Adjusting dose new diabetic using Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks Sue. Unfortunately the vet only gave me enough strips until next appt. so I have to alternate with my Relion. His am today was 127....and her scale says no shot below 125 but the scsle says over 125 shoot 0.5 unit....which would probably put him in a hypo state. I'm wondering if I should eyeball 1/8 unit. As far as testing again he just ate so wont get a true reading.
 
Last edited:
Next appt is tomorrow. She's having me use one of her Alphatraks because she's against using human meters. I've been testing between shots with the Relion when needed.....like yesterday.
 
No am shot and I'm withholding the Vitamin C liquid dose until after pm shot since it contains some sugar. Feeding as usual.
 
I agree it is confusing. One idea to try to a 13/11 schedule. So, wait till +13 in the morning and hope he goes up a little. And at night give the shot an hour early before he goes super high.. You don't need to stick with an exact 12/12 schedule with ProZinc, as long as the number is always rising.
I started the 13/11 tonight Starting with +11 shot. His BG was 473 so gave him 0.75 unit in hope the am BG will be higher, when hopefully I can give 0.5 unit. Does this sound logical?
 
AM BG 432....called vet, told me give him 1.5 units.....I gave 1.25 units, no appetite, extreme lethargy, looks anemic. We have appt at vet today. It doesn't look good.
Update: Came out of slump somewhat. Vet took blood to check pancreas condition. Poncho has lost a little more weight....he's under 5lbs. Needs to eat more. I need to up the ondansetron due to suspected nausea while feeding. Vet still wants to test for Cushings because of his thin skin. Test results tomorrow or next day.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top