Revised questions: crossposted on FB group incase it's seen sooner.
Hi All! Recently switched from ill-advised vet advice that had me all over the place to following all info on FDMB forum for SLGS PZ and low-carb wet food only. Switched to only low carb wet food 4 days ago. Insulin dosage was irregular from 6/23-7/3 per vet internal staff disagreement & telling me conflicting info each new day. [PZ 1U every 12 hours. Pancreatitis and FIV+, 13yo. Diagnosed 6/23/23]
QUESTIONS:
INSULIN DOSAGE: 1U PZ was reduced to 0.5 for 152mg/dl at retest AMPS today.
1/ How often should I test BG today with this lowered dose?
2/ Following SLGS, do I stay at 0.5U PZ for next dose and onward, or go back to 1U? I read about how to lower but didn’t see about next dosing suggestions.
FOOD SCHEDULE:
1/ Is the diet listed below an appropriate amount of food to maintain weight for 12.5lb. cat?
2/ When I switch to Fancy Feast classic pate in a few weeks, do I need to be aware of anything other than tapering to new food?
3/ Is free feeding ok if I remove it 2 hours prior to shot for BG testing?
4/ Anything I can do at home to navigate hard BM/slight constipation? He doesn't seem otherwise dehydrated.
Current Diet
AM: 81g wet royal canin glycobalance
AMPS +5: 40g wet royal canin glycobalance -adding snack for somogyi effect treatment
PM: 81g wet royal canin glycobalance
PMPS +4: 40g wet royal canin glycobalance -adding snack for somogyi effect treatment
Thank you!
Hi All! Recently switched from ill-advised vet advice that had me all over the place to following all info on FDMB forum for SLGS PZ and low-carb wet food only. Switched to only low carb wet food 4 days ago. Insulin dosage was irregular from 6/23-7/3 per vet internal staff disagreement & telling me conflicting info each new day. [PZ 1U every 12 hours. Pancreatitis and FIV+, 13yo. Diagnosed 6/23/23]
QUESTIONS:
INSULIN DOSAGE: 1U PZ was reduced to 0.5 for 152mg/dl at retest AMPS today.
1/ How often should I test BG today with this lowered dose?
2/ Following SLGS, do I stay at 0.5U PZ for next dose and onward, or go back to 1U? I read about how to lower but didn’t see about next dosing suggestions.
FOOD SCHEDULE:
1/ Is the diet listed below an appropriate amount of food to maintain weight for 12.5lb. cat?
2/ When I switch to Fancy Feast classic pate in a few weeks, do I need to be aware of anything other than tapering to new food?
3/ Is free feeding ok if I remove it 2 hours prior to shot for BG testing?
4/ Anything I can do at home to navigate hard BM/slight constipation? He doesn't seem otherwise dehydrated.
Current Diet
AM: 81g wet royal canin glycobalance
AMPS +5: 40g wet royal canin glycobalance -adding snack for somogyi effect treatment
PM: 81g wet royal canin glycobalance
PMPS +4: 40g wet royal canin glycobalance -adding snack for somogyi effect treatment
Thank you!
Last edited: