About to have a nervous breakdown!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JMaw

Member Since 2023
We put a Libre on my cat 3 days ago. Halfway through today all I am getting is scanning errors and we just upped his dosage to 2units glargine 2x/day this morning. My vet is out today. I work all day tomorrow. I cannot afford the $200+ to get a new one reattached (if they can even get it off... it is glued on with crazy glue or something) but I am worried about how to know if he is ok. I just want practical info on what the h. e. double hockey sticks to do now. I don't have a home reader yet bc I thought this piece of garbage sensor would give me some breathing room to do my research. I definitely cannot afford the test strips for the alpha trak. It looks like some people use a human monitor but it isn't clear to me how to read them for a cat. Or they use human strips on the alpha trak??? Please explain my options very clearly. I am too overloaded to peice it all together myself. Thank you :)
 
We put a Libre on my cat 3 days ago. Halfway through today all I am getting is scanning errors and we just upped his dosage to 2units glargine 2x/day this morning. My vet is out today. I work all day tomorrow. I cannot afford the $200+ to get a new one reattached (if they can even get it off... it is glued on with crazy glue or something) but I am worried about how to know if he is ok. I just want practical info on what the h. e. double hockey sticks to do now. I don't have a home reader yet bc I thought this piece of garbage sensor would give me some breathing room to do my research. I definitely cannot afford the test strips for the alpha trak. It looks like some people use a human monitor but it isn't clear to me how to read them for a cat. Or they use human strips on the alpha trak??? Please explain my options very clearly. I am too overloaded to peice it all together myself. Thank you :)
I'm no expert, but most of us here use a human meter. I do. It was very inexpensive. I have the ReliOn Classic. I don't even think it was $20. 100 strips are $17.99. I get all of this at Walmart. Human meters read the same as pet, except pet meters bg results run higher. So danger for pet meter for low BG is 68 and 50 on a human meter. Libre is a human meter, fyi. You will need lancets too. People start out with 26 or 28 gauge.

I've had terrible luck with libres and no longer use them. 4 our of 5 have failed me and I installed the last one myself because my vet insisted on using vetbond and I thought that was the issue. It wasn't or not completely because i used skin tack, which is what this group recommends to use for install. While I can have them send me a new one, my cat stresses more about the shirt he has to wear with it than me physically checking his BG. They didn't work for us. I think it is incredible, if they worked properly.

I recommend getting this ASAP because you don't want to blindly inject your kittie without knowing their blood glucose.
 
Last edited:
I typed out what I use and then included the links below.

Was trying to answer you quickly as you need to get this ASAP since the libre has potentially failed. It is stressful and a lot of information. I've been there. Especially stuck with a failed libre and NO METER.
 
I'm no expert, but most of us here use a human meter. I do. It was very inexpensive. I have the ReliOn Classic. I don't even think it was $20. 100 strips are $17.99. I get all of this at Walmart. Human meters read the same as pet, except pet meters bg results run higher. So danger for pet meter for low BG is 68 and 50 on a human meter. Libre is a human meter, fyi. You will need lancets too. People start out with 26 or 28 gauge.

I've had terrible luck with libres and no longer use them. 4 our of 5 have failed me and I installed the last one myself because my vet insisted on using vetbond and I thought that was the issue. It wasn't or not completely because i used skin tack, which is what this group recommends to use for install. While I can have them send me a new one, my cat stresses more about the shirt he has to wear with it than me physically checking his BG. They didn't work for us. I think it is incredible, if they worked properly.

I recommend getting this ASAP because you don't want to blindly inject your kittie without knowing their blood glucose.

I was gonna run to walmart and grab the relion platinum kit. $20 for Bluetooth with 50 strips, 10 lancets, and a case. The 100 strip refills are the same $17.99. I assume this is fine?? The lancets are 30 gauge.
 
Last edited:
And I understand you are overwhelmed, we have all been here. It is hard to provide all the info without it being a lot to take in. We are only trying to help though.

You'll want a box of 100 lancets. The relion ones are less than $2 for 100 of them. Just make sure you get 26 or 28 gauge.

I have no idea of any of the cost of the other meters or strips as I've only bought what I quoted you above. Make sure the strips match the meter you get. ReliOn usually has what strips go with which meter on the front of the boxes.
 
And I understand you are overwhelmed, we have all been here. It is hard to provide all the info without it being a lot to take in. We are only trying to help though.

You'll want a box of 100 lancets. The relion ones are less than $2 for 100 of them. Just make sure you get 26 or 28 gauge.

I have no idea of any of the cost of the other meters or strips as I've only bought what I quoted you above. Make sure the strips match the meter you get. ReliOn usually has what strips go with which meter on the front of the boxes.

So, I cannot use 30 gauge that come with the meter?
 
And when you have time, can you please fill out your signature. I can help you, if you need me to. Someone should've also explained the spreadsheet to you. That is also extremely important to have this info so that the experts here can properly help you.
 
Needle is smaller and the amount of blood that comes out won't be enough initially. You can try, but you maybe wasting strips. You will get an E4 error on the reliOn meter strip doesn't have enough blood.
 
And when you have time, can you please fill out your signature. I can help you, if you need me to. Someone should've also explained the spreadsheet to you. That is also extremely important to have this info so that the experts here can properly help you.

I don't know what any of that means. If I am required to do any more things right now, I'm gonna jump out a window!!! I promise, after I get situated, I will figure out whatever you are saying.
 
And I'm not trying to overwhelm you, but this is very important for home testing.

You must warm the ear. Most people here use a sock with rice and mic it for a few seconds. You want to test it on your arm first to make sure it didn't get too hot. I used a hot paper towel on the outside of my cats ear until I got a tiny glass bottle I use. I don't have a microwave. I hold the tiny bottle filled with hot water for about 20 seconds on his ear. Other use pill bottles. This is very important as it gets the blood flowing.

This blue thing below is a link. Please click on it to see where on the ear is the best spot. This is important too.
 
Last edited:
I don't know what any of that means. If I am required to do any more things right now, I'm gonna jump out a window!!! I promise, after I get situated, I will figure out whatever you are saying.
I told you I can walk you through updating your signature. I can also explain the spreadsheet. You do have to do this though. Everyone here has and everyone new has too. The group won't be able to answer questions for you properly without the info.
 
It doesn't have to be done this evening, but if you want help from this group especially regarding dosing, that info is required.
 
Let me know if you need any more help or help walking you through home testing.

I hope you find everything you need at Walmart. You are doing great and your cat appreciates you.
 
Let me know if you need any more help or help walking you through home testing.

I hope you find everything you need at Walmart. You are doing great and your cat appreciates you.

I got everything but the test solution. It wasn't in the kit or the case at Walmart. I'm not testing for a few hours. I need to decompress before I start poking anyone with needles. I appreciate all your help and will fill out the stuff when I get a chance.
 
And I'm not trying to overwhelm you, but this is very important for home testing.

You must warm the ear. Most people here use a sock with rice and mic it for a few seconds. You want to test it on your arm first to make sure it didn't get too hot. I used a hot paper towel on the outside of my cats ear until I got a tiny glass bottle I use. I don't have a microwave. I hold the tiny bottle filled with hot water for about 20 seconds on his ear. Other use pill bottles. This is very important as it gets the blood flowing.

This blue thing below is a link. Please click on it to see where on the ear is the best spot. This is important too.

I will use my heating pad. I'm sure he will be thrilled to get to sit on it too.
 
You are welcome.

I've never used the test solution.

I love when my cat falls asleep on the heating pad before testing as long as his ear is touching it. If he doesn't have his ear near the pad and he will let you, you can try rubbing the edge of it. It just takes awhile when only warming with hands. Make sure to give low carb treats to him after each test. Even if the test wasn't successful. Make sure to give positive affirmations too.

While my cat doesn't love his ears bothered, he does love treats. He purrs the entire time because he knows what's coming after.

Take all the time you need to decompress. Just make sure to test before you give insulin.

This is a lot to learn at once. We all have been where you are currently. I was just a little over 2 months ago.

Just remind yourself you are doing all of this to keep your cat safe.

You've got this.
 
Make sure you warm up the ear where you’re poking not his entire body. This is the spot to aim for:
upload_2023-12-6_17-49-13.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-6_17-49-13.jpeg
    upload_2023-12-6_17-49-13.jpeg
    19.9 KB · Views: 302
Ear did not work!!!! a zillion tries and a zillion errors. I stuck his paw pad and it finally worked. He is thoroughly traumatized. As am I. Then, of course, I stuck myself with 2 of the lancets. If only this day would end. But that will only make tomorrow come sooner. I hope with all the drama he actually eats... so I can stick him with another needle :(
 
Ear did not work!!!! a zillion tries and a zillion errors. I stuck his paw pad and it finally worked. He is thoroughly traumatized. As am I. Then, of course, I stuck myself with 2 of the lancets. If only this day would end. But that will only make tomorrow come sooner. I hope with all the drama he actually eats... so I can stick him with another needle :(
There are links and videos that you should review. Each will make a difference and provide you with more tips. It will take time, but if you warm his ear enough, it will definitely work. Pad is okay, but there are more nerve endings in the pad.

You may have to change your mindset about this. You aren't traumatizing your cat. You are helping save your cat's life. Do not forget treats and positive reinforcement while trying to test and during shots.

Your cat shouldn't even feel his injections. Try watching some of the videos regarding this if you think you are harming him.

What was the BG? What is your cat's name? What gauge lancet are you using?
 
Last edited:
There are links and videos that you should review. Each will make a difference and provide you with more tips. It will take time, but if you warm his ear enough, it will definitely work. Pad is okay, but there are more nerve endings in the pad.

You may have to change your mindset about this. You aren't traumatizing your cat. You are helping save your cat's life. Do not forget treats and positive reinforcement while trying to test and during shots.

Your cat shouldn't even feel his injections. Try watching some of the videos regarding this if you think you are harming him.

What was the BG? What is your cat's name? What gauge lancet are you using?

I understand I am helping him; however, stabbing him 20x in the ear is traumatizing, regardless of my intentions. He doesn't feel his injections. But it was hard for me after the ear thing. I will be doing the footpad from now on.

BG 376. His name is Bubby. I used the 26gauge. Walmart didn't have 28s. I am switching to the 30.
 
I understand I am helping him; however, stabbing him 20x in the ear is traumatizing, regardless of my intentions. He doesn't feel his injections. But it was hard for me after the ear thing. I will be doing the footpad from now on.

BG 376. His name is Bubby. I used the 26gauge. Walmart didn't have 28s. I am switching to the 30.
You do understand that the 30 gauge will make this even more difficult for you especially on the pad.

If you watch the videos regarding home testing that are linked on the forum pages and read all the info about it you won't be poking Buddy 20xs and over time this will get better. I knew nothing about feline diabetes until 2 months ago. We are learned about this in this manner, if we are lucky enough to find this forum. You being here will help your cat tremendously, but you must utilize all the knowledge here.

People are willing to help you. See your post from Friday and today. If it is hard for you to retain all of this, like it is for me, please print out all the topics you need to further review. If you don't have a printer, try a library. I had to print out a lot and start a binder. My cat's life depends on me understanding this disease to the best of my ability.
 
Also, we have no clue the type of insulin you are using, the dose Buddy is on, the food Buddy eats, the dosing method you use. All of this is important information.

Most important for you to read and retain is information on how to treat hypoglycemia and prepare a hypo kit. Links are on main forums and Lantus forum for all thrse subjects.
 
Ear did not work!!!! a zillion tries and a zillion errors. I stuck his paw pad and it finally worked. He is thoroughly traumatized. As am I. Then, of course, I stuck myself with 2 of the lancets. If only this day would end. But that will only make tomorrow come sooner. I hope with all the drama he actually eats... so I can stick him with another needle :(
Hi and welcome to the board.
First off, good job getting a Relion meter so quickly and getting your first home test. Ears or paw pad, doesn’t matter … you got a test. Take a deep breath and pat yourself on the back.

These early days are the hardest. Please don’t give up. It WILL get easier. I’ve never met anyone who regretted sticking it out with hometesting … but I’ve known more than a few who regretted not.

I see you’re using Lantus with a dose of 2u BID. Lantus is a good insulin for cats, so you’re already off on the right foot. The data you collect with the BG tests will help determine whether 2u is too much or too little.

Please post back with updates. We have a lot of knowledge around here and I know the information overload can be overwhelming, so it’s okay to ask us to “slow-roll” the advice, as you’ve already done. Just please don’t get scared away. We’ll help you get it all figured out.

For today, I would:
1) Get a BG reading before giving the shot.
(If it’s under 200, you might ask for input, especially given you just upped the dose to 2u BID yesterday)

2) Try to get another BG reading around 6 hours after the shot if possible

3) Post the results here

Hugs to you and head scritches to Bubby (or vice versa, if you prefer, lol). Here’s hoping today is a better day!
 
Hi and welcome to the board.
First off, good job getting a Relion meter so quickly and getting your first home test. Ears or paw pad, doesn’t matter … you got a test. Take a deep breath and pat yourself on the back.

These early days are the hardest. Please don’t give up. It WILL get easier. I’ve never met anyone who regretted sticking it out with hometesting … but I’ve known more than a few who regretted not.

I see you’re using Lantus with a dose of 2u BID. Lantus is a good insulin for cats, so you’re already off on the right foot. The data you collect with the BG tests will help determine whether 2u is too much or too little.

Please post back with updates. We have a lot of knowledge around here and I know the information overload can be overwhelming, so it’s okay to ask us to “slow-roll” the advice, as you’ve already done. Just please don’t get scared away. We’ll help you get it all figured out.

For today, I would:
1) Get a BG reading before giving the shot.
(If it’s under 200, you might ask for input, especially given you just upped the dose to 2u BID yesterday)

2) Try to get another BG reading around 6 hours after the shot if possible

3) Post the results here

Hugs to you and head scritches to Bubby (or vice versa, if you prefer, lol). Here’s hoping today is a better day!

Thank you for bringing it down a notch!
He was raised to 2u bc he was he only went below 400+ once in 5 days. I will test before feeding this am (with a 30g bc he bled like a stuck pig on his pad with the 26g).
 
His BG is 429 before breakfast/shot. He seems to always have these high numbers??? It took 6 strips not to get an error. I believe it has to do with letting the blood soak up from under the strip rather than scooping. Hopefully, I will get better so I can preserve his pads and my bank account.

I won't be home to do 6 hours. Frankly, I am glad!! I will do it again before his dinner.
 
So, I cannot use 30 gauge that come with the meter?
For what it's worth, I think I've always used 30g, even at the beginning. I've never used 28 or 26. I didn't have a problem poking her ears with it though. While I do think most cats would benefit from thicker gauges at the beginning, every cat is different. Maybe yours is okay with the thinner ones. At least on their paw. Good luck!
 
No reading tonight. I tried nearly 10 times and I kept getting an error. E-4: supposedly not enough blood. Absolute crap!! I tried with barely any to a puddle and keep getting this error. The sweetest most docile cat on earth growled at me several times and tried to bite my face off (literally) just to get me to stop. I am calling the vet tomorrow to have the Libre put back on.
 
No reading tonight. I tried nearly 10 times and I kept getting an error. E-4: supposedly not enough blood. Absolute crap!! I tried with barely any to a puddle and keep getting this error. The sweetest most docile cat on earth growled at me several times and tried to bite my face off (literally) just to get me to stop. I am calling the vet tomorrow to have the Libre put back on.
If you're getting the E4 reading it means it thinks it does not have enough blood. It may be that although there is plenty of blood, it's not being applied to the right place on the test strip. This is not your fault, it's tricky when you're first starting out.

You're using a Relion for right now, right? There should be a little window toward the bottom of the strip. That window has to fill with blood to get it to work. Do not try to put the blood on top of that window. You need to apply the blood to the edge of the bottom of the strip, and it sort of soaks it up. Does that make sense?

If you want to give it one more go, you can try a couple things. One, when you get blood from your cat's ear or paw, try to collect it on your fingernail. Then apply the strip to the puddle of blood on your fingernail. That way you don't have to keep holding your cat down. Last night Snickers shook her head when I was trying to get a reading, and her blood landed on my wrist. So I just soaked it up from there rather than go through it all again with her, haha.

Also, I don't know how you'll feel about this idea, but I did it myself when first learning to use the Relion--poke yourself. The lancets and strips are made for humans anyway, so put your lancet in, poke your finger with it, and then gather the blood with the test strip. Just so you can see precisely how the gathering of the blood works best. Then if you make a mistake, you're only stressing out yourself, not your kitty.

Anyways, these are just a couple of ideas. Also, if it helps, I just rub my cat's ear between my fingers before giving a test, rather than use a sock or any of that. It's easier for me. I find that she hates my pulling on her ears more than the actual tests themselves.
 
I second the fingernail. It was a god sent for me. You scoop up the blood onto your nail then your cat can move freely. When you get a ton like you said, you can then do multiple tests if needed using the blood on your nail. You want to put the edge of the test strip next to the blood drop and let it “suck” up the blood. You don’t want to drop or dump the blood onto the strip. You’ll get an error message. I would also suggest you try testing yourself so you can get the hang of it. You also don’t want to insert the test strip all the way into the meter until you’ve collected the blood. You can position it in the meter and then push it all the way in when you’re ready to test.

hang in there. It does get easier!
 
Last edited:
I second the fingernail. It was a god sent for me. You scoop up the blood onto your nail then your cat can move freely. When you get a ton like you said, you can then do multiple tests if needed using the blood on your nail. You want to put the edge of the test strip next to the blood drop and let it “suck” up the blood. You don’t want to drop or dump the blood into the strip. You’ll get an error message. I would also suggest you try testing yourself so you can get the hang of it. You also don’t want to insert the test strip all the way into the meter until you’ve collected the blood. You can position it in the meter and then push it all the way in when you’re ready to test.

hang in there. It does get easier!
Yes, exactly. This is what I was trying to explain but I think Ale put it more eloquently. :) Try this! It'll really help!
 
If you're getting the E4 reading it means it thinks it does not have enough blood. It may be that although there is plenty of blood, it's not being applied to the right place on the test strip. This is not your fault, it's tricky when you're first starting out.

You're using a Relion for right now, right? There should be a little window toward the bottom of the strip. That window has to fill with blood to get it to work. Do not try to put the blood on top of that window. You need to apply the blood to the edge of the bottom of the strip, and it sort of soaks it up. Does that make sense?

If you want to give it one more go, you can try a couple things. One, when you get blood from your cat's ear or paw, try to collect it on your fingernail. Then apply the strip to the puddle of blood on your fingernail. That way you don't have to keep holding your cat down. Last night Snickers shook her head when I was trying to get a reading, and her blood landed on my wrist. So I just soaked it up from there rather than go through it all again with her, haha.

Also, I don't know how you'll feel about this idea, but I did it myself when first learning to use the Relion--poke yourself. The lancets and strips are made for humans anyway, so put your lancet in, poke your finger with it, and then gather the blood with the test strip. Just so you can see precisely how the gathering of the blood works best. Then if you make a mistake, you're only stressing out yourself, not your kitty.

Anyways, these are just a couple of ideas. Also, if it helps, I just rub my cat's ear between my fingers before giving a test, rather than use a sock or any of that. It's easier for me. I find that she hates my pulling on her ears more than the actual tests themselves.

Ty! I spoke to the vet and we are both taking a few days off. In the meantime, I have been practicing on myself. It has to be how I am getting the blood from Bubby bc I have far less on me and it reads just fine. I don't have nails so that is out, but I have some time to figure it out since the Libre is going back on until I can acclimate better to this whole thing. I have chronic health issues and his schedule currently conflicts with my treatment schedule. This has made things very difficult. It will be better for us to ease in one step at a time.
 
I second the fingernail. It was a god sent for me. You scoop up the blood onto your nail then your cat can move freely. When you get a ton like you said, you can then do multiple tests if needed using the blood on your nail. You want to put the edge of the test strip next to the blood drop and let it “suck” up the blood. You don’t want to drop or dump the blood onto the strip. You’ll get an error message. I would also suggest you try testing yourself so you can get the hang of it. You also don’t want to insert the test strip all the way into the meter until you’ve collected the blood. You can position it in the meter and then push it all the way in when you’re ready to test.

hang in there. It does get easier!

I was curious if there was some time out thing going on with the meter. It is pretty hard to hold a cat while holding a lancet while inserting the strip. I would say I need another set of hands (like a husband or something) but I'm not sure how many men are gonna be knocking down my door now when I can't even stay out past 9 pm bc I have to give one of my many cats insulin, hahahaha!!
 
Ty! I spoke to the vet and we are both taking a few days off. In the meantime, I have been practicing on myself. It has to be how I am getting the blood from Bubby bc I have far less on me and it reads just fine. I don't have nails so that is out, but I have some time to figure it out since the Libre is going back on until I can acclimate better to this whole thing. I have chronic health issues and his schedule currently conflicts with my treatment schedule. This has made things very difficult. It will be better for us to ease in one step at a time.
A few days off sounds like a nice little break for you guys. Deep breaths, you're doing great. You obviously care about your cat and want to help them, so that's awesome of you. I think it's cool you're practicing on yourself. I found that to be helpful when I did it.

I'm trying to think of any tips that might help. In reference to your nail, I meant more like the back of your nail. Not your nail tip. But I've gotten Snickers blood on my fingertip before and that worked too. Maybe that would work for you? Or maybe use something small and plastic that the blood can't just absorb into, like a bookmark? Or... That's all I can think of, lol.

For me, I found the big thing was that I kept soaking up the blood wrong. I wasted so many strips trying to get it on the window instead of just touching it to the edge of the strip. But when I realized what I was doing wrong, I still had problems. It just took me practice I guess.

When I get Snickers blood, I try not to make a production out of it. I just go to her wherever she is and do it there. So if she's on the couch, I poke her there. In front of her food dish, I do it there. I'll even poke her while she's eating. That might not work for every cat, but Snickers loves food and it serves as a distraction. Her head jostles around a bit when I do it like that, but it still works for me.

Just keep at it. You'll get this. :)
 
Do you mean you have super short nails? So do I. I cut them as far in as I can before they bleed lol. You don’t need long nails. You put your nail bed up to the ear and with the other hand gently press the ear onto the mail to get the blood droplet. You don’t have to squeeze the ear, you just have to deposit the droplet onto your nail. We’re just giving you advice that will make it easier. Having a cat flick its ear when you got the perfect droplet and having to test again is frustrating and stressful for both of you. Same with getting erros messages. I know, I’ve been there. This helps and we’re telling you this from experience
 
Last edited:
I was curious if there was some time out thing going on with the meter. It is pretty hard to hold a cat while holding a lancet while inserting the strip. I would say I need another set of hands (like a husband or something) but I'm not sure how many men are gonna be knocking down my door now when I can't even stay out past 9 pm bc I have to give one of my many cats insulin, hahahaha!!
That’s what I meant by not inserting the strip all the way in but propping it in the meter so it’s in place. Once you’ve got the blood, you just push it all the way in. I only had myself and I was able to test without too many issues. Again, all the tricks we’re sharing is to make it doable for you to test by yourself. I even held a small flashlight in my mouth aimed at the ear so I could see what I was doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top