911 ADVICE ON DOSING

time for PMS- Corky's BG @ 73 I have never shot at such low BG, should I stall reduce dose or not shoot??
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA

I’m fairly new here but with my own cat I would reduce the shot. On your spreadsheet it looks like you have been giving 1.75.
I see you have given him 1.50. I think that will be a good choice.
It looks like you test very often or have a CGM. If he is running low in a few hours give him a little bit of crabby food.
 
I’m fairly new here but with my own cat I would reduce the shot. On your spreadsheet it looks like you have been giving 1.75.
I see you have given him 1.50. I think that will be a good choice
It looks like you test very often or have a CGM. If he is running low in a few hours give him a little bit of crabby food.

Thank you for your response, I am used to shoot in low numbers, but never this low, I always like to get an opinion before, since for me his dose is sacred!, I will be testing every 1/2 hour till I see a better number, terrified I followed my instincts, even after so long, I really did not wanted to skip his dose, since Corky is so stabilized, so I chose the better of the 3, thank you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Thank you for your response, I am used to shoot in low numbers, but never this low, I always like to get an opinion before, since for me his dose is sacred!, I will be testing every 1/2 hour till I see a better number, terrified I followed my instincts, even after so long, I really did not wanted to skip his dose, since Corky is so stabilized, so I chose the better of the 3, thank you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

You did good. You are doing great with Corky’s numbers too. Small amounts can move the BG. His numbers are nice & tight so just dropping it .25 should keep him in his BG margins.

I have only been treating Ivan for a few weeks. I think I caught him early because I recognize the diabetics signs.
He is following an easy pattern to maintain so far. We slipped up with an incorrect dose the other day. Instead of 1, Ivan got 1.5. It really scared me but we feed a carbby breakfast & it evened out the higher dose of insulin.

I know it’s not quite the same but I am familiar with Lantus & diabetics. I got diagnosed as a type 1 diabetic 6 years ago. It helps understand how insulin & carbs work.
 
You did good. You are doing great with Corky’s numbers too. Small amounts can move the BG. His numbers are nice & tight so just dropping it .25 should keep him in his BG margins.

I have only been treating Ivan for a few weeks. I think I caught him early because I recognize the diabetics signs.
He is following an easy pattern to maintain so far. We slipped up with an incorrect dose the other day. Instead of 1, Ivan got 1.5. It really scared me but we feed a carbby breakfast & it evened out the higher dose of insulin.

I know it’s not quite the same but I am familiar with Lantus & diabetics. I got diagnosed as a type 1 diabetic 6 years ago. It helps understand how insulin & carbs work.
thank you, I am very proud of My Corky, he’s a Champ!!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Good job shooting 1.5. You may want to feed a lot or a few more carbs, but don’t go for honey on the gums unless he drops below 50. Try some grilled or something as snacks.
 
Corky is doing great so far. Don’t worry. I bet his regular food will keep him surfing in green. I’m here for you if you’re nervous.
 
And I know you know that shooting low numbers with Lantus is a little different than shooting low numbers with Lantus.
I think you meant ProZinc vs Lantus, I had three choices, stall, shoot the same dose, not shoot or dose 1.50, and I chose 1.50, and it worked, I am testing every 1/2 hour till +5, his last meal if I see he's still low I will add 1-2 tsps of Carbs, I was terrified I have to admit, since I had not received an answer, I figured you were busy, but you taught me well, and I read every post every day, and it helps to relate and remember what to do, but as you know and I say, Corky's dose is sacred, and another opinion is always welcomed, Thank you, Have an Awesome weekend:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat::D
 
Back
Top