? Adjusting insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is it best to do the AM and PM pre-shot tests before Mr. Black eats?
Hi, Nancy -
Yes you definitely need to do the pre-shot BG test EVERY time and before you feed (do not feed in the 2-hours before the pre-shot test either). The reason: You don't want his BG# influenced by food before dosing the insulin; the food would "artificially" raise his BG #, and then you risk shooting with too much insulin.

So PLEASE do not shoot the insulin without posting your BG # here first and asking for guidance on the dose. Ok? And remind me: what time will that be? (I'm in AZ, too.)
 
YES YES AND YES Always have at least 2 hours with no food before doing either AM or PM prehot tests. That way there will be no food influence in the numbers and you will know whether the number is safe to shoot. :)
@Tuxedo Mom Sorry, Mary Ann - didn't see your post above; didn't mean to be redundant. (But maybe bears repeating, maybe ...;))
 
Mr. Black's PMPS number is 142 - wow! Please advise on dosage for tonight. (I would guess it's no shot at all??)
 
Can you stall? This means do NOT feed yet; then retest his BG in about 20 minutes. (Sometimes anticipating a meal will raise his # naturally.)
 
Well ... hmm. My gut says: Since we have no real pre-shot #s for him historically, and because he only gave you a 142 pre-shot # before he began eating, I would rather you just skip the shot tonight, get a GOOD night's sleep and when we see what his AMPS # is tomorrow, we will then determine what the appropriate dose should be.

That 142 is really too low for you to be shooting when we really haven't any other pre-shot data to go by. And his mid-cycle #s were really low anyway.
 
P.S. Even if he were to spike you a higher pre-shot # in the morning, is no big deal, Nancy. We have a little saying around here that is smart:
"Better too high for a day than too low for a minute." (Hypoglycemia can be serious; so don't want to put Mr. Black at risk for that.)
 
P.S. Even if he were to spike you a higher pre-shot # in the morning, is no big deal, Nancy. We have a little saying around here that is smart:
"Better too high for a day than too low for a minute." (Hypoglycemia can be serious; so don't want to put Mr. Black at risk for that.)

Yea, that hypo is so scary, and so unnecessary if we're smart about insulin. OK then, I'll post again in the morning after his test. Thanks!
 
Okay! I will be watching for that pre-shot # ... and make sure he doesn't jump the gun and start eating in the morning before we discuss that pre-shot #.;):D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top