AAAAKKK HELP with Nanner needed..

Status
Not open for further replies.

nannersfriend

Member Since 2011
This little guy is all over the place. We are on all low carb, wet food now, mostly Friskies and Nine Lives. Last night pre-dinner, 113, happy dances all around, no shot. (He's on Pro-Zinc), 1/2 can wet food 9-Lives Prime Entree Tuna and Shrimp - 7 carb per can so 3.5 carbs. This morning 303, gave him 1.5U (had been giving 2U) and other 1/2 can wet food from last night. Just now, 454. ARRRRGGGG!!! Gave him 2U and will try to check again in a couple of hours, also gave him 1/2 can Friskies Beef and Liver Dinner 4 carbs per can so 2 carbs. I am open to suggestions. Hubby is home during day, but Nanner squiggles way too much to test with just one person, especially since we are new to each other we need to hold him for testing, but he can check on him.

Before we hit the 113 last night things had been steadily going down since he got into the bag of treats and ate most of them. No treats in the room now.

Where do we go from here?

Paula & Nanner
 
Since you are new to this I would say to hold steady.

Can you put your bg #'s in your post like this for us to see until you get a spreadsheet up.

Date
AMPS (am pre shot)
+4 (4 hours after shot)
PMPS (pm pre shot)

It would be easier for us to see any patterns. The + #'s from shot time is because we are a global community and are all in different time zones so using the +#'s keeps us all on the same page.
 
Yep the carbs are a percent, they are what percent of calories are from carbohydrates. And the precentage on Binky's list are the as fed values, so 10% is 10% regardless of if it is 1/2 can or 3 cans.

Mel, Maxwell and The Fur Gang
 
6/6/11 PMPS 113 - no shot
6/7/11 AMPS 303 - 1.5U
6/7/11 PMPS 454 - 2.0U
6/8/11 AMPS 155 - no shot

Thanks for the info that the carbs are percentage rather than #of grams of carbs. I guess I just assumed that since human food is by #of grams of carbs the cats was too. The 6/7 high #'s were after being fed a food that is 8% carb. Last nights was 4%. For now we are going to try to give him only canned food that is 4%, consistency is a good thing. The few cans we've got that are higher than 4% the other cats can eat. I think Nanner is just very sensitive to carbs, at least right now. I suspect if we even out the carb intake so that he gets the same amount every feeding his numbers will even out too.

Paula & Nanner
(Flash(GA) Civvies: Hope, Lucy, Coco, Buck)
 
I think Nanner is just very sensitive to carbs, at least right now. I suspect if we even out the carb intake so that he gets the same amount every feeding his numbers will even out too.

I can't feed Bandit anything over 6% carbs or his BG goes up. Even now that he's diet controlled.
 
paula, when a cat has had high BG numbers and then drops down low, low being anything lower than they are used to, their liver "panics" and thinks that the cat's going hypogycemic. the liver then releases counter-regulatory hormones and the cat's BG numbers will soar. we call that a bounce. that can take 72 hours to clear on Lantus - i don't know about with Prozinc. But you have to wait that out without changing doses and it will settle down.

eventually the cat's body will get used to being in lower numbers and the bouncing will stop.

also, even though punkin was on prozinc for a month we weren't here or home testing then, so i don't know much about how it works. with lantus you don't want to skip shots or adjust shot doses too often. but maybe someone who uses prozinc can comment on that.
 
Ideally, you want a dose that you can give every 12 hours. The 2 units looks too high because you got a number you couldn't shoot this am. Then the 12 hours without insulin will bring the number back up high for tonight. I wouldn't react to the higher numbers with a dose increase yet.

I would go back to the one unit and hold it for a couple cycles. Try to get some mid cycle numbers to see how the insulin is working during the cycle - around 6 hours after the shot.. If, after a few cycles, you are still in higher numbers, we would suggest increasing the dose by .5 or even .25 units, not a whole unit.

You can change doses with PZI, but in the beginning, you want them to get used to the insulin and any food changes. Hopefully the one unit will give you some decent numbers and let it settle in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top