ADVICE? 10/10 Chester's PMPS 392,+4=396

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/10 Chester's AMPS 395

Good luck with the new dose.
Hope you have a lovely day, and he comes down nice and easy.
Come on Chester, let's see some yellows, and then some blues.
 
Re: 10/10 Chester's AMPS 395

Yes, much better than those disgusting black/red numbers! I hope that Mr. Chester does a nice easy drop to some yellows and blues today...

Have a good day!
 
Re: 10/10 Chester's AMPS 395

Here's your link to Chester's Saturday Condo

This is a much better place to start than last night!!

To reply to your question -- I was half kidding about re-testing, but yes, if you had retested, there is a good chance you would have gotten a high red. (Of course, the variation goes in both directions. You could have gotten an uglier number, too. You gotta take your chances!) My point was more that your PMPS was one number out of the entire day. It's very hard to not react to high numbers and feel badly about it. You need to think more in terms of each number representing a range of numbers. Many times, people will look at a 395 and then the next test will be a 380 and they will view those as different numbers. They are really pretty much the same the way a 60 and a 65 are the same. It's a matter of tweeking the way you think about the numbers you're getting.

As far as fat and skinny numbers, I'd say ask before you decide to shave or fatten the dose. With Gabby, what I've learned over time is that she does better if I raise the dose by the full .25u and then shave for the reductions. That knowledge is based on the data she's provided. It takes a while to learn your cat's trends.
 
Re: 10/10 Chester's AMPS 395

Strange how Pinks look just fine after seeing black, isn't it? :YMSIGH: This AMPS is better than yesterday's AMPS and PMPS, so yeah, we will dance and be happy about that. dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
Jaye, I agree with Sienne about only going UP in .25u increments and not dosing the skinny/fat on the increases. Going down the dosing ladder though, it might be good for some kitties to do the skinny/fat on the reductions. I shudda said that yesterday when we talked about going up to the last dose. Apologies. Besides, the .25u are easier to measure, right?
You can go down the .25u too to see if Chester will do okay with that full reduction when the time come around again.

I am hoping he will make it to at least yellow today. Come on Chester...yellow please!.
 
Re: 10/10 Chester's AMPS 395

When he earned a dosecrease the other day, he was bouncing and getting less insulin and I think he just couldn't pull himself out of that soaring to the heights at that time. Now, you increased back up to where he was before he got that low number the other day. He will finally use that insulin and get back to nicer numbers.
But, what you will do when he has a blue preshot is : you will test earlier in the cycle to see where he is going.
That 60 surprised you the other night. So, can you think about getting a +1 when it is a lower preshot or at least keeping a close eyes on the early part of the cycle? This was just a blip on the screen for him the past couple of days. One thing lead to another, but you are back on track now Jaye! :razz:
 
Re: 10/10 Chester's AMPS 395,+4=331

I'm thinking we'll be living in pink land today...better than red, that's for sure. Chester is happy and active (also better than yesterday!)
 
Re: 10/10 Chester's +4=331,+6=318,+8=318

When one surfs, shouldn't it be in BLUE waters? Not pink? Chester's +4 and +6 weren't typos...literally the exact same readings!
 
Re: 10/10 Chester's +4=331,+6=318,+8=318

:-D Well, maybe...but I used a different meter! I'm finding that my OneTouch Mini reads VERY close to the AlphaTrak (sometimes the exact same number) except in extreme highs and lows, so I'm trying to use it to save $ when I'm pretty confident that Chester isn't too high or low. AlphaTrak=$54 for 50 strips, OneTouch Mini=30 for $50 strips.
 
Re: Off the Deep End? 10/10 Chester's +8=318,+11=379

Yes, today's testing clinched it. I have gone off the deep end! I use those pretty little colored lancets from Wal-Mart. Today I found myself using only blue and green ones where normally I would use any that my hand would grab. It is rather strange that they come colored just like our spreadsheets! Superstitious? Yes. Is it working? Unfortunately...NO! :-D I may as well have used up all the pink ones today.
 
Re: Off the Deep End? 10/10 Chester's +8=318,+11=379

looks to me as though Chester has lost some momentum. It's not uncommon when they come down the dosing scale so quickly. Lucy did it to me, and it was very frustrating but we got through it. All you can do is keep going back up the dosing ladder again. He will hit a breakthrough again and probably will start racing down the dosing ladder again (hopefully holding it better the second time).
 
Re: Off the Deep End? 10/10 Chester's +8=318,+11=379

Too funny on the lancets, jaye, sounds like something I would do. Sorry it didn't help.
 
He REALLY doesn't look like he's going anywhere but up on this 1.25 dose, does he? His 60 was four days ago and he hasn't gotten even into the 200s since. And if I am looking at upping to 1.50 (again) when do I do that? I won't be home tomorrow until dinner time. I can test him tomorrow night, but then I worry that it'll be the next day that he crashes when I'm at work.

Also, how often do I need to check Chester tonight? He's sky high right now, so I doubt that he'll be dropping. If I get a +11 (at 3:00 a.m.) is that good enough?
 
no advice...i'm sure one of the wise ones will be along momentarily. but...i did the thing with the colored lancets too! had to force myself not to look...just pick one. i am convinced that they are sharper or work better for me than the plain bone colored ones, tho...but the color superstition didnt work for binks and i either...

hang in there...

celi & binks
 
As far as increasing the dose, remember what the sticky on the protocol states:

Modified Dosing Protocol said:
General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...

--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

If you want to get a +11, that's fine. In general, I get a +2 and a +4 each cycle. I may test more frequently than that but those tests give me an idea of how the cycle will go. Given where Chester's at tonight, I'd call this a save-a-strip night.
 
Hmmm...but I'm wondering if Chester's present ugly numbers wouldn't fall within the "failed dose" protocol...

Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top