Hi everyone - I just joined the group, nice to meet you all. My cat was recently diagnosed with diabetes and I've started her treatment using Lantus 1 unit twice a day. For food, I'm using Purina Pro Plan DM wet food but I've been reading a lot that it has a higher level of carbs than desired and that Fancy Feast Classic Pate is much better in increasing chances of remission. Would it be best to change her from DM wet food to Fancy Feast Pate to achieve remission? She also lost weight because of diabetes and not sure if the DM wet food even helps because it's "dietetic management" so that's why I'm thinking of doing Fancy Feast Classic Pate instead?
Also, her BG levels were in the 300s when we first started and had to skip a couple of doses due to the level being somewhat in the "normal range" so now I do 1 unit once a day to be safe to avoid the BG going too low. But since doing that, her BG level would be fine during the day with the 1 unit in the morning but then next morning it would go back up highly with it in the 400s now. It's been a cycle of it being 400s in the morning, give 1 unit, BG goes down to normal range or at least around there, but then back to the 400s again. Not sure if this is okay? I'm not sure what to do in this case because I want to get the BG levels somewhat regulated.
I also haven't fully understood when I should give her a dose depending on her BG readings? I test before she eats to make sure and skipped a few doses just to be safe but not sure if I should actually be giving her a lower dose in those cases. For example, I know if its in the 300s to give a dose but if its 200 - 299, do I give a full dose or a reduced dose? I don't want to risk the BG level to go to low.
Thank you!
Also, her BG levels were in the 300s when we first started and had to skip a couple of doses due to the level being somewhat in the "normal range" so now I do 1 unit once a day to be safe to avoid the BG going too low. But since doing that, her BG level would be fine during the day with the 1 unit in the morning but then next morning it would go back up highly with it in the 400s now. It's been a cycle of it being 400s in the morning, give 1 unit, BG goes down to normal range or at least around there, but then back to the 400s again. Not sure if this is okay? I'm not sure what to do in this case because I want to get the BG levels somewhat regulated.
I also haven't fully understood when I should give her a dose depending on her BG readings? I test before she eats to make sure and skipped a few doses just to be safe but not sure if I should actually be giving her a lower dose in those cases. For example, I know if its in the 300s to give a dose but if its 200 - 299, do I give a full dose or a reduced dose? I don't want to risk the BG level to go to low.
Thank you!