This is my 2nd post. The immediate issue facing me is that I've just gotten a lower than usual preshot reading, and I'm unsure whether to adjust the dosage downward. I usually get readings in the 400s, and a few in the 300s and just got a 226, followed by a 241 40 minutes later (Alpha Trak 2). Current insulin dosage is 3.0 units ProZinc.
Juniper has also been very high energy this evening. That may be related to eating well (he is transitioning to wet ate more than before today). I also brought home a new scratcher and sprinkled a touch of catnip on it, as well as a new toy that was a catnip toy.
I might be overly cautious but am terrified of inadvertently sending Juniper into a hypoglycemic episode. It would be tough to monitor him closely all night. I don't have a good feel for this (have really largely only dealt with sky-high numbers) so I may be worrying over nothing.
Juniper's chart should be in my signature now but just in case, here it is:
I took one more reading (259) and didn't want to wait any longer. I decided to adjust dosage downward to 2.0 units. Not at all sure that is the right thing, but I would rather be low than high. I'd still be interested to hear people's feedback though!
I took one more reading (259) and didn't want to wait any longer. I decided to adjust dosage downward to 2.0 units. Not at all sure that is the right thing, but I would rather be low than high. I'd still be interested to hear people's feedback though!
The reduced shot sounds like a good idea. But I would suggest that you try to get another test in a couple of hours after that shot if possible to get a feel for how your kitty's blood glucose is likely to drop on that dose.
Tara, have I understood you correctly that your kitty is switching to low carb wet food from dry food? If so then that could certainly account for your lower preshot number.
It's a bit scary at first when we start to see better numbers, isn't it?! ;-) :smile:
Thanks for the responses! I will definitely get another reading in a couple hours.
To clarify the diet -- I am transitioning him to wet food, and he has been pretty resistant. I've found various tricks and have been transitioning him over the course of about a week. Today wasn't a dramatic shift, but maybe an increase from 80% to 90% wet food (which is more dramatic when seen as a drop from 20% to 10% dry).
It's been a very long time since I've had my kitty on ProZinc. I do remember that you'll find when you transition Juniper to a low carb wet food, you will find his #s improve quite a bit. I also remember that ProZinc doens't last nearly as long (only about 8 hours before it starts to wear off) as Lantus does (this lasts for 12 hours before the next shot is due... I've had my cat on this for almost 4 years now).
If, after some time, you don't see any results with using ProZinc, may I suggest trying Lantus, instead. You would start by giving only 1 unit for a while, and you may see better results over a period of time. I'm glad that you're switching him to a low carb, wet food. That's the first step in helping to bring down the high #s. Keep up the excellent work!
It looks like the wet food is going to make a nice difference in his numbers. I think your reducing the dose was a great idea. Have you seen our protocol for ProZinc? It may help, even when no one is around to give you guidance:
If he continues to give you lower numbers, it might be wise to reduce the dose by half. You can always raise the dose by a small amount at a time if the numbers are too high, but it is much harder to know (and guess) how much to reduce the dose if the numbers are too low. The other important number to have is a midcycle number - that will tell you how low the dose is taking him. A midcycle number of 50 or lower is a sure sign to reduce the dose.
BTW, I keep seeing this incorrect information given for ProZinc. (that it only lasts 8 hours) In 90% of cats, it lasts a 12 hour cycle going from a prehot, to a nadir in 5-7 hours and up to the range of the previous preshot 12 hours later. ProZinc can be given more often than every 12 hours if that fits the cat (which is rare and not ever suggested for new diabetics) which does make it more flexible than the other depot insulins.
Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.
[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Examples of using the chart:
Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.
Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.
Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
Wow, Tara; I just had a look at Juniper's SS and those blood glucose numbers are really coming down. :smile:
You may need to be prepared to lower the insulin dosage further if the numbers at the peak of the insulin cycle (blood glucose nadir) continue to drop. It seems to me that you're getting a really good 'feel' for adjusting the dose.
Regarding Juniper's lack of appetite (or refusal to eat), does he like freeze dried treats? Or bonito flakes? Or parmesan? Or tuna water/juice? Sometimes a sprinkle of any one of those on my cats' food will encourage them to eat. A pinch of Fortiflora can encourage many cats to eat too...
You're doing a brilliant job. I know it's not easy but I feel sure it will get easier for you in a little while.