advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippersmom

Member
The Prozinc is on it's way to Costco,but in the meantime I have two 1.5 unit doses of Humalog N. I'm reluctant to just shoot him with 1.5 units when his BG is 328. It was 416 at the vet and he hasn't had any insulin yet. How does the dosing compare to Prozinc?
 
I am sorry but I am not at all familiar with that insulin. Would it be possible to cut the dose in half? You may want to post on the health forum as there are a lot more people available there.
 
I'm not familiar with N insulins. I believe they last roughly 6-8 hours? I couldn't give much advice there though perhaps someone on health could? Will you be home to monitor? Might try a lower dose...maybe .5 or 1?

When you get the ProZinc you might try 1. That's a good starting point and you can move from there as you get data.
 
Are you saying youve only been given 2 doses to tide you over till you get you prozinc (meaning first 2 shots) or 2 shots left of a vial your already using. If this is NEW and your trying to regulate, in my opinion, I would not administer the N. The body wouldnt have enough time to get used to it anyways and then youd be starting something new anyways. Its just 2 shots, and with N since its not a long lasting insulin I dont think it would have much of an effect. IF your stating you only have 2 shots LEFT and you've been giving the N then I dont think it could harm anything to give the last 2 shots.
 
I was given 2 doses in preload syringes. I gave him the full dose last night and in 4 hours he was down to 128. 4 hours after that he was 140. Now he is 375. So apparently the N is quick acting but not long lasting. I gave him half the dose this time because I didn't like that huge drop. Now I need to decide whether to skip the next 2 doses until the ProZinc comes in or go buy a few more of the N from the local vet. He was in the 300 for several days and was losing K and Electrolytes. I don't know what is more risky high BG or the wrong insulin.
 
Tough decision, Rae Ann. I think my vote would be to use the N, as long as you are around to monitor him. The dose you gave got him in lower numbers (below the renal threshold to help the pancreas heal). Yes, it didn't last long enough (it very seldom does) but I am thinking some insulin is better than none? Your half dose this should give you good info about whether that dose will bring him down into some good numbers or whether you need the higher dose and be sure to be around to test in those first hours when he is likely to drop.
 
Good news!! Costco called and it is in already! He won't miss a dose of insulin and he'll be back on ProZinc this evening. So ready to start this fight! :) nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top