? ADVICE needed!

Diana_578

Member Since 2022
I am new to this message board and I know I am not following the rules completely with my headings...but looking for some help as my vet office is closed!

Lily was diagnosed 3/19/22 at ER vet with diabetes and was put on Lantus- 1 unit, 2 times per day...after a few days it was increased to 1.5 units and then again by 2.0 (I think too much, too fast).
She had 2 hypoglycemic episodes over the weekend (no symptoms other than bg below 50)...gave karo syrup.

Called ER vet- no insulin last night and give 1 unit Monday (today) am and follow up with regular vet.

REgular vet today- increase to 1.5 units, start incorporating new food (friskies pate) into food.

He said if bg is 200 or less, do not give insulin. Right now her bg is 192 (1 hour before feeding). I think if it gets above 200, 1.5 units would be too much...I am so confused!!!

Spreadsheet link attached...any advice is appreciated!!!

THANK YOU

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...l-pGYj7JMGfc0qm5VHhYf1r4LQNn7kJqa5nyb/pubhtml
 
Here is the link to yesterday's post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help.261247/ We ask that people include those links so we can quickly get caught up on what happened before.

On to today, we do not change dosing based on preshots, but rather how low the Lantus dose took your cat. So we don't do a scale of dose based on preshot, rather we stick with one dose until either a decrease is earned (cat goes too low like a couple days ago), or we find that the dose isn't getting you the numbers you want once the depot is built. In general, we hold all doses at least 3 days or 7 days if feeding any dry food. Hold the dose means, shoot the same amount.

Are you still feeding Lily dry food?

Yesterday I had suggested going back to 1.5 units.
 
@Diana_578
Hi Diana as mentioned in yesterday's post
It's important to note the ketones. We have some items items we like to see in your signature, the details are in here:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
 
nice sheet and testing so far! i think ur doing a great JOB Diana!
it is very very hard in the beginning, but it is a very steep learning curve, learning will happen QUICK! which is good news! read ALL you can from the forums, especially the Lantis main forums top pages since your baby Lily is on lantus.

What i did was keep pages open on computer to be able to read them over and over.

There are many people here who have a TON of experience working with cat babies who have feline diabetes can give you Fantastic advice, i myself would suggest you take it!! of course none of it "trumps" a vet, because there are no medical vets here........,..........,...,..,..................

Keep at it, and it will get better and easier and eventually CALMER ( you will become more sure!!)
if u need help with testing instructions, tag me. or just tag me for stuff like that. i cant give dosing advice tho, im just way too new and am still getting lots of help here!

And...welcome to you guys, Diana and Lily, this is like a new home!:woot::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top