LisaWS
Member Since 2023
Hello,
My beloved Siamese cat Minnow, age 13, was diagnosed with diabetes February 7 and started on Lantus at 2 units AM and PM. While I don’t want to disparage my vet, I now realize different vets take different approaches, I was given no guidance on conducting at home glucose monitoring, nor information on hypoglycaemia. I found this forum and did A LOT of reading.
I learned which monitor to buy and how to conduct at home glucose checks, how to build a hypo kit, the need for a pre-shot measure, and I successfully conducted my own curve. Well, today you saved Minnow’s life. We just returned from the emergency vet.
Last week Minnow’s pre-shot values were around 108 and I skipped doses due to what I read here. I reached out to my vet and was advised to lower his dose to 1 unit AM and 2 units PM. I reduced those doses further based on pre-shot numbers. This morning’s pre-shot was 223 and I gave him .75 units. By +2 he was 158 and at +3 he was 50. If I didn’t have a hypo kit ready I don’t know if he would be here now. I gave him high carb food and honey and rushed him to emergency. He either has gone into remission or his starting dose was too high. He’s off insulin for a few days until I can reassess. Again, every cat is different, so I don’t want to frighten anyone with my story. I just want to express my sincere thanks. Thank you. Without this forum I wouldn’t have been checking his BG at pre-shot and I wouldn’t have been prepared for a hypo. Minnow thanks you as well.
My beloved Siamese cat Minnow, age 13, was diagnosed with diabetes February 7 and started on Lantus at 2 units AM and PM. While I don’t want to disparage my vet, I now realize different vets take different approaches, I was given no guidance on conducting at home glucose monitoring, nor information on hypoglycaemia. I found this forum and did A LOT of reading.
I learned which monitor to buy and how to conduct at home glucose checks, how to build a hypo kit, the need for a pre-shot measure, and I successfully conducted my own curve. Well, today you saved Minnow’s life. We just returned from the emergency vet.
Last week Minnow’s pre-shot values were around 108 and I skipped doses due to what I read here. I reached out to my vet and was advised to lower his dose to 1 unit AM and 2 units PM. I reduced those doses further based on pre-shot numbers. This morning’s pre-shot was 223 and I gave him .75 units. By +2 he was 158 and at +3 he was 50. If I didn’t have a hypo kit ready I don’t know if he would be here now. I gave him high carb food and honey and rushed him to emergency. He either has gone into remission or his starting dose was too high. He’s off insulin for a few days until I can reassess. Again, every cat is different, so I don’t want to frighten anyone with my story. I just want to express my sincere thanks. Thank you. Without this forum I wouldn’t have been checking his BG at pre-shot and I wouldn’t have been prepared for a hypo. Minnow thanks you as well.

