Advice for pancreatitis, prednisolone and high BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knotty dee and Jaxon

Member Since 2012
Hello, Jaxon has recently gone back on the juice after 4 years off. He has been diagnosed with pancreatitis and currently takes 2.5 mg of prednisolone once a day. His blood sugars are still all over the place despite being on the same diet he has been on since his original diagnosis of diabetes. This morning for instance his BG was 14.1 he was given 1.5 units of insulin and his pre shot BG tonight was 28.1. This is really freaking me out. Any advice would be helpful. I will be calling the vet in the morning. Thank you
 

Welcome back, though sorry you have to be here again.

Can you post some recent numbers on the spreadsheet? We'll be better able to see what is happening.
Also, Lantus seems to work best with stable dosing, every 12 hours, plus holding a dose the same for 5-7 days on the first dose and 3-5 days on subsequent dose changes, barring going low enough to earn a reduction.
Take a look at the sticky posts in the Lantus section to review how to optimize your use of it.
 
Yes I can work on updating my spreadsheet tomorrow. I worked with the tight regulation protocol 4 years ago. Right now I am using the start low go slow. I will be doing a curve this weekend unless I increase the dose of Lantus. He has been on the current dose of 1.5units for the last 5 days.

No I have never checked for ketones and actually don't know how to go about it or where to get strips.
 
Bandit had to go back on Lantus last year after a severe bout of pancreatitis, and he also was put on prednisolone at the time (5mg/day). The prednisolone will cause numbers to be a little higher than a cat not on prednisolone, and it can cause a lot of wonkiness in his cycles (i.e. you'll find his nadirs are all over the place). As you wean him off the prednisolone, this will improve. At one point, Bandit's vet and I decided we would try to split his prednisolone dose and administer it at 2.5mg twice a day thinking that it might reduce Bandit's insulin need, but that made things worse! Instead of having one wonky cycle and one ok cycle, we just had wonky cycles all the time.

2.5 mg is a pretty low dose, so you shouldn't see too much of a problem with it. You'll find that you'll likely need less insulin once you are able drop that dose down to half that, and Bandit pretty much went right back into remission once he was fully weaned off the steroid.

We did TR back in 2009-2010 when Bandit was on insulin the first time and last year when he needed it again. The better control you can get over his BG while he's on the steroid, the more likely he is to go back into remission when it's done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top