911 Niblets just went hypo with convulsions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Great that Niblet's up to 68 but, as you observe above, you need to make sure she stays up.

Don't give any more food for now. Test again in 30 minutes.

More to follow...


Mogs
.
 
How long ago did you give the insulin dose? (The length of time in hrs and mins please!)

This is important because we need to know how strongly the insulin is working at the moment.


Mogs
.
 
We are calming down. The kids found her convulsing and so we are all a bit shaken up. Doing better now. Thank you!!! Nibs is acting much better now too. Time to check her levels again...
 
I will re-read the article on drawing .1
Just wondering how long I should closely monitor her through the night following this episode. Right now, I'm checking every 20 minutes. any advise?
 
At +8.5 Niblet's a fair way along in the cycle so that is a good thing.


Just wondering how long I should closely monitor her through the night following this episode.

You need to make sure she is in safe numbers for 2 hours without any support from food.

STATUS --------------------------------------------------------------------
Symptomatic hypo (convulsions) - molasses administered.

Opening post: 46 - fed HC wet after this test.
Next test: 68 - no food after this test.
+30 mins: 93 - no food after this test.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You need another 3 readings at 30 minute intervals - with NO feeding between tests - where Niblet stays above 50.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
* * * EXTREMELY IMPORTANT SAFETY INFORMATION * * *

You need to reduce Niblet's dose IMMEDIATELY. (From looking at the SS the 0.5IU dose has been more insulin than she needs for quite a while.)

Some cats become extra-sensitive to insulin after a symptomatic hypo so you need to be extremely cautious going forward. I recommend in the strongest terms that you post on the Lantus support group's board and ask for help with deciding how much lower Niblet's dose needs to be before giving any more insulin.


Mogs
.
 
I tested again and BG is 105.
Holding up thus far. This is what we want to see. (((Niblet)))

Again, no food, test again in 30 minutes.


STATUS --------------------------------------------------------------------
Symptomatic hypo (convulsions) - molasses administered.

Opening post: 46 - fed HC wet after this test.
Next test: 68 - no food after this test.
+30 mins: 93 - no food after this test. | (30 mins without food)
+30 mins: 105 - no food after this test. | (60 mins without food)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Mogs
.
 
Because of the convulsions Niblets could be very sensitive to insulin now so I would skip the next dose of insulin to drain the depot a bit. Looking at your SS you have had several drops below 50 ( and one at 36) which should trigger a full reduction in dose. Reducing by only a skinny dose is not enough. You need to take the full reduction down a full 0.25units And you will need to monitor closely to ensure she is safe.

Also when you get a low number please always test again30 minutes later to see she is safe.
 
Last edited:
Niblet's been in safe numbers for just over an hour thus far. Will you be OK to keep an eye on them for the next test and perhaps tag another experienced member for the one after that?

(I'm really not very well and need to rest very badly.)


STATUS --------------------------------------------------------------------
Symptomatic hypo (convulsions) - molasses administered.

Opening post: 46 - fed HC wet after this test.
Next test: 68 - no food after this test.
+30 mins: 93 - no food after this test. | (30 mins without food) <<<<< Approx +8.5 hrs after insulin dose.
+30 mins: 105 - no food after this test. | (60 mins without food)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top