But why would he bounce higher than his BG was before he was even on insulin? I understand about the pancreas thinking it needs to get him back to the levels to which he had been accustom, but I have had midcycle readings that were 150-200+ higher than any of his reading before ever being on insulin.
Nancy,
There's no way to logically explain the "why so high" nature of bounces. Once the process starts, the sky is the limit I would expect, depending on how severely the liver/pancreas react to a low.
I "watched" a kitty in Lantus TR this morning, who had some insane numbers.
Look at this spreadsheet over the past few days.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AjBJGaZt2NrJdHBldUc1dHBaZUpkOEhka1ZVbF9WZXc&output=html
You can see a small bounce yesterday, as Corduroy (on a measly dose of .1u) started the day at 110. Four hours later, he was at 99, which is very flat, and just what you want when you are really close to being off of insulin. This kitty hadn't seen a 200 for days. At some time after +4, the suspicion is that he dropped lower, at least low enough to trigger a bounce. By +10 he was reading 251. He got another .1u dose last night, went up to 271, then the insulin started working to push down his numbers.
This morning he was back down to 116 and got a tiny dose of .1u again. This morning, at +2, he was reading in the low 20s! After lots of carbing him up to get him up to safe numbers, he was around 150 by nadir time. Looked great. Just after that, the "bounce" started showing up on the meter.
Because he dropped so low, the advice was "no more insulin for Corduroy". Tonight, two hours after he would have gotten his PM shot, his BG was 392. All of that is "bounce".
This kitty was just about "done" with insulin, and had been on .1u for several days. He hadn't bounced for a while. But yesterday, an "unseen low" looks to have caused a small short-lived bounce. Today, mere drops of insulin caused him to come within minutes of a trip to the emergency room. His liver freaked out, and good thing it did.
But my point here is that there doesn't seem to be any clear logic to "why today, and why so high?" It just happened. His BG went low enough to possibly cause a seizure if he was in the 20s. It didn't happen, thankfully, but a 392? Corduroy hadn't seen a number that high, or even close to that high, in three weeks.
Brigitte thought, and so did some of us, that maybe her meter was screwy, possibly a battery going bad. She even went out today and got a back-up meter to be sure it wasn't a meter problem. She got similar results after that with both meters. So it looks like her numbers are accurate.
Bounces are just confusing and difficult to deal with, because although the process makes logical sense, the numbers can drive you crazy.
I tested myself with both meters this morning. The Relion was 108 and the AlphaTrak was 357. That is like a 350% increase!
When you bring Hairy in tomorrow and talk to the vet, ask him what is up with that? I know that AT's are "pet specific" but can you ask him to explain what is it that is so different that it would cause the reading to be over three times as high with human blood vs. cat blood? I don't know off hand of anyone who has tested themselves with an AT. I know that many (maybe most) of us have double checked our human meters on ourselves when we see a BG number that seems like it must not be right. I did a couple times when Bob's numbers were wonky. But 108 to 357 is just crazy. :shock: