What are you up to now? Is it +9?The Vet said in 2.5 hours after his next full feed to check BG. Over 20 give 1.5u between 10-20 give 1.0u and under 10 to wait an hour test again then call them if still under 10.
I agree with Elise. Benny is going to need a lot more food /calories each day than he is getting so that he can get the amount of insulin he needs to combat ketones.The problem with that is the vet is dosing based upon the pmps. Lantus is dosed based upon the nadir, how low it takes the cat. To get enoug insulin into Benny he is going to need lots of calories and carbs until out of the woods. See what Bron thinks as to dosing. She really is knowledgeable about treating DKA.
That is not a very recent document and I have never heard of reducing the dose by 50%if the cat goes under 175.Yes I agree with you both. Perhaps i got muddled about the feeding then testing? I am extremely sleep deprived. We are +9.5 So shall I test him when he is due for shot , give him his last feed of the day and then if his BG is over 375 l give him a unit? I was just reading https://www.aaha.org/globalassets/02-guidelines/diabetes/diabetes-guidelines_final.pdf an dit suggests for the PM shot that if a cat has gone below 175 at all during the day the dose should be reduced by 50%.
11.1 Looks like he might bounce from the low numbers…..this is common so don’t worry if he does. Very normal.He us at 11.1 now. I can keep going until his shot. His shot is due in 2hr15. So I will test, feed and test again and see what you guys think ? I can sleep for 90 minutes now. I can then just go back to baby days of 2 hour feeds! My husband will help.
Let me tag @Bron and Sheba (GA). Elise is in bed already and I'm just catching up!Hi guys. Benny is 19.7. I am preparing his feed. What do you think? 1.5 or 1?
Are you willing and able to monitor him the whole cycle if necessary?Hi guys. Benny is 19.7. I am preparing his feed. What do you think? 1.5 or 1?
I could but I think Benny could do with a good 8 hours sleep overnight. He is fed up. Feeding by tube, constant fiddling with him. I want to feed him and then rest for 5/6 hours.Are you willing and able to monitor him the whole cycle if necessary?
And to give extra feeding during the cycle so he doesn’t drop so fast and so much.?
I think no matter what dose you give, you are going to have to get up and monitor him because the depot plays a part in the following dose even if you reduced the dose.Can p
I could but I think Benny could do with a good 8 hours sleep overnight. He is fed up. Feeding by tube, constant fiddling with him. I want to feed him and then rest for 5/6 hours.
I would feed him a small snack every 2 hours. We can talk about amount after.No Ketone stix. I couldn't leave him to get them. They should arrive tomorrow. Ok I will go for 1.25 and monitor every 2 hours for the night. I will feed as necessary. What level should I be feeding him at? The first 25% drop?
Yes I am 2 hours behind you. It’s just coming to 8.30 pm here.@Bron are you -2hours on NZ? I will blitz up some food for the tube now so it's all good to go. The only thing is I do not want to overload him on fluid and every time I feed through the hole it is 20ml flushes.
I would say he is bouncing from. the low numbers this morning. Bouncing happens when the BG drops too fast, too low or lower than the cat is used to. The body then panics and dumps regulatory hormones and stored glucose into the system to “save itself”. Bounces can last from 1 to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do but wait them out. Bouncing is very common is newly diagnosed cats so don’t worry.