911 - Hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Samantha Styles

Member Since 2024
911 post - gave twix his 2nd insulin dose at 6pm, his Libre3 sensor shows numbers in the 70s, confirmed reading w ReliOn and he is at 66.

I put some syrup on his gums, and I have him eating a fancy feast gravy version.

He is currently not showing any signs. But I want to make sure I do what I need to get it to not drop any further.

Spreadsheet updated. Last reading at 21:30 = 66
 
Sorry, I would delete post but don’t know how. Was able to get help from a friend and FB group, I put some honey in gums and fed him a gravy fancy feast and his levels came up. Thank goodness! Cutting his insulin dose in half tomorrow.
 
Samantha:

This is a link to the Prozinc dosing guidelines if you've not already seen it. A drop below 90 doesn't warrant cutting the dose in half. We encourage making a change in dose by 0.25u. If you were to reduce the dose from 2.0u to 1.0u it's likely that Twix will be back in very high numbers. You want to give a kitty's pancreas as much support as possible to promote it healing.

Also, if a kitty is experiencing low numbers and there are no symptoms of hypoglycemia, then the cat is in lower, and in this case, normal numbers. It's only hypoglycemia if there are symptoms. You may still want to feed the curve either by trying some low carb first and testing in 15 - 20 min or using a bit of high carb and re-testing. This is a link to information on managing low numbers. It was written for Lantus users but it's applicable.
 
Welcome Samantha, I too used to think that those numbers you experienced were a desperate sign of a 911 help, it took me quite a while to realize that those were the numbers were Corky needed to be to heal his pancreas, I would not leave my house or go to sleep or try to shoot if I saw 130 BG, today I leave my house and do all of the above with a BG of 0f 80 or less, It took some getting use to, but if you review Corky's Spreadsheet down below in 'blue', you will can see, as Sienne explained there is no cause for alarm, unless his BG is 50 or under, then I reach for my Hypo kit, I have stopped using KARO Syrup, this is only a quick fix only, and it's been months without High Carb (Gravy) food, if I see low 60's I just give a tsp at a time an hour of Low Carb and test, and continue this protocol until he is in 60 and higher, I used to run around the house like a chicken without a head, so I can imagine your fear of Hypoglycemia, Also the Libre monitor/sensor does not help one bit, it is very irregular reading High and especially Low BGs, I found out the hard way, pls they tend to fall off unless glued to the skin and that irritates the skin, they also stop working before the 14 days, most of us use the Human monitor and Strips ReliON Premier, it is very accurate and inexpensive, always remember before reaching for High carbs and Karo syrups, start with 1 tsp of low carb at a time per hour and test, you do not want to spike up the numbers way high either:bighug::cat::cat:
 
Samantha:

This is a link to the Prozinc dosing guidelines if you've not already seen it. A drop below 90 doesn't warrant cutting the dose in half. We encourage making a change in dose by 0.25u. If you were to reduce the dose from 2.0u to 1.0u it's likely that Twix will be back in very high numbers. You want to give a kitty's pancreas as much support as possible to promote it healing.

Also, if a kitty is experiencing low numbers and there are no symptoms of hypoglycemia, then the cat is in lower, and in this case, normal numbers. It's only hypoglycemia if there are symptoms. You may still want to feed the curve either by trying some low carb first and testing in 15 - 20 min or using a bit of high carb and re-testing. This is a link to information on managing low numbers. It was written for Lantus users but it's applicable.


Thank you so much for the info. I will read through both of the links you provided. The other resource on the FB support page recommended cutting it to 1 unit, which made sense with the information she provided. I would not be home with him all day today so was worried to have something repeat when I wasn't there. As I also haven’t heard back from my vet yet.

The drop below 70 is what started to worry me, and when I saw 66, I was concerned it would keep dropping. I am realizing now that I probably panicked prematurely, and these numbers were not as concerning as I thought. Do you suggest I resume to 2 units for him PM dose? I certainly do not want to lose any traction on the progress we have been making.
t to lose any traction on the progress we have been making. The drop below 70 is what started to worry me, and when I saw 66 I was concerned it would keep dropping.
 
Welcome Samantha, I too used to think that those numbers you experienced were a desperate sign of a 911 help, it took me quite a while to realize that those were the numbers were Corky needed to be to heal his pancreas, I would not leave my house or go to sleep or try to shoot if I saw 130 BG, today I leave my house and do all of the above with a BG of 0f 80 or less, It took some getting use to, but if you review Corky's Spreadsheet down below in 'blue', you will can see, as Sienne explained there is no cause for alarm, unless his BG is 50 or under, then I reach for my Hypo kit, I have stopped using KARO Syrup, this is only a quick fix only, and it's been months without High Carb (Gravy) food, if I see low 60's I just give a tsp at a time an hour of Low Carb and test, and continue this protocol until he is in 60 and higher, I used to run around the house like a chicken without a head, so I can imagine your fear of Hypoglycemia, Also the Libre monitor/sensor does not help one bit, it is very irregular reading High and especially Low BGs, I found out the hard way, pls they tend to fall off unless glued to the skin and that irritates the skin, they also stop working before the 14 days, most of us use the Human monitor and Strips ReliON Premier, it is very accurate and inexpensive, always remember before reaching for High carbs and Karo syrups, start with 1 tsp of low carb at a time per hour and test, you do not want to spike up the numbers way high either:bighug::cat::cat:

Oh my! Yes, it has certainly been an adventure. He was 350+ for the longest time, then we finally started getting good graphs (after diet change) and suddenly Boom, below 70. Threw me for a loop.

Good to know to start slow and see how things progress if he does start getting low. And now I will not worry unless below 50. I do know the Libre's can be off, I do have a ReliOn as well, which I use alongside it. When his numbers started getting lower, I was confirming numbers with ReliOn. I feel more comfortable with the Libre, but also it could be adding to my anxiety.

I feel like I'm trying to educate myself to make proper decisions for him but that I am always behind the ball. Looks like I have some more research to do.
 
Thank you so much for the info. I will read through both of the links you provided. The other resource on the FB support page recommended cutting it to 1 unit, which made sense with the information she provided. I would not be home with him all day today so was worried to have something repeat when I wasn't there. As I also haven’t heard back from my vet yet.

The drop below 70 is what started to worry me, and when I saw 66, I was concerned it would keep dropping. I am realizing now that I probably panicked prematurely, and these numbers were not as concerning as I thought. Do you suggest I resume to 2 units for him PM dose? I certainly do not want to lose any traction on the progress we have been making.
t to lose any traction on the progress we have been making. The drop below 70 is what started to worry me, and when I saw 66 I was concerned it would keep dropping.
I an not an expert or would I give you advise on dosing, however I do know that the continuous change in doses according to his BG is not reasonable, it takes several cycles for the correct amount of insulin you are giving to do it’s work, right now as I type this Corky’s PMPS (shot) will be given and he’s in the low 80-90s I will still give him his shot, again Corky is on ProZinc and I’m no expert on dosing I will tag an expert to help you on dosing I wish I can be of more help to you on this right now wait a few minutes for either to respond before you increase or reduce
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Oh my! Yes, it has certainly been an adventure. He was 350+ for the longest time, then we finally started getting good graphs (after diet change) and suddenly Boom, below 70. Threw me for a loop.

Good to know to start slow and see how things progress if he does start getting low. And now I will not worry unless below 50. I do know the Libre's can be off, I do have a ReliOn as well, which I use alongside it. When his numbers started getting lower, I was confirming numbers with ReliOn. I feel more comfortable with the Libre, but also it could be adding to my anxiety.

I feel like I'm trying to educate myself to make proper decisions for him but that I am always behind the ball. Looks like I have some more research to do.
I trust this Forum more than I would trust my instincts about Corky’s diabetes, What the expert member tell me I DO! it has never failed, because my decision could be the wrong one, And so far I have been blessed with awesome advise I dare not second guess or rush in doing something I could regret later, it’s hard at times and fear, frustration and the unknown can take the better of us, also know that our furr babies feel everything we feel and that also stresses them out, Here I was taught to take a step back breath in and breath out, and ask, ask and ask:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Hi there. According to what happened yesterday, the new dose going forward following the Start Low Go Slow dosing method, would be 1.75 units. I understand about not being home all day. Try to do the 1.75 units for tonight's evening dose, as long as Twix's preshot number is high enough to give the full dose. You can post on the ProZinc forum if you are concerned.

Sienne is correct that your cat was not in danger with numbers in the 60s. I know what it's like when you see that first mid-range green number though (I admit to panicking myself that first time.) Gravy and honey were not warranted in that situation. What you do it give a small amount of the regular low carb food (not gravy lovers) and then retest in about 30 minutes. Now if then you saw that the numbers were really dropping, you could do more, like give medium carb food (but only if necessary.) We try to save the high carb and honey/karo syrup for when the cat drops below 50.

I would love to help you with your cat. Post over on the ProZinc forum and I will be there.
 
Hi there. According to what happened yesterday, the new dose going forward following the Start Low Go Slow dosing method, would be 1.75 units. I understand about not being home all day. Try to do the 1.75 units for tonight's evening dose, as long as Twix's preshot number is high enough to give the full dose. You can post on the ProZinc forum if you are concerned.

Sienne is correct that your cat was not in danger with numbers in the 60s. I know what it's like when you see that first mid-range green number though (I admit to panicking myself that first time.) Gravy and honey were not warranted in that situation. What you do it give a small amount of the regular low carb food (not gravy lovers) and then retest in about 30 minutes. Now if then you saw that the numbers were really dropping, you could do more, like give medium carb food (but only if necessary.) We try to save the high carb and honey/karo syrup for when the cat drops below 50.

I would love to help you with your cat. Post over on the ProZinc forum and I will be there.

Thank you so much. I will head over to the ProZinc forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top