911

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherieeastman

Member Since 2015
Acro cat ..i gave him the wrong insulin.
I gave him 13u novolin r.
He normally gets 13u levemir and .5 to 1u novolin r to bring numbers down. .
He was at 400 at 745 and tested again at 810 and he was at 404.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Cherie, above your post you will see a 'thread options' click it and you will see edit. Then click 'change prefix' and you will see 911 more people will look at it if you do this. hang on in there
 
Just posted on your other thread. Get another test 30 min after the injection and you'll need to test him every 30-60 minutes depending on what's going on. Have honey/karo ready and possibly a trip to the ER if he plummets. Does he also have IAA or just Acro?

You're SS is not updated so can't see any data.
 
Just posted on your other thread. Get another test 30 min after the injection and you'll need to test him every 30-60 minutes depending on what's going on. Have honey/karo ready and possibly a trip to the ER if he plummets. Does he also have IAA or just Acro?

You're SS is not updated so can't see any data.
 
Just posted on your other thread. Get another test 30 min after the injection and you'll need to test him every 30-60 minutes depending on what's going on. Have honey/karo ready and possibly a trip to the ER if he plummets. Does he also have IAA or just Acro?

You're SS is not updated so can't see any data.
God bless you, Karen :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How far are you from the ER? Even with Acro I'd be nervous with 13u of R on board. Hopefully the super reduced Levemir dose will counter act it.
I didnt give him any levemir today. I gave him the novolin then realized what i had done and stopped . Should i give him lev?
 
Do you know what his typical R, onset, nadir and duration is?
Not yet.. we were currently working on all of that as he was only officially diagnosed with acro last week. We thought he was because he has been insulin resistant since day 1 but the official badge was just awarded. :(
 
Not yet.. we were currently working on all of that as he was only officially diagnosed with acro last week. We thought he was because he has been insulin resistant since day 1 but the official badge was just awarded. :(
Ok. You should join and be active in the L&LL group. There are quite a few Acro kitties and some pretty new. My Doodles is IAA only.
 
Suki had an acrocat, Crystal, who was on 23u of R along with 60u of Lev at her highest point. So it is not unheard of for an insulin resistant kitty to accept such a high dose of R. Of course though it was a gradual buildup to that 23u.
 
Suki had an acrocat, Crystal, who was on 23u of R along with 60u of Lev at her highest point. So it is not unheard of for an insulin resistant kitty to accept such a high dose of R. Of course though it was a gradual buildup to that 23u.
I think thats the only thing thats keeping me from going crazy...knowing acro cats are usually on crazy high doses of all kinds of insulin.
 
The nadir with Novolin is about 4 to 12 hours so you are only beginning to see the drop in BG. Novolin is an intermediate action insulin so it lasts longer than "R". If he were my cat, I'd take him to the ER to get him on a glucose drip and monitored because trying to use karo and feeding to keep his numbers up could go on for hours and it will get more difficult to stay in front of the numbers as he reaches nadir. He's already dropped 70 points at +2 and you are only beginning to see the effect.
 
The nadir with Novolin is about 4 to 12 hours so you are only beginning to see the drop in BG. Novolin is an intermediate action insulin so it lasts longer than "R". If he were my cat, I'd take him to the ER to get him on a glucose drip and monitored because trying to use karo and feeding to keep his numbers up could go on for hours and it will get more difficult to stay in front of the numbers as he reaches nadir. He's already dropped 70 points at +2 and you are only beginning to see the effect.


Linda she gave Novolin R by mistake so it is the fast acting type

"I gave him 13u novolin r.
He normally gets 13u levemir and .5 to 1u novolin r to bring numbers down. ."


ETA diagnosed as an acro kitty
 
Thanks Mary Ann. Just noticed that. 13u of R is still going to be hard to chase if he starts dropping fast. Some kitties don't drop significantly until about +4 so I'd personally still be hesitant to try to deal with this at home.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/using-novolin-r-with-lantus-dosing-question.147454/

This is from an older post @Marje and Gracie posted:

"We always start at a lower dose of R and see how they do. R doesn't affect every cycle the same so you can't get complacent and think if it only drops her 50 in a cycle, it will always do that. It doesn't. I also sometimes see a very active cycle the cycle after I shoot the R. ECID. And also ECID is when the R onsets and nadirs. It's "typically" active for four hours with the most movement seen at +2 and +3 but again ECID."

And one that @Wendy&Neko posted on the same thread:

Her R onset and nadir are later that Gracie and Tess's. ECID. Starting a small dose is the way to go. Lots of experiments are needed to figure out what dose works. I found the advice of an experienced R member invaluable at the beginning.

Definitely some MC food and continued testing are needed. Hopefully Marje or Wendy will be on soon as they have both used R insulins
 
If he drops again much at the next test I might pack up and head to the ER. Although he's acro there is not a lot of data and even with no levemir shot today his depot is full. 13 u of R is a lot and could turn ugly
 
If he drops again much at the next test I might pack up and head to the ER. Although he's acro there is not a lot of data and even with no levemir shot today his depot is full. 13 u of R is a lot and could turn ugly


I agree with Karen. That is a huge dose of R insulin that should be monitored at an ER where they can react quickly if the numbers start to plummet. Since you don't know how the R insulin works with your kitty it is better to be safe than sorry. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top