Julie and Honey
Member Since 2018
Sorry this is long, trying to cover all questions in one post. Thanks in advance!
History:
Back in September BG was around 225-250 at regular vet visit.
Recheck in December, BG at vet around 350, fructosamine from same blood sample came back 526 avg for the previous few weeks. At this point vet said in diabetic range and to start treating with Lantus. No ketones in urine sample at same visit.
Talked to vet and I asked her about doing diet change before starting insulin. Told her I was concerned insulin and diet change at same time might drop kitty too low initially. Vet was okay with this plan and said to do BG check after one week on low carb diet and go from there.
Diet prior to removing carbs: low carb wet and also had high carb dry out all the time to nibble on during day and overnight and also got about ten high carb treats per day.
Within 2 days after taking dry food and treats away, urine output was reduced by 50% and she was drinking less than she used to, she was still ravenously hungry though, I was feeding her small low carb wet meals every 2-3 hours.
Now after 5 days low carb all wet meals she is going a little longer between meals, so her hunger seems reduced (still cleans her dish, so appetite is still good). Continued reduced urine output and drinking.
I have not checked her BG since the labs at vet which was 10 days ago. I have a meter now and was planning on checking it before I take her to vet later in the week to see where we are at.
Here are some questions I need to figure out before starting insulin later this week(if still necessary):
I know diet alone can lower BG, but what I am concerned with is if her BG came down enough from just diet alone and no insulin, could that still cause bounce and when we test at vet could it show high when it really is not high and just a bounce?
If so, would a bounce from just diet change correct itself and stabilize to what her “real” BG truly is after a week or so on low carb? I don’t want a false high number due to bounce from diet carb reduction and then the vet thinks she needs to start at a higher dose.
What does the group think a safe BG number is to NOT start insulin and take a wait and see approach and periodically check her BG at home to see if it stays lower with diet alone? Under 300?
If insulin is needed, Starting dose? Initially vet wanted one unit 1 x a day for the first week. Then switching to 2 x a day after the first week. Does anyone see any problem with once a day for the first week? Only asking because I will have to go against vets advice.
Lantus Pens vs. vials - I watched the video and it was mentioned drawing from pen if you get air in there it is no good, sounds like drawing from pen is trickier than vial? I can buy pen locally (and would cost less) but would order vial from Marks in Canada as it is a lot cheaper than the US price. Ordering from Marks would delay starting insulin by a week. Would prefer pen for cost, but afraid I may screw it up and get air in it. How hard is it to draw from pen for one person alone without accidentally getting air in it?
Thanks again and Happy Holidays to everyone and their kitties!!!
History:
Back in September BG was around 225-250 at regular vet visit.
Recheck in December, BG at vet around 350, fructosamine from same blood sample came back 526 avg for the previous few weeks. At this point vet said in diabetic range and to start treating with Lantus. No ketones in urine sample at same visit.
Talked to vet and I asked her about doing diet change before starting insulin. Told her I was concerned insulin and diet change at same time might drop kitty too low initially. Vet was okay with this plan and said to do BG check after one week on low carb diet and go from there.
Diet prior to removing carbs: low carb wet and also had high carb dry out all the time to nibble on during day and overnight and also got about ten high carb treats per day.
Within 2 days after taking dry food and treats away, urine output was reduced by 50% and she was drinking less than she used to, she was still ravenously hungry though, I was feeding her small low carb wet meals every 2-3 hours.
Now after 5 days low carb all wet meals she is going a little longer between meals, so her hunger seems reduced (still cleans her dish, so appetite is still good). Continued reduced urine output and drinking.
I have not checked her BG since the labs at vet which was 10 days ago. I have a meter now and was planning on checking it before I take her to vet later in the week to see where we are at.
Here are some questions I need to figure out before starting insulin later this week(if still necessary):
I know diet alone can lower BG, but what I am concerned with is if her BG came down enough from just diet alone and no insulin, could that still cause bounce and when we test at vet could it show high when it really is not high and just a bounce?
If so, would a bounce from just diet change correct itself and stabilize to what her “real” BG truly is after a week or so on low carb? I don’t want a false high number due to bounce from diet carb reduction and then the vet thinks she needs to start at a higher dose.
What does the group think a safe BG number is to NOT start insulin and take a wait and see approach and periodically check her BG at home to see if it stays lower with diet alone? Under 300?
If insulin is needed, Starting dose? Initially vet wanted one unit 1 x a day for the first week. Then switching to 2 x a day after the first week. Does anyone see any problem with once a day for the first week? Only asking because I will have to go against vets advice.
Lantus Pens vs. vials - I watched the video and it was mentioned drawing from pen if you get air in there it is no good, sounds like drawing from pen is trickier than vial? I can buy pen locally (and would cost less) but would order vial from Marks in Canada as it is a lot cheaper than the US price. Ordering from Marks would delay starting insulin by a week. Would prefer pen for cost, but afraid I may screw it up and get air in it. How hard is it to draw from pen for one person alone without accidentally getting air in it?
Thanks again and Happy Holidays to everyone and their kitties!!!
. Definitely learn to test and if someone says their Vet does not believe in testing, we'd ask them if they would blinding give a small child insulin without testing?