97/22 Fistuk PMPS 72, +1 67

Gave him tsp an half of HC and stopped where I felt he'll take more later. He's really eating like attacking the food
They can sense a drop coming and get really ravenous.

yes. I can't imagine what it would have been with 4U. Which is a good question - what could it be?
It's hard to say where a cat will stop when it races down the dosing ladder after hitting a good dose and turning around. With Fistuk's history of DKA and ketones, we have to be more cautious with skips/tokens/taking larger reductions. We don't want him losing momentum and have his numbers climb again. So it's a tightrope between safety from lows and prevention of DKA/ketones/higher numbers!
 
I can't imagine what it would have been with 4U. Which is a good question - what could it be?
Congrats on the reduction. Looks like a combination of things happening as his spreadsheet has changed from yellow and pink to green and blue. :) Rather dramatically! Looks like you've probably broken through some glucose toxicity and possibly some pancreatic healing happening. After a breakthrough, you can get some close together reductions. It's a good thing you can monitor as closely as you have been. Great job today. Those larger depots can influence up to six cycles after a reduction so you might see some green soon even with the reduced dose.
 
They can sense a drop coming and get really ravenous.


It's hard to say where a cat will stop when it races down the dosing ladder after hitting a good dose and turning around. With Fistuk's history of DKA and ketones, we have to be more cautious with skips/tokens/taking larger reductions. We don't want him losing momentum and have his numbers climb again. So it's a tightrope between safety from lows and prevention of DKA/ketones/higher numbers!
It is indeed a tight rope …
I meant to ask what could happen if he goes too low too quickly. I’m a bit scared at the moment. He’s been low this morning and he’s heading down again
 
Congrats on the reduction. Looks like a combination of things happening as his spreadsheet has changed from yellow and pink to green and blue. :) Rather dramatically! Looks like you've probably broken through some glucose toxicity and possibly some pancreatic healing happening. After a breakthrough, you can get some close together reductions. It's a good thing you can monitor as closely as you have been. Great job today. Those larger depots can influence up to six cycles after a reduction so you might see some green soon even with the reduced dose.
Thanks Wendy :bighug:
It’s good to know about the six cycles. mat yhe moment his greens are but too pale :(;)
 
Hey Shelley!

Quite a cycle this morning!
Fistuk is quite the attention seeker!
can you say more about that? I'd like to understand what it means. Thanks
When they get to spend time in greens, that's when their pancreas gets the opportunity to heal, and if we are lucky it starts to produce its own insulin..
 
Thanks, Gill. Now I just need to understand how to get on top of his soft stool. I’m sure the high carb junk dosing help


I found that HC gave George soft stools. I used gourmet gold as my hc, I noticed that when I used it he had 24 hours or so of soft stools usually he's fine. I made the decision to change the HC a d just add honey or syrup, but he never gave me a below 50 again to test it out lol. He just wrnt flat and earned his reductions by spending a week between 50-100.
 
I found that HC gave George soft stools. I used gourmet gold as my hc, I noticed that when I used it he had 24 hours or so of soft stools usually he's fine. I made the decision to change the HC a d just add honey or syrup, but he never gave me a below 50 again to test it out lol. He just wrnt flat and earned his reductions by spending a week between 50-100.
Haha he didn’t like your idea of tearing the honeys so decided to keep on track with his numbers :woot:

Fistuk had a soft cow oat stool for a few days and I have him S. Bouldarii emergency dose. It looked like part of his stool started forming much better t with the honey and yogurt today it became mushy again :banghead: and the smell :(
 
Haha he didn’t like your idea of tearing the honeys so decided to keep on track with his numbers :woot:

Fistuk had a soft cow oat stool for a few days and I have him S. Bouldarii emergency dose. It looked like part of his stool started forming much better t with the honey and yogurt today it became mushy again :banghead: and the smell :(
George got S.Boul for a while after so e ABs. We found it helps.
 
I used SBoulardii with one of mine giving the emergency protocol for 3 days and then teucdcs dsy for a week. I also gave Visbiome and prednisolone so not sure which worked. All I know is she was normal after the 3 days.
 
Hi Shelly, just popping in to send you a hug. You need one. You’re doing great with Fistuk. He’s had a rough couple of days and so have you.
I’m thinking about you and praying he feels much better and you can get some badly needed rest :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I haven’t wanted to much up your thread since there was lots of great advice being given.
 
Hi Shelly, just popping in to send you a hug. You need one. You’re doing great with Fistuk. He’s had a rough couple of days and so have you.
I’m thinking about you and praying he feels much better and you can get some badly needed rest :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I haven’t wanted to much up your thread since there was lots of great advice being given.
I appreciate every hug and every advice given :bighug:
Thanks for popping in to give me some loving, Staci. It keeps me going :cat:
Right now Fistuk is lying attached to me under the duvet and for a moment things feel like normal, as if no drama has happened in this house :woot:
 
I appreciate every hug and every advice given :bighug:
Thanks for popping in to give me some loving, Staci. It keeps me going :cat:
Right now Fistuk is lying attached to me under the duvet and for a moment things feel like normal, as if no drama has happened in this house :woot:
That’s what I like to hear, normalcy!! :bighug:
 
Back
Top