Alaina and George
Member Since 2012
Hi All,
My name is Alaina and while I'm not new to the forum, this is the first post I've made. Since being released from the emergency hospital after a bout with DKA, George has been doing much better. He's eating (a lot) but that's okay, he's underweight, drinking, peeing, pooping, and purring. However, he has often had levels in the 400's in the morning. With DKA being a concern, I'd like to get him out of that 400 range and see more preshot levels in the 300's. My Vet has instructed me to give 1u if he's over 400, and .5u if he's in the 200's or 300's and to never shoot if he's lower than 180. The first time he was given an injection of the Lantus he dropped to 66 after about 4.5 hours to hypoglycemia was initially a concern as well. When I emailed my vet to let her know he was in the 400's yesterday morning she said to give 1u and then for his next feeding give .5u if in the 200-300's. Then she said if he stops eating let her know. And that was it.
So these are my questions:
1: Is this protocol as far as vet communication? Don't communicate with the vet anymore unless he stops eating?
2: Does anyone have a vet they LOVE in Chicago? Budget is somewhat a concern for me, as I don't have pet insurance.
3: Is it really dangerous as far as ketones returning with levels in the 400's as long as they drop considerably throughout the day before going up again?
4: How long does regulation typically take after DKA? He was on Humulin R (I think) in the hospital and transitioned to Lantus when he was discharged to my vet (and had the 66 reading after the very first dose) on Thursday March 21st in the AM, so it's almost been a week on the Lantus. Maybe I'm not being patient enough.
5. How do you keep yourself from not going batty? I've had this cat for 10 years (since college) and this whole ordeal is really affecting me. Yesterday was like the first night I've slept since he's been home.
Also, another concern I have is that I'm moving with my husband to Ireland in June and I won't be able to take him with us for a number of reasons. If by some miracle he goes into remission my mom may be able to take him but my dad won't allow it otherwise. So unfortunately, I have to think about giving him up for adoption which KILLS me. I love this cat so much, he has the BEST personality and he's been my faithful friend through some really tough times. Are there adoption agencies that specialize in getting a diabetic cat placed? I'd love to have an "open" adoption if it would be allowed but the best thing would be for George to be well taken care of.
Okay sorry about the VERY long post. I'm just feeling really alone right now and was thinking this was a great place to start. So glad I found the forum. Thanks in advance for your advice, encouragement, etc. :smile:
My name is Alaina and while I'm not new to the forum, this is the first post I've made. Since being released from the emergency hospital after a bout with DKA, George has been doing much better. He's eating (a lot) but that's okay, he's underweight, drinking, peeing, pooping, and purring. However, he has often had levels in the 400's in the morning. With DKA being a concern, I'd like to get him out of that 400 range and see more preshot levels in the 300's. My Vet has instructed me to give 1u if he's over 400, and .5u if he's in the 200's or 300's and to never shoot if he's lower than 180. The first time he was given an injection of the Lantus he dropped to 66 after about 4.5 hours to hypoglycemia was initially a concern as well. When I emailed my vet to let her know he was in the 400's yesterday morning she said to give 1u and then for his next feeding give .5u if in the 200-300's. Then she said if he stops eating let her know. And that was it.
So these are my questions:
1: Is this protocol as far as vet communication? Don't communicate with the vet anymore unless he stops eating?
2: Does anyone have a vet they LOVE in Chicago? Budget is somewhat a concern for me, as I don't have pet insurance.
3: Is it really dangerous as far as ketones returning with levels in the 400's as long as they drop considerably throughout the day before going up again?
4: How long does regulation typically take after DKA? He was on Humulin R (I think) in the hospital and transitioned to Lantus when he was discharged to my vet (and had the 66 reading after the very first dose) on Thursday March 21st in the AM, so it's almost been a week on the Lantus. Maybe I'm not being patient enough.
5. How do you keep yourself from not going batty? I've had this cat for 10 years (since college) and this whole ordeal is really affecting me. Yesterday was like the first night I've slept since he's been home.
Also, another concern I have is that I'm moving with my husband to Ireland in June and I won't be able to take him with us for a number of reasons. If by some miracle he goes into remission my mom may be able to take him but my dad won't allow it otherwise. So unfortunately, I have to think about giving him up for adoption which KILLS me. I love this cat so much, he has the BEST personality and he's been my faithful friend through some really tough times. Are there adoption agencies that specialize in getting a diabetic cat placed? I'd love to have an "open" adoption if it would be allowed but the best thing would be for George to be well taken care of.
Okay sorry about the VERY long post. I'm just feeling really alone right now and was thinking this was a great place to start. So glad I found the forum. Thanks in advance for your advice, encouragement, etc. :smile: