911 Hypo

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Maximus, May 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maximus

    Maximus New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Hypo event earlier. BG 23-2 hours ago. 57 a half hour ago. Used Caro initially, and he has now got some treats eaten. What is the "safe" range and how long does it need to be there so I don't have to worry anymore.
     
  2. katiesmom

    katiesmom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
  3. Maximus

    Maximus New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Novolin peaks 4-12 hours I guess. So if his episode occurred at the 4 hour mark, is that the peak or is he not yet out of the woods?
     
  4. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You want him above 50 and able to stay there for at least 2 hours from the last time you had to feed to get his numbers up.....if he drops below 50 again, that 2 hour clock starts over
     
  5. Maximus

    Maximus New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    He was above 50 an hour ago and at 99, 20 minutes ago
     
  6. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If you haven't fed him since an hour ago and he was at 99 last time you tested, I'd get 1 more test about 30 minutes from now and if he's still doing OK, you can relax
     
  7. Maximus

    Maximus New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    thanks Chris&China and katiesmom you guys have been tremendous tonight!!
     
  8. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    And I'd definitely reduce the dose back down to no more than 1U

    It's much safer to start low and gradually go up as needed than to risk what you had happen tonight.....If you hadn't tested, it could have been tragic.
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  9. Maximus

    Maximus New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Vet told me this dose was low. Maybe I need a new vet.
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  10. katiesmom

    katiesmom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    3 units is a lot. If you are not particularly attached to this vet, it may not be a bad idea to switch. Some vets are just not well versed in the treatment of feline diabetes. I think they treat them the way they do dogs, and cats are so different.
    Novalin is a harsh insulin and is much better suited for dogs. I would ask about a gentler insulin like Lantus or Levemir.

    When Katie was first diagnosed, a crackpot "specialist" (not my regular vet) put her on Novalin. After reading here about Lantus and it's advantages (which I am sure you have read too), I very nicely asked him about Lantus and he nastily told me all he used was Novalin and if I didnt like it I could go somewhere else.

    And that's exactly what I did.

    Katie did go into remission after 1 1/2 years on Lantus and remained in remission for 3 years. Unfortunately 10 months ago she did go out of remission, and is back on insulin now.

    BTW, you have done great. Being so new at this whole thing and to get a hypo right off the bat, you did wonderfully. Give yourself a pat on the back. Much better than I would have.

    Regarding your other post on diet- you may be one of the lucky ones and get it under control with diet only if you continue to try to switch him to a low carb canned diet. Some cats go into remission once they make the food switch.

    I'm sorry I couldnt answer some of your questions, I wasnt sure when it was "safe" concerning testing/timing. So glad Chris showed up to help:)
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  11. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Good job keeping your cool! So glad you are testing! 3 units to start is crazy high. I agree that 1 unit is the appropriate starting dose.
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  12. Maximus

    Maximus New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Vet this morning said to drop to 2 units and limit his testing, it's painful and it may increase his BG due to stress. I did not ask about Lantus. I live in a small town that only has one vet clinic. THe next closest one is 20 minutes away. I may make a few calls this morning to see what our Vet School (an hour away) has to say, or what insulin another vet in the area carries.
     
  13. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    The only time testing is painful is if you poke the vein. There are few nerve endings on the edge of the ear.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page