A little freaked

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
I just got home from work, and checked Bubbles Bg while she had a mini-meal of Classic. (I split 2 cans/day into 4 mini-meals)
BG= 161
took it again...BG=138
took it again.....BG=154
No one else is home to tell me when she last ate...I plan to wait 2 hours and check again before her "dinner."
Should it be this high? And why, within 3 minutes 3 different readings? This ReliOn not too reliable?
Haven't seen numbers this high in more than a week...we are Day 12 without insulin... :?
 
greenae said:
I just got home from work, and checked Bubbles Bg while she had a mini-meal of Classic. (I split 2 cans/day into 4 mini-meals)
BG= 161
took it again...BG=138
took it again.....BG=154
No one else is home to tell me when she last ate...I plan to wait 2 hours and check again before her "dinner."
Should it be this high? And why, within 3 minutes 3 different readings? This ReliOn not too reliable?
Haven't seen numbers this high in more than a week...we are Day 12 without insulin... :?

I would not worry about your meter... ALL meters will give you some variance. You could have taken 12 tests and most or all of the numbers would have been diff.

So your worry is that you cat needs insulin.... nope, just feed now and then test in another hr or so. You should see a lower numbers as the body will do what's expected with the food.... make its own insulin.

Also, keep in mind that when a cat is sick, you may see some higher numbers. My Oliver has been off insulin for almost 2yrs and he has had higher numbers here and there... if he is sick, he has higher numbers, plus if he is stressed or upset, his numbers have been higher.

Just keep testing at his normal shot times each day and keeping your spreadsheet updated.
For all you know, before your cat was on insulin, he very likely had higher numbers here and there, but you never tested your cat, so what you are seeing now may be perfectly normal for him!

Gayle
 
Thank you, Gayle. I guess I was freaked because her numbers have been so good, and we are so close to OTJ. She was sleeping when I got home, so I don't think stressed, but you're right, I have no clue before this adventure, how her numbers vary during the day. I'll test her later and keep my fingers crossed for :mrgreen:
 
There you go. Wonder what happened - maybe a visit from a strange dog out of window when you were gone, or something in the house that freaked her out... Stress does raise bg levels. Looks like she was stressed, for some reason.
 
I found out later that she hadn't eaten anything for 8+ hours, I spoiled her on my 3 day weekend, feeding her "mini-meals." Maybe she was stressed because she was mad and hungry? lol And yes, my doggies get on her nerves, too! :smile:
 
Arlene,
The FDA only requires the makes of meters to have an accuracy rate of +/- 20%. If I had to guess, it's because they are intended for humans. From the human diabetics I have talked with, they all said they could "feel" when their sugar was low or high, and used the meter to verify what they were feeling. So 20% is "close enough" for government approval anyway.
All three of the numbers you saw were well within that allowed variance. So don't fret when you see numbers even 20 or 30 points apart from each other when you are looking at numbers around 150. I'm thinking you won't be seeing those very often though. ;-)
 
Thanks, Carl! Oh yes, something is working well...I can't believe it! 15 years ago she swatted me through her cage at the animal shelter...I had to take her home...so glad she has been given another chance to be with her forever family!
Day 13
No Shot
:-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top