had me all over the place to following all info on FDMB forum for SLGS PZ and low-carb wet food only. Switched to only low carb wet food 4 days ago. Insulin dosage was irregular from 6/23-7/3 per vet internal staff disagreement & telling me conflicting info each new day. [PZ 1U every 12 hours. Pancreatitis and FIV+, 13yo. Diagnosed 6/23/23]

QUESTIONS:

INSULIN DOSAGE: 1U PZ was reduced to 0.5 for 152mg/dl at retest AMPS today.
1/ How often should I test BG today with this lowered dose?
2/ Following SLGS, do I stay at 0.5U PZ for next dose and onward, or go back to 1U? I read about how to lower but didn’t see about next dosing suggestions.

FOOD SCHEDULE:
1/ Is the diet listed below an appropriate amount of food to maintain weight for 12.5lb. cat?
2/ When I switch to Fancy Feast classic pate in a few weeks, do I need to be aware of anything other than tapering to new food?
3/ Is free feeding ok if I remove it 2 hours prior to shot for BG testing?
4/ Anything I can do at home to navigate hard BM/slight constipation? He doesn't seem otherwise dehydrated.

Current Diet
AM: 81g wet royal canin glycobalance
AMPS +5: 40g wet royal canin glycobalance -adding snack for somogyi effect treatment
PM: 81g wet royal canin glycobalance
PMPS +4: 40g wet royal canin glycobalance -adding snack for somogyi effect treatment

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome! First, may I ask about these doses. What is a 1.1 dose? What kind of syringes are you using. I hope they are U-40 syringes for ProZinc?
 
I would like to see some more consistent dosing when possible. Under SLGS protocol, he earned a reduction when he hit 74 the other night. I would reduce his dose to .75 going forward.
 
3/ Is free feeding ok if I remove it 2 hours prior to shot for BG testing?
Feeding very much after nadir is not recommended because it can shorten the duration of the insulin and make his numbers rise prematurely in the cycle. Right now, with limited data, we don’t know his typical nadir time, but I would not allow him to free feed after about +6 for the time being.
 
Diabetic cats do well with having their total daily food intake divided up into smaller portions throughout the day. I would “test, feed, shoot” all within about a 10-15 minute time span. You do not have to wait for him to finish eating. Then I would give low carb snacks of food - about 1-2 tsp. at +2 and +4 and, if needed at +6 but not later than that. If he needs to gain weight, I would make the meal and snacks larger.
 
With regard to constipation, I would start with 1/8 teaspoon of Miralax once a day for a few days. If it doesn’t improve, then you can do twice a day. If that doesn’t work, then you can increase to 1/4 tsp., etc. If his stools become too loose then you can decrease the dose and/or frequency of the Miralax.
 
Back
Top