Diana M.
Member Since 2017
First time posting here. Jake was diagnosed on 11/7 with a BG of 689. The vet started him at 1 unit twice a day (not recorded on his spreadsheet since I hadn't found this site yet). Note: he's a dry food addict and we are still working to transition him to wet food. Since he also has severe IBD we've had to tackle this transition more slowly than is ideal.
Recently, we settled into a 2 unit twice a day rhythm and, with little change to that dose, have seen his numbers steadily drop from blacks & reds, to pinks, to yellows and now we are finally starting to see some blues. Seeing blue numbers today for the first time pre-shot was exciting and a bit scary and we were not entirely confident about what to do with his insulin dosage. We ended up giving him a token dose but, in retrospect, are wondering if that was the right thing to do. Are we being too conservative?
Based on his spreadsheet does anyone have any thoughts on what's going on there and how we best could handle this kind of situation should it arise again?
Recently, we settled into a 2 unit twice a day rhythm and, with little change to that dose, have seen his numbers steadily drop from blacks & reds, to pinks, to yellows and now we are finally starting to see some blues. Seeing blue numbers today for the first time pre-shot was exciting and a bit scary and we were not entirely confident about what to do with his insulin dosage. We ended up giving him a token dose but, in retrospect, are wondering if that was the right thing to do. Are we being too conservative?
Based on his spreadsheet does anyone have any thoughts on what's going on there and how we best could handle this kind of situation should it arise again?

