911 - HELP...PM +2 = 55

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dear Deb - I have been on a low-carb diet for 2 weeks (not pleasant!) so your cheese toast is sounding really yummy right about now :P Beau's +6 is reading 217 so I think we are out of the woods tonight. Looks like it will be a high # in the morning.

Any idea on why the big drop tonight? Is it due to 1.0U being still too high a dose for him or is yesterday's vet visit a major contributing factor? Or as Lori suggested we have him on too high a dose (started at 2.0U and dropped to 1.5U after 5 days) concurring his diet change? Either way, I would really like to avoid this happening again if at all possible. It sound like if I make sure to get a rising number at PS and adjust dosage depending on his shootable reading it should be a smoother ride?
 
Dearest Alicia, sorry Beau, mom talk,

Okay, now I'm thinking about cutting my bangs. I'm not in the mood to cut my bangs, which pretty much means I'll cut eye holes. This is never good...

More stupid stuff written waiting for a +6...

How are you two doing?

Much love and wanting to know your both okay kind of hugs,
Deb and Nikki (don't let her cut eye holes...) -- and, Giz, definitely don't let her cut eye holes...
 
Dear Deb -

Beau is resting comfortably now and his + 6 is at 217 so I think it's ok for me to get some sleep now so I can get up at 7am to test his AMPS. Thank you so much for staying up with me. Now stop thinking about cutting your bangs and steer your mind back to the warm and yummy cheese bread :)
 
Dearest Alicia,

217 @ +6 sounds like you get to go to bed, perchance to dream of cheese toast! Be prepared. Nikki was 355 the morning after Valentine's Day... It took me a few days to get her back in the 100s...

I have no idea why they decide to drop. Nik hit 36 that night. Giz hit 28 one night. Both were, thankfully, asymptomatic... Both, I'm convinced have/had a pancreas that is/was strictly for decoration...

A diet change can make a huge difference in dosing. Beau's pancreas may still have some energy. My humble suggestion would be to err on the side of caution and reduce his dose. Better too high for a little while than too low for a heart beat... Nikki's on Levemir and Giz was on a U/L combo. Check in with the PZI forum in the morning for more knowing suggestions.

I'm so very glad you're both out of the woods!

And, now to sleep, perchance to dream...

Love and countless grateful hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...

PS: I didn't cut my bangs...
 
Good night, Deb. Thanks again for staying with me. I will be sure to post his #'s in PZI forum tomorrow morning to get dosing suggestions.
 
What a wonderful group of people on this forum! Love how some members stayed up right with Alicia and Beau throughout this frightening, nerve-wracking process. Thank you!!!

And, Alicia and Beau, hope today is a smoother, easier one for you both.

Eva & Butters

P.S. Seeing the 911 certainly raised my pulse this morning.
 
alicia.1771 said:
Wendy - for the rising number test, if after waiting and retest his # is dropping but still in 180-200 range, is it safer to skip a dose or just give a reduced dose?

Alicia, just checking in quick (got up to do my rising number test on Shaikha), but if he's still dropping you to do NOT shoot. In cases like that, I wait again if I can. If I have to leave, I skip the dose entirely. It is better if you can avoid skips as it can lead to a yo-yo, but if you can't, c'est la vie. Shaikha sometimes will be falling when I don't expect as well. Knowing how much duration she really got can be valuable, so I try to keep testing to find out. If though, she's at a very high number like Lori said, you can safely shoot then. What you want is the number to be high enough to sustain a drop. A PS number between 180-200 would not do that, so throwing more insulin on top of a still-falling number would not be a good thing. If she repeats the longer duration at the next dose, I reduce the dose the following time.

You did great last night! :RAHCAT
 
Wow, what a night! I am sorry I wasn't around here to help :( There wasn't much of any way of knowing this would happen based on your preshot number last night. Oscar kinda did the same thing to me too @-)

If you can estimate it, I'd recommend going down to 0.75u this morning (depending on his preshot # of course!)
 
Thank you everyone for helping me through this crisis last night. I know I would not have survived his hypo episode on my own without an emotional breaking down. This message board is so valuable not only for the information available to newbies but also the incredible support from people in this group. I'm so thankful for finding this forum so early in his treatment. Beau and I thank all of you for being here with us through his treatment :)

His 7am BG is 303 and I will test again in 30min just to make sure there is no crazy change. I will post in PZI forum for dosing advise.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top