Hi everyone,
My first time here.
I have a 12 year old cat Tibbs who was diagnosed with diabetes 2 years ago. Our vet was not thorough in giving us information regarding proper care. We have always taken him for regular checkups and blood work to adjust dose of his ProZinc.
2 years ago untreated he was at 22mmol/DL on the initial tests and given 2 units 2x a day
BG went down to 16 - vet increased dose to 3 units 2x per day to try
Retested curve and was brought up to 3.5 units 2x per day based on results
Last visit showed 13 and dose was reduced to 3 units 2x per day
After losing our other cat to cancer a month ago, I noticed him eating less and mentioned this to vet. She did not tell me to lower dose. He recieved his usual 3 units today around 12pm. Well, tonight around 10pm he showed signs up hypoglycemia and thank God I have some maple syrup, honey etc. I have a blood glucose test that I've never been shown how to use properly but YouTube helped immensely during this episode. His reading was around 1.26mmol (22 ML) which is dangerously low! I gave him the syrup and tested again about 45 minutes later and he went up to 3.4mmol. After some more food he came around and acted himself a bit more. Final test around 12:30am showed 5.8mmol.
This was my first experience seeing him so lethargic and acting strange. He was very shaky, uncoordinated and peed outside the Litter box. I am so angry at myself for not finding this site earlier and learning all I can about his disease - the vet mentioned only once in passing I could BG monitor at home and SHOULD especially with these increase in doses. Furthermore, I'm concerned about him eating less and need to adjust accordingly. I cannot afford anymore vet bills and feel so hopeless with managing his disease. I have spent over 5k on vet bills between my other cats illness and getting new kitten vaccinated, etc. This incident left me shaking especially so soon after losing my other cat. Any advice is helpful as my vet has been unhelpful during this time. Thank you.
My first time here.
I have a 12 year old cat Tibbs who was diagnosed with diabetes 2 years ago. Our vet was not thorough in giving us information regarding proper care. We have always taken him for regular checkups and blood work to adjust dose of his ProZinc.
2 years ago untreated he was at 22mmol/DL on the initial tests and given 2 units 2x a day
BG went down to 16 - vet increased dose to 3 units 2x per day to try
Retested curve and was brought up to 3.5 units 2x per day based on results
Last visit showed 13 and dose was reduced to 3 units 2x per day
After losing our other cat to cancer a month ago, I noticed him eating less and mentioned this to vet. She did not tell me to lower dose. He recieved his usual 3 units today around 12pm. Well, tonight around 10pm he showed signs up hypoglycemia and thank God I have some maple syrup, honey etc. I have a blood glucose test that I've never been shown how to use properly but YouTube helped immensely during this episode. His reading was around 1.26mmol (22 ML) which is dangerously low! I gave him the syrup and tested again about 45 minutes later and he went up to 3.4mmol. After some more food he came around and acted himself a bit more. Final test around 12:30am showed 5.8mmol.
This was my first experience seeing him so lethargic and acting strange. He was very shaky, uncoordinated and peed outside the Litter box. I am so angry at myself for not finding this site earlier and learning all I can about his disease - the vet mentioned only once in passing I could BG monitor at home and SHOULD especially with these increase in doses. Furthermore, I'm concerned about him eating less and need to adjust accordingly. I cannot afford anymore vet bills and feel so hopeless with managing his disease. I have spent over 5k on vet bills between my other cats illness and getting new kitten vaccinated, etc. This incident left me shaking especially so soon after losing my other cat. Any advice is helpful as my vet has been unhelpful during this time. Thank you.