ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354 and +11 (107)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
I'm trying to be patient! Really! :razz: I keep telling myself that I saw a blue only the night before last. However, these reds are making me "see red!"

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24919

Chester just started his 8th cycle on 2.5. The plan was to maybe up it a tad tomorrow night when I am looking at some time at home for a couple of days, but I'm really starting to get a bit nervous about waiting. What do you think I should do? I'll check for ketones before I go to work this a.m. but he's not had them before. Ate a good breakfast this morning (Chester, not me. I had coffee and a chocolate donut! Hey...I'm not diabetic. :-D )

editing in: Negative for ketones.

Although he's been on low carb canned food for a couple of months now, we just added some EVO this week. I sure don't mind spending the extra $ if it means it doesn't go to waste because he likes it! No struggle to get him to eat it, which is a time saver for me...and that's worth $ as well. Of course, he's a cat so who knows how long this love affair with last with EVO.
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

Newbie here.....no dosing advice....just support.

Yeah, I see what ya mean. I'm always hesitant to up the dose unless I'm home to monitor. Hopefully one of the experts will be along shortly to advise you.
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

Still a newbie myself here and I know more experienced folks will be along to evaluate your SS for the dose.

I decided yesterday to hold Attie's dose one more day.(start of the 7 & 8th cycle) Boy, am I sure glad I did. It looks like his numbers are going to start to shake out and the every 3 days dose change is going to 5 days or longer.

We've been in the pinks and reds since 9/1. We're finally starting to see nice colors.

I grew very impatient and discouraged too the other day. I was even contemplating switching back to N, but decided to stay on protocol for at least the month.

And I asked a lot of questions, because of the 'bounce" seemed so darn constant! And I couldn't tell if the insulin was working or not.

increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations. http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

Of course defer to the great minds here in Lantus Land. Thank goodness for them!
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

I hope Chester shows you a nice cycle, tonight :-D
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

Good morning Jaye,
Patience is the hardest with FD and numbers. I think since it is only one more day and you will have some time to monitor I would wait. Sometimes just the threat of a dosecrease brings better numbers. :mrgreen:

Chester may have gone blue during the day when you are not around to test so this could possibly be a bounce.
Others may be along soon with more advice.
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

Waiting is hard BUT it depends on the cat how long the wait will be.

My Shadoe lets me know after a couple shots on a dose if she likes it or not; my Oliver, on the other hand, pretends that he is ignoring the dose change until sometimes 6 or 8 shots!

Another thing to keep in mind is that with the shed, you need to give it some time to fill before you start to see if the dose change is working. It looks like you increased a larger amount than in the protocol, so if Chester is planning to take his sweet time like my Oliver, another day can't hurt if his numbers are not holding steady then dropping. There are lots of things to watch like all high and flat numbers often means you need to increase the dose - but one thing for sure is you need a couple sacks of patience.
When first looking for the ideal dose, it's painfully hard to go so slow, but it's really the best way to find the dose that fits your cat. Don't worry though; you will find it for sure.
While you're waiting, watch for the other signs of improvement like eating better, gaining weight, improved coat, less urine, etc. There are tons of things that will be seen before you get the better numbers. Seeing those blues is nice because you know Chester can get there!
Something to keep in mind though; those lower numbers may be a bit of a shock to Chester's system. Think polar bear swims... people (crazy ones) get into suits and costumes and do those new years polar bear swims where they all run into freezing cold water and then come tearing back out to waiting towels. I compare that to some kitties when they hit some of the low numbers and go YIKES! Bad place here! and they go scurrying back up to the numbers that they recognize: those high numbers.

Given time, you will see Chester stick his paw into those better lower numbers more often, and you will see him stick around there longer too. Chester just needs to learn that the numbers that feel wrong are really the right numbers.

I don't give advice, but rather just share what I have experienced. Soon enough, you will be posting about low numbers and worrying about what to shoot!
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

no dosing advice here, but I know how bad you want to see those nice numbers ... we all do .. I'm sure chester will show you them when he's good and ready ... we just have to sit back and be patient and wait!
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

Morning Jaye....Chester has a mid pink this morning which is a nice improvement over the reds....and you got those tests in last night which is GREAT! Just as requested! The more mid cycle testing you can do, the better we are able to see what Chester is doing. If you are unable to do the AM tests, then that is a big blank on the picture. I am so happy that you tested last night and hope that you will be able to do it again tonight.
If you take a look at some SSs where the people can get mid cycle checks. You might notice that they start in pink, go down to maybe a blue and yellow and then return to pink again for the next preshot. The liver reacts to lower numbers that are reached by going back up to pink and sometimes red. It's just a hormonal thing. The hormones are dumped into the body because it is not used to a lower yellow or blue. The constant driving the numbers lower will eventually calm the liver and the bounces will not be as bad eventually. We call this LTS (Liver Training School) When you do not have the data from the mid cycle, you cannot know where Chester is going during that time, right?
You are doing a fine job...this takes so much time ~~ and dare I use the word patience again? :roll:
Keep on doing what you are doing and the numbers will get better....keep posting each day and talking about your concerns. That is the only way you will get to know what is happening and how to deal with it ok? Take a deep breath and try to be patient,okay? :mrgreen:
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354

This is probably the hardest time to be patient. It's a point when you're collecting data which is so important for making future dosing decisions.

The other thing to keep in mind is that you're using an AlphaTrack meter. The colors on the SS are not calculated for the AlphaTrack. So, mentally, subtract 30 from your numbers -- or if you're good with the Google SS, you can re-code the color settings to accommodate you're using the AlphaTrack.
 
Wouldn't you know right when I'm contemplating a curve on Friday to determine if it's truly time to nudge his dose up, I get home from work and test Chester at +11. The little stinker just threw a 107 at me! Hurrah!
 
I hope so! I gave him the full dose of 2.5 that we've been on for several days now. The last time I tried a lower dose when he was around this number at pmps he ended up getting very high very fast afterward (we were on Lantus then...not on my spreadsheet). I'm home to watch him and test tonight, and I'm keeping every appendage I have crossed that he doesn't go so low that we're bouncing around again tomorrow.
 
Bounces are a part of the process. They will get better. Just look at them as positive proof that Chester's liver is working very, very well. (It's what I kept telling myself with Gabby!)
 
Jaye and Chester said:
Wouldn't you know right when I'm contemplating a curve on Friday to determine if it's truly time to nudge his dose up, I get home from work and test Chester at +11. The little stinker just threw a 107 at me! Hurrah!


Nice shooting!!!

Now, Chester I'll tell you the same thing I told Attie a little while ago...

these normal numbers are just that...normal. It is OK to be in the lower ranges. I know your little body is used too these bad numbers, but it is time to give them up.

~~Your Interventionist
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354 and +11 (107), +1 (167)

Libby and Lucy said:
great job shooting! See you at +1.

Hmmm... Can someone please explain to me again the benefits of a +1 bg check? Is it to see if he's still dropping from the previous dose? But if I check him at +11 and at +12 (basically just prior to meal/shot) and he has risen from the +11, wouldn't that suffice?

Oh, well...I'm becoming a numbers junky and tested him anyway. At +1 he is 167.
 
The numbers are addictive (Lol!! Says one junkie to another!)

If you look at the "New to the Group" sticky, there is an hour-by-hour description of what to expect from a curve. Typically, you would see a rise in numbers at +1 due to a food spike. If the numbers are pretty much the same as your pre-shot or the +1 is lower than your pre-shot number, chances are good you are in for a busy cycle -- well, depending on where you're numbers are. It's a good way to not get caught off guard by a surprise. In addition, it's always wise to get a +1 and +2 if you are shooting lower than you have in the past.
 
Re: ADVICE? 9/15 Chester amps 354 and +11 (107), +3 (62)

Shoot! He's not looking good in blue anymore! We're in green land now. He just shot a 62! Out comes the food...don't really want to sugar him yet...he gets so bouncy afterward. I gave him a good tablespoon of some "medium" carb (I hope...I haven't been able to find the carbs for Avoderm Oceanfish). Will test him again in 20 minutes or so. Getting nervous now.
 
Just tested him again...drat...56. I'm feeding him some higher carb right now. Looks like a long night, no doubt followed by a BIG bounce tomorrow.
 
Gave him mostly the gravy from the HC Fancy Feast so as not to fill him up too much, just in case I need him to eat later as well.

Question: Although I suspect he'll bounce from this tonight, how do I know if he's "earned" the reduction? This was the first nice blue I've seen in days and would hate to go back to those reds and pinks. However, I'd hate for Chester to hypo even worse, of course. I have an autofeeder that I would set tomorrow to give him a couple of low carb snacks during the day if he's at all low tomorrow.

What should I shoot tomorrow if he's under 200?

Thanks for being online!
 
Well, he was 56, but I use an AlphaTrak meter and have been told that it runs higher than what the numbers on the spreadsheet were intended to represent, so...technically, he probably did go below 50. I'm assuming that means that it would be a possibility to reduce to 2.25 for tomorrow's dose, or should I go lower than that? Or does it just depend on the amps?

I think I'll start a new thread for him pmps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top