Each day his pre shot number is getting lower & his low peak is too, if I give the same dose will that not take him even lower possibly too low for tomorrow & maybe tonight?
Ahhhh....this is a great question. When I first started, I thought, "Okay, so .25 units dropped Jersey's blood sugar by 200 points - from 300 to 100. So if we start out at 100, does that mean it will take her all the way down to zero?" Lantus actually doesn't work that way. When you shoot lower numbers, the numbers tend to flatten out rather than drop dramatically. Most experienced users will shoot anything over 50. You're not to that point, yet, but you can get there. (It's scary the first few times, but there are people who will stick with you every step of the way. You aren't doing this alone.)
If remission is your goal, then you're going to want to aim for the numbers staying between 50 and 120 (on a human meter). Those are considered "normal" numbers for cats.
I want to join one of the groups but don't know which one. I may be able to be at home enough for the tight regulation but not sure. Is there a way to maybe ask within the groups?
If you're concerned about the testing aspect, you're definitely testing enough right now for TR - you're getting the AMPS, PMPS, and at least 1 test in each cycle.
What I might recommend is to go ahead and start a post in TR. For the title of your post, try something like this: "10/10 Oz AMPS-281, +5-95, New Member" Also click on the "?" icon in your first post in your thread. (That question mark is a good way to let people know that you have questions and will draw more eyes to your thread. When you get your questions answered, you can always go back and edit your first post and remove the question mark icon.)
In your post, introduce yourself and Oz and let people know that you aren't sure if TR is right for you. Once people respond and you see what they have to say, you can decide if it's a good fit for you. If you want to post in Relaxed Lantus, you could also do the same thing there. Just because you post in one of the forums doesn't mean you have to stay there. You have to join whichever group feels "right" for you. As I said in a previous post to you, I'm simply more familiar with TR and, according to scientific research, that protocol has the best chances of getting a cat into remission. Some people aren't aiming for remission, though. Some people are simply aiming for regulation.
If you do decide to post in one of the insulin groups, I'll try to follow you over and help you get "set up" there.
