Advice Help ? 11-24-19 Salem AMPS 220 +1.5= 276+3=290 +4= 276 +6=348

Tina and Salem

Member Since 2019
Last edited:
Looks like salems naidiar is 62 with 2 units think this will be our limit for now . Hes doing really good in the greens now . Im feeling safe to say 62 will be hes lowest in this dose . I will still be checking him through out the day and night but not as much . Salems says thank God ! Lol ...Salem mommie feels safe now .
 
Last edited:
Yes i got a one hour nap lol today , ready to start all over again . Hes is responding really well . Hes been really relaxed and laid back .You can tell he feels better . The other night when i was checking his sugar i laided the meter in front of him while i was pricking him . He grabbed it with his paw looked at it and looked up at me like he was trying to ask me what was all the fuss over him lately ? Lol i just explained to him what was going on with him being sick and all and why its important i do all this because he almost died while he was in the hospital . And i told him how happy i was that DCIN and this message board helped save him and God let me keep him a little longer whether he understood or not i dnt know . You would be surprise what they do understand . My moms dog she use to have was so smart and was like a little human . He listen good and did whatever she told him to do . Sometimes he didnt like being told what to do and rolled his eyes lol . Have a good night and good week everyone ! !
 
Did salem get his insulin or what hes up to 348 he was doing so good whats going in tonight ?
 
Last edited:
Whats going on ?? Salem was doing so good for 2 days hes sugar is steady going up tonight ? Its like he missed his insulin or something ? can someone tell me whats going on ?? Anyone seen this before ? Is it possible hes insulin didnt go in ?
 
I know this isnt actually an emergency but sugar going up after he was doing so well doesnt make sense ??? He just ate will this help his sugar to go up more or will it help the insulin to start to work ?
 
I just fed in just twenty mins hes sugar has dropped instead of increased ? From 348 to 327 . I will retest in thirty minutes see if he has dropped again. I know when you shot he must eat , maybe salem didn't eat after i test/ fed/ shot ? Could this be it ?
 
Tina, I think that Salem is bouncing from the lovely string of green numbers. This is common and nothing to worry about.

I'm just a bit confused why you increased the dose to 2 units when you were getting green nadirs in three cycles in the previous 4 days. Did you decide to do that on your own or did someone suggest it to you?

Also you might like to take down the GA in the subject line ....it means 'Gone ahead' or 'guardian angel...it is for kitties that have passed away.
 
Yes he was still yellows all day even though he had a few greens thats why we decided to increase again one more time . But we waited one more day to be sure . Ok i wasn't sure if he was bouncing or what ? I thought bouncing was just a few times not consistent like tonight's pmps Was strange not to see the blues and greens again ? Oops thought maybe ga was get advise oops sorry . Couldnt remember what i was told it stood for sorry about that . I did a search on the board but couldnt find it . Thanks .
 
Sorry i looked at the wrong days i see why you are confused why we increased the dosage he was in the blues not yellows . I think it was we wanted to see more greens . Yes someone agreed to increase after i mentioned to increase
 
But suggested i wait one more day . I increased in the pmps on that extra day . I understand you are not shooting the numbers you test the depot is where the results are coming from .
 
Was it not wise to increase with just a few greens ? Greens is what we are trying to achieve correct? I read 120-300 mg was good for a diabetic cat which i feel safer in the blue numbers . Im not sure about that 300 though ? The greens are not much numbers to play with ? I prefer the blue numbers .
 
Tina, when you say "we decided" who is 'we'?

If you look at the TR method..(and this is what you have in your signature)

Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200 but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Deviating from this TR method like you have is putting Salem in danger of dropping very low.

Was it not wise to increase with just a few greens ?
No it was not a wise decision.
Until you have gained more experience I would suggest you ask an experienced person when to increase the dose.
You need to go back to the previous dose of 1.75 units
 
I thought i did ask from an experience board member ? I suggest then was agreed on to increase after i waited one more day first ? I stayed up all night watching him did not go to sleep until he was safe and stable without food influenced
 
I test religiously . To make sure salems safe .
I know you test a lot Tina, and that is great.:)
But the thing is, Salem dropped into a string of greens with the first two doses of the 2 units.
Once the depot is full he would probably drop further and you may not be able to bring him up easily.
The TR method has been tried and tested and works well but needs to be followed closely.

i will go back to 1.75 units in the amps
I think that's a good idea.

You are doing a great job looking after Salem...we just want to make sure he stays safe
 
Ok thanks !!! I will definitely go back to the 1.75 units , is it wise to try lower than 1.75 units since i did increase for one and half days ? For maybe a day ?
 
:)Ok thanks. Im glad you checked in on me!! Im not one to get mad if corrected ! Thanks again i really appreciate it !!!:) Oops i got you mixed up with another sorry . If you saw the sorry for your lost . Before i edited . I forgot to stop doing that
 
Last edited:
I have a problem with hitting the incorrect letters with my big fingers and i hate typing wrong spelling then i edit i really need to edit before i post . :rolleyes::oops:
 
Hi Tina,

I always found it useful to refer to the guide lines for TR when thinking of an increase/reduction.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Here is what the guidelines say on increasing the dose. I have highlighted the section that applied to Salem when you were asking yourself Should I take the dose up? on 11/22
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.

So that is why @Bron and Sheba (GA) felt that you should have held on to the dose a little longer. Salem is not all that used to seeing greens so it's not too unusual to see them hit green then come up for a few cycles before dropping again, that's why the guidelines suggest holding a little longer, to see if they can make it back to green.

As you have shot 2u for 3 cycles, that will have affected the depot, and that will take some cycles to stabilise.
What does that mean for you and Salem?
Well the depot of the 2u that was starting to build may still influence his numbers for a few cycles, so he could still experience some lower cycles that are driven by the 2u.
 
Ok yes i have read it several times but forgot about the numbers you test before considering to increase I will make sure i read them before i do anything . To remind myself over and over until its stuck in my head . Yes i just asked if i should shoot lower since i increased the depot but not to , just to watch careful since i did increase the depot . I know im still new at this lol . Thanks for helping me correct this . Like i said im not one to get mad for being corrected for my mistakes. Im glad you two saw what i did. I know some people can not stand to be corrected . My concern is salem not to defend my mistake lol . Thanks for seeing what i did wrong !
 
I guess what i was thinking was he stayed in the yellows so long and i didnt consider the few greens he did have . I stayed on a unit for a few extra days and some one said you should have increased sooner . They told me , Its 6 cycles then increase thats what i had in mind i guess . I replied i wanted to make sure before i increased so fast without thinking this out . I didnt want to increase so fast . I should have stuck with that thought in mind this time around also .and pulled my notes out sandi so kindly printed the stickys for me
 
Last edited:
Tina, don't beat yourself up about it.....we have all made decisions that were probably not the best ones.
You are a very good carer who is looking after Salem really well.
He is lucky to have you.
I hope you are managing to look after yourself too and getting enough sleep.
 
Im ok , im used to being up late for cases like this i have been thru emergencies like this for myself , my husband my daughter and my son and my in laws alot of sick people to look after and i use to be a night owl too lol . I get a nap when i can. . To make up for it . Thanks for concerning for me also . Its nice . I got God on my side for sure hes looking after us . My faith is strong . I cnt help but correct myself or beat myself up its important to me to do right lol one mistake can be really bad . Thanks again . Hes sugar is going down now since he ate not sure if that helped it ....usually it goes up after eating ? Probably Has nothing to do with it .. lol
 
I got a bad habit when i make a decision and things dnt go right i keep asking myself what if i did this instead like in the case of my mother in law my husband and i did cpr on her but couldn't save her , she had fluid on her chest and heart, .... from what we found out she wasnt taking her fluid pills she wanted to go be with her husband who passed of lung cancer a year before her , she devasted us when we found out she did this to herself . So sad . We had bought her a life alert and we lived across the road so we was at the house quickly but all these things didnt help protect her .
 
I guess what i was thinking was he stayed in the yellows so long and i didnt consider the few greens he did have . I stayed on a unit for a few extra days and some one said you should have increased sooner . They told me , Its 6 cycles then increase thats what i had in mind i guess . I replied i wanted to make sure before i increased so fast without thinking this out . I didnt want to increase so fast . I should have stuck with that thought in mind this time around also .and pulled my notes out sandi so kindly printed the stickys for me
Always ask yourself
  • How low is this dose taking Salem?
That will help you look at the guidelines and decide on where to go with the dose.
If Salem had not been seeing any green at all then you would have taken the dose up. But we always have to look at those lows.

Go get some rest:bighug:
 
Tina --

I edited the subject line of this thread. You had put the prefix, "GA" at the beginning of the subject line. GA means either "Guardian Angel" or "Gone Ahead" -- that the kitty has crossed the Rainbow Bridge. From what I can tell, Salem is still alive and kicking.
 
Back
Top