Ace and I are still here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mara1022

Member Since 2016
I think I did it!!! But IDK if I got a good reading. IDK how to translate from the human meter to cat numbers. I got a reading of 94 mg/DL. What does that even mean???? I have to go back and see how to put it on the spreadsheet now. He's due for his shot shortly and I want to figure it right. Since we changed his diet the numbers might be lower so less insulin. I need to know. If anyone is here that can give me an idea if that number even makes sense, I'd appreciate it.

I put this same message at the end of my other thread but I'm not sure if it will be seen so I copied it here.
 
I don't know how that number translates into a cat number but well done. It should get easier if you keep doing it.

If that number was taken on a cat meter it would be a low preshoot number and probably not a good idea to give insulin on.

With it being a human meter I don't know.
 
Good job getting the test. That's a great blood sugar number, but it's too low to give insulin tonight. We suggest that new people do not give insulin if the blood sugar is less than 200 on a human meter. You will need to lower the dose tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
90 is too low to shoot. I'm so happy you were finally able to get a reading!!! The first couple are the hardest. AND you got the spreadsheet going! Next get info on your signature like date of diagnosis, type of insulin,meter, food... And anything else. Good job. See if you hadn't tested and shoot the 90 you could have had some big trouble. What insulin and dose right now?
 
So, yesterday I couldn't get it done, but I did it tonight. 105 BG!! He hasn't gotten any insulin shot for 2 days now.
I didn't want to call the vet til I had at least 2 successful tests, so tomorrow I'll let her know how it's going.
I've been feeding him Friskies Classic Pate. It's been a little hard for Casino to see Ace get the wet food while she gets dry but she was nearly getting diarrhea eating the wet food. So I've been mixing a little of the wet in with her dry food and she seems to be ok with that.
I'm going to look into that "Young Again" dry food. It is less than 1% carbs and from what I've read it's a very healthy food for cats, especially diabetic cats. Then I can feed them both the same food and leave it out for them to eat at will. That's how I always did it before. You can read about it here >> www.youngagainpetfood.com
Well bedtime comes early tonight... I'm exhausted. Good night all and God bless you and your furbabies!!
 
Great news on the low blood sugar and not needing insulin! Looks like the switch to wet food is doing wonders.

I think someone here found the Young Again is more like 5%. Dry food in general is not as good for cats because they aren't great water drinkers. If you can switch both the wet food that would be best. Some cats do need to do a slower transition.
 
Great news on the low blood sugar and not needing insulin! Looks like the switch to wet food is doing wonders.

I think someone here found the Young Again is more like 5%. Dry food in general is not as good for cats because they aren't great water drinkers. If you can switch both the wet food that would be best. Some cats do need to do a slower transition.
Their 5/22 food is 5%, the zero carb is 1%.
 
I'm so happy for you :bighug: Good job!
Maybe eventually you could get both Casino and Ace eating a little of each. Some wet food is better than no wet food. And if you add a little extra water to the wet food it will help with their hydration.
 
Yes, great job on the testing. And no dose needed for those good levels of glucose. Some kittehs can be regulated just through proper food.
 
We ACED it!!! Second check up with the Vet after I started testing at home was a total success. Ace's Bg was 95 and he hasn't had any insulin for over a week!!!! The vet said the diet is great and Ace is doing great too. We couldn't have done this without your help here in the forum. THANK YOU EVERYONE!!! :bighug:

Now I can focus my attention on my other cat, Casino. ;)
 
That is great news. And Ace will be very happy to eat healthy and not get insulin. Congrats!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top