Advice on Curve (mini-curve) for Lovey

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hello, I am getting some readings on a dose that I have been for the past 4 days or so. (about 1.33, definitely less than 1.5) (I am still using the U-40 needle, but I did buy some u-100 needles.)


So far

295 preshot

+ 3 ( 15 minutes before 3 ) 220

+5 137


+ 6 ( 6 hours 20 minutes) 173


I will get some more numbers to see if this dose is lasting long enough.


I have a feeling this dose is not lasting long enough maybe with an earlier nadir. I have been getting preshots around 300 and some 350 or more. cat nadir went too low with 1.75.
My vet suggested 1.5 which I was using before I started home testing. I checked some midcycle numbers at 1.5 but I didn't test preshots much. When I started home testing more, I notice PMPS were low. When I started testing more, I notice the PMPs were lower so I then was afraid 1.5 was too high. Mabye 1.4 or 1.45 with a u-100 needle.?
 
The BGs are not bad at all. An increase to 1 1/2 units might be in order. If yo use U100 syringes it is easy to give 1.4 units (3 1/2 units marking on a U100 syringe)
 
Thanks Larry for the input. I appreciate it. How many kitties do you have? How many take insulin?
 
I did one more reading.

295 Preshot

After 25 minutes later gave insulin

+3 202 ( 15 minutes before 3 hours)


+ 5 137


+6 173 ( 20 minutes after 6 hours)


+ 10 346 ( 20 minutes after 6 hours)

Fed cat and gave insulin at +11
 
Hi,

I did some readings yesterday. I wanted to get another around +9, but we got unexpected company. Anyway, could you take a look at

the readings I did get.

thank you,

catherine
 
Good mid BGs but high PSs. I would see if y get similar BG for a day or two more and then increase to 1.4 units using U100 syringes. That way y can get more consistent doses.
I have eight kitties with four being diabetic and one doggie
 
Thanks Larry, I probably should have done that. confused_cat I wasn't sure how to proceed. I gave a touch more with the u-40 needle, probably about 1.4 or 1.45 the most. I will test at 5 hours.
 
larry, the u-100 needle my pharmacist had was 5/16 inches long. My needle is 1/2 inche. Is that long enough?

ALso, the gauge is 31 and my u-40 in 29
 
The 5/16 is plenty long enough, and many people here use them. The gauge is great too. It's a teeny bit smaller in diameter, so Lovey is likely to feel the needle even less.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top