Shawna & Davidson (GA)
Member Since 2014
To all of my FRIENDS on FDMB............I had my mommy translate this for me as we have a special language that nobody else understands.
Firstly I want to THANK EVERYONE here for their immeasurable assistance they gave my mommy when she found this site in January, and a special thanks to Camille for the fantastic video. Had I known, I would have done some crazy things so that my mommy could take more pictures of me sticking out my tongue. She tells Harley it's because I love her, but it’s really cuz I like my pictures taken, but I do love her and also Harley who are always there for me. So THANKS SO MUCH FOR SUPPORTING MY MOMMY!!!
Last November I kept breathing on my mommy and she finally noticed my smelly breath, although it wasn't that bad since Harley kept kissing me and my mom always told me "if you can't kiss him, you won't sleep with him". Harley still sleeps with me but I see mommy's friends always leaving so maybe they have smelly breath too?? Harley says they don't have enough money and just keeps smiling.
A trip to the Vet was a lifesaver as they said to clean my teeth I needed blood work cuz I was old! I'm not old, I take after my mommy and you should see her - she's always active and young at heart. I got the news that my BG was 26 and I could be diabetic so the Vet gave us this dried crapola food and said we could mix it with our old dry food. After a couple of weeks I went back to get my teeth cleaned and my BG was still 26, so they sold us other crapola food and said to try it a few weeks but it made me start peeing on my mommy's nice shoes - she was not happy. I also peed on her nice clothes she left on the couch to iron. I know she hates ironing and the clothes just sit there and accumulate so this was a great place to pee. But then mommy saw me and I got busted!! She didn't yell at me but looked really concerned. I gave her one of my cute looks and she started to think I was acting up and stressed cuz she was leaving for a 3 week holiday, or thought it was a behaviour problem. Mommy left not really aware that I was not my usual self and maybe I should have showed more signs for her to see.
Harley & I slept a lot and only got up when the pet sitter came to feed us. She didn’t understand our language and fed us the crapola diabetic food that made me pee lots and drink like a fish. Finally mommy came home and she was so happy to see us but it was very late so she just went to bed. In the morning Harley and I greeted her and mommy looked so scared and she picked me up and started crying and telling me how sorry she was for leaving. She knew something was wrong and took me back to the Vet. Mommy told him I was really skinny, looked gaunt, lay at my water bowl and was walking funny. I stayed there all day to test my blood as my BG was as high as 30.5 and only dropped to 24 so the Vet poked me with a huge needle and injected this juice stuff in me and I could hardly wait to go home.
During the day mommy was searching the internet and found this site and learned that I needed to be on wet food only, she had to buy all this diabetic testing stuff and test at home. She was so scared and when she came to get me the Vet showed her how to give me needles – she hates needles and she asked him about home testing and everything she learned during the day from you. The Vet didn’t like to hear what mommy learned from you. I knew he must have had bad breath too as we never saw him again - he didn’t even get a kiss.
Over the next 2 weeks everyone here was very helpful as mommy was overwhelmed and didn’t know how she would learn everything so fast. You switched us to yummy wet food and taught mommy to prick my ears and give me dead chicken treats. Mommy was so happy as my BG dropped almost in half without insulin and I was feeling better. You recommended starting Lantus and mommy took me to a new Vet. I liked him cuz he listened to my mommy and that made her happy.
Jan 15th was my first Lantus day and mommy did really well in spite of hating needles. She wrote a lot of notes in her book, always posting on the internet and asking tons of questions – it was good to see how much she cared about making me better and she told EVERYONE about this Forum and how GREAT everyone was. She never made notes before or listened to anyone. She sure did listen to all of you especially when she got anxious about my numbers not changing and wanting to change my dose. Mommy has no patience, but something you all did changed her as she waited and waited until you told her to make a change. What mommy really appreciated is that some of you spoke on the phone and understood her Dyslexic mind wasn’t letting her learn as fast as she needed too. Thanks, as that made me better faster and eased the stress on my mommy.
I liked the Lantus………it made me feel better and soon I was being called Mr. Green. Every time my mommy tested me she talked in this funny baby voice, and when I got a low test she kissed me all over and gave me treats. I know my breath was good as mommy kept kissing me and I always got to slept with her. It didn’t take me long to figure out the treat schedule and so I started jumping on the desk and mommy thought I was smart and knew it was test time – I just wanted treats!! Harley just laughed and figured out that Davidson was getting all the treats so he started jumping on the desk too. Harley got the treats without the ear pricks.
Mommy learned everything about diabetes here – she could even tell when I wanted to go really low and earn a reducie. I jumped up and talked to her in a different way, and when she tested me she would go crazy kissing me all over, so much that my fur is pink from all her lipstick. Geesh, all I did was test under 50 and she got so excited. I now know why and loved all the kisses I got each week.
Mommy was very good and wanted the best for me. I wanted to go OTJ since I saw other cats going OTJ with higher numbers then I had, yet mommy told me we had to follow the Protocol. I don’t think she really understood what it was, but everyone told her to go slow. My mommy doesn’t go slow; she races motorcycles and is a champion, so to go slow does not usually work for her. Mommy must love me so much as she listened to you and then after exactly 3 months she told me I was on trial. I didn’t do anything wrong, she’s the one always in court for her speeding tickets so why was I on trial? Then she explained what you taught her and I was happy as Mommy was so good at explaining things she learn from you so I just purred.
Most of all I liked hearing the stories mommy read about all the support and encouragement you gave us, not to mention hearing about all the other cats and what they were going through. Mommy felt badly because I was doing so well, yet most others were having problems. Mommy has a big heart but sometime doesn’t show it but she reads everything on here and always tells Harley how lucky we are that things worked out the way they did.
I am officially OTJ and will be 12 yrs old tomorrow and feel like a kid again. I know mommy, Harley and I are VERY THANKFUL for your dedication to FD, your willingness to help others and for your continued support and encouragement you funneled towards us each day. We appreciate you being there and for teaching my mommy what to do during those stressful days. Even though I seem to have breezed through this with good numbers, I did enjoy the PJ party I had one night and knowing mommy doesn’t own PJ’s I was happy to see her prance around naked. I am a Guy y’know!
So for everyone out there still on the juice, be patient and follow the protocol or as close to it as possible. Some people have spent an enormous amount of time putting together this Forum for us and the best compliment we can give it to follow each step closely and have as many of us go into remission as possible. The Tight Regulation is for our benefit and it WORKS!!!
My mommy is so grateful and promises to adhere to the OTJ procedure always…………we’re still here and will check in often to see how you are all doing.
Thanks for the party, I’m lucky to have been able to ride the Falls, and now that I know what it’s like it makes me want to stay here for a while and enjoy the ride as long as I can from the back seat!
All the best from all of us………
Harley, Davidson and my mommy Shawna
Firstly I want to THANK EVERYONE here for their immeasurable assistance they gave my mommy when she found this site in January, and a special thanks to Camille for the fantastic video. Had I known, I would have done some crazy things so that my mommy could take more pictures of me sticking out my tongue. She tells Harley it's because I love her, but it’s really cuz I like my pictures taken, but I do love her and also Harley who are always there for me. So THANKS SO MUCH FOR SUPPORTING MY MOMMY!!!
Last November I kept breathing on my mommy and she finally noticed my smelly breath, although it wasn't that bad since Harley kept kissing me and my mom always told me "if you can't kiss him, you won't sleep with him". Harley still sleeps with me but I see mommy's friends always leaving so maybe they have smelly breath too?? Harley says they don't have enough money and just keeps smiling.
A trip to the Vet was a lifesaver as they said to clean my teeth I needed blood work cuz I was old! I'm not old, I take after my mommy and you should see her - she's always active and young at heart. I got the news that my BG was 26 and I could be diabetic so the Vet gave us this dried crapola food and said we could mix it with our old dry food. After a couple of weeks I went back to get my teeth cleaned and my BG was still 26, so they sold us other crapola food and said to try it a few weeks but it made me start peeing on my mommy's nice shoes - she was not happy. I also peed on her nice clothes she left on the couch to iron. I know she hates ironing and the clothes just sit there and accumulate so this was a great place to pee. But then mommy saw me and I got busted!! She didn't yell at me but looked really concerned. I gave her one of my cute looks and she started to think I was acting up and stressed cuz she was leaving for a 3 week holiday, or thought it was a behaviour problem. Mommy left not really aware that I was not my usual self and maybe I should have showed more signs for her to see.
Harley & I slept a lot and only got up when the pet sitter came to feed us. She didn’t understand our language and fed us the crapola diabetic food that made me pee lots and drink like a fish. Finally mommy came home and she was so happy to see us but it was very late so she just went to bed. In the morning Harley and I greeted her and mommy looked so scared and she picked me up and started crying and telling me how sorry she was for leaving. She knew something was wrong and took me back to the Vet. Mommy told him I was really skinny, looked gaunt, lay at my water bowl and was walking funny. I stayed there all day to test my blood as my BG was as high as 30.5 and only dropped to 24 so the Vet poked me with a huge needle and injected this juice stuff in me and I could hardly wait to go home.
During the day mommy was searching the internet and found this site and learned that I needed to be on wet food only, she had to buy all this diabetic testing stuff and test at home. She was so scared and when she came to get me the Vet showed her how to give me needles – she hates needles and she asked him about home testing and everything she learned during the day from you. The Vet didn’t like to hear what mommy learned from you. I knew he must have had bad breath too as we never saw him again - he didn’t even get a kiss.
Over the next 2 weeks everyone here was very helpful as mommy was overwhelmed and didn’t know how she would learn everything so fast. You switched us to yummy wet food and taught mommy to prick my ears and give me dead chicken treats. Mommy was so happy as my BG dropped almost in half without insulin and I was feeling better. You recommended starting Lantus and mommy took me to a new Vet. I liked him cuz he listened to my mommy and that made her happy.
Jan 15th was my first Lantus day and mommy did really well in spite of hating needles. She wrote a lot of notes in her book, always posting on the internet and asking tons of questions – it was good to see how much she cared about making me better and she told EVERYONE about this Forum and how GREAT everyone was. She never made notes before or listened to anyone. She sure did listen to all of you especially when she got anxious about my numbers not changing and wanting to change my dose. Mommy has no patience, but something you all did changed her as she waited and waited until you told her to make a change. What mommy really appreciated is that some of you spoke on the phone and understood her Dyslexic mind wasn’t letting her learn as fast as she needed too. Thanks, as that made me better faster and eased the stress on my mommy.
I liked the Lantus………it made me feel better and soon I was being called Mr. Green. Every time my mommy tested me she talked in this funny baby voice, and when I got a low test she kissed me all over and gave me treats. I know my breath was good as mommy kept kissing me and I always got to slept with her. It didn’t take me long to figure out the treat schedule and so I started jumping on the desk and mommy thought I was smart and knew it was test time – I just wanted treats!! Harley just laughed and figured out that Davidson was getting all the treats so he started jumping on the desk too. Harley got the treats without the ear pricks.
Mommy learned everything about diabetes here – she could even tell when I wanted to go really low and earn a reducie. I jumped up and talked to her in a different way, and when she tested me she would go crazy kissing me all over, so much that my fur is pink from all her lipstick. Geesh, all I did was test under 50 and she got so excited. I now know why and loved all the kisses I got each week.
Mommy was very good and wanted the best for me. I wanted to go OTJ since I saw other cats going OTJ with higher numbers then I had, yet mommy told me we had to follow the Protocol. I don’t think she really understood what it was, but everyone told her to go slow. My mommy doesn’t go slow; she races motorcycles and is a champion, so to go slow does not usually work for her. Mommy must love me so much as she listened to you and then after exactly 3 months she told me I was on trial. I didn’t do anything wrong, she’s the one always in court for her speeding tickets so why was I on trial? Then she explained what you taught her and I was happy as Mommy was so good at explaining things she learn from you so I just purred.
Most of all I liked hearing the stories mommy read about all the support and encouragement you gave us, not to mention hearing about all the other cats and what they were going through. Mommy felt badly because I was doing so well, yet most others were having problems. Mommy has a big heart but sometime doesn’t show it but she reads everything on here and always tells Harley how lucky we are that things worked out the way they did.
I am officially OTJ and will be 12 yrs old tomorrow and feel like a kid again. I know mommy, Harley and I are VERY THANKFUL for your dedication to FD, your willingness to help others and for your continued support and encouragement you funneled towards us each day. We appreciate you being there and for teaching my mommy what to do during those stressful days. Even though I seem to have breezed through this with good numbers, I did enjoy the PJ party I had one night and knowing mommy doesn’t own PJ’s I was happy to see her prance around naked. I am a Guy y’know!
So for everyone out there still on the juice, be patient and follow the protocol or as close to it as possible. Some people have spent an enormous amount of time putting together this Forum for us and the best compliment we can give it to follow each step closely and have as many of us go into remission as possible. The Tight Regulation is for our benefit and it WORKS!!!
My mommy is so grateful and promises to adhere to the OTJ procedure always…………we’re still here and will check in often to see how you are all doing.
Thanks for the party, I’m lucky to have been able to ride the Falls, and now that I know what it’s like it makes me want to stay here for a while and enjoy the ride as long as I can from the back seat!
All the best from all of us………
Harley, Davidson and my mommy Shawna