Advice, low numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Douglas_my ginger cat

Member Since 2020
Hi,

I need some advice as I have moved Douglas up to 2IU twice daily in the last few days and his numbers have dropped especially in the evening. This seems to be repeating a pattern back in mid September where I was unable to administer insulin in the evenings as he was always low. I really do not want to go back to starting again and so have administered lower amounts in the evening. (Please note that I do know the no-shot number is anything under 11.1, but I did not want to give him no insulin and to have a higher number in the morning. I did monitor throughout the night with these).

I am stuck with what to do next. Tonight he shot the lowest number I have seen in before on a AMPS or PMPS. I will not be giving him any insulin tonight but am just frustrated that we will be back to a high number in the morning and repeating this cycle. Yet again.

Advice welcome. Thank you
 
Hi Anna,

The PMPS readings have only started dropping into the blue range since you upped the AM dose to 2.0IU. I understand how disheartening the pink AMPS values are but on the 1.75IU dose you were at least able to give insulin twice a day (with the caveat that you'd need to keep an eye on PM cycle nadirs - I suspect Douglas may be running lower on these cycles, as many cats tend to do).

It's hard that you keep reaching this type of impasse with Douglas. I can't recall whether you've answered this before (apologies!) but have you considered switching to another, longer-acting insulin?


Mogs
.
 
Hi Mogs,

I have considered going to Prozinc and my vet is aware but he wanted to fully rule out Caninsulin first (I was also not pushing him to move to Prozince, almost not rocking thr boat where the drugs come from perhaps o_O).

So would you say to move him back to 1.75IU?

Thanks, Anna
 
So would you say to move him back to 1.75IU?
If I was in this situation, that's what I'd try based on Douglas' data. You're still getting lower PMPS readings, but they're high enough to dose the vast majority of the time.

Looking at the recent PM data, the Caninsulin dose can peter out as early as +6, so the duration Douglas is getting doesn't look that hectic - something to discuss with your vet? Douglas has been on Caninsulin for 5 months now so I reckon you've given it a more than fair crack at the whip. Hopefully he might do better on Prozinc but what if he doesn't and you need to switch to, say, Lantus, at a later stage? The longer you give an insulin that isn't doing enough, then due to prescribing rules it's even longer before you can get to one that might work better for your little fella.

What do you think yourself?


Mogs
.
 
I'm feeling overwhelmed and frustrated with it all at the moment:arghh:

I think you are right and 5 months on Caninsulin is more than enough time to see if it would work. I will read up on Prozinc and then get in touch with the vet.

Thank you for your advice Mogs, extremely appreciated! :bighug:

have to say I think that’s the next step - make a decision and stick to it. Onwards and upwards!
 
Hi, just doing some research on Prozinc. Is it only available in 10ml vials? Is the expiry 28 days from first use (same as Caninsulin)? And, what is the rough price for this?

Thanks!
 
Sample prices:

Animed Direct have Prozinc for £51.68.

https://www.animeddirect.co.uk/catalogsearch/result/?q=prozinc

Pet Drugs Online - £49.98.

https://www.petdrugsonline.co.uk/prozinc-insulin-for-cats-40-iu-ml

To the best of my knowledge it only comes in 10ml vials but you'd need to confirm that - and how long it lasts - with one of the Prozinc mavens. (Tagging @Deb & Wink and @JanetNJ.)

I'm feeling overwhelmed and frustrated with it all at the moment:arghh:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top