911- 32 at +5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Orlando

Member Since 2017
Hey everyone, I need some help...
I just saw that Orlando was acting weird, meowing in a funny way. He threw up and then ran to the food and started eating like a maniac. I tested him and he was at 32! Almost 5 hours after his shot (he’s taking 6 units am and 5 units pm).
He was at 352 before the am shot today, over 500 last night (he’s been around the 300 and 400 for a few weeks, he’s always going up and down but never lower than 100). His spreadsheet isn’t up to date here, I’ve been really busy :/ But I have all his numbers written down.

I gave him a bit of corn syrup, rubbed it on his gums with my finger, and let him eat some treats and his sache quite a bit (he desperately wanted to eat!). He’s calmer now, drank some water and haven’t thrown up anymore.
My question is, how long should I wait to test him again? I tested 25 minutes ago. And, in case he’s still hypo, should I give him more corn syrup?

He’s drinking lots of water now. Maybe because of the corn syrup?

Thanks in advance!!
 
I would test again now, I was told to test about every 15 to 20 minutes. Give the pressed gravy from a HC canned food if you have it. Corn syrup works fast but doesn't last long. 1 teaspoon HC carb food at at time, can drive the BG up
 
Thank you!! Will test again right now!!
I would test again now, I was told to test about every 15 to 20 minutes. Give the pressed gravy from a HC canned food if you have it. Corn syrup works fast but doesn't last long. 1 teaspoon HC carb food at at time, can drive the BG up
 
Thank you soooo much for your quick help! This forum saves lives <3
He’s calm and quiet now on his bed, breathing a little bit faster than usual, seems a bit cold (it’s not that cold now but he was enjoying the sun before feeling sick, now the sun is gone). But his face is normal now, he looked confused before. Will test again in 20 minutes and report ;)

good news, so very happy to hear. Test again in about 20 minutes ok? How does he look, any other hypo symptoms?
 
Keep testing every 15-20 min. until he gives you 2 readings each higher then the last test you did. Then test in a half hour as he could still drop again and you want to make sure he stays high. If his numbers are still rising but not by lots, tests again in 2 hrs and he should be up. He's drinking and eating because he's in hypo mode and craves food. If he's still in hypo mode (Davidson did it for 3 hrs yesterday) then keep feeding and testing as stated. You really need to watch him as with the low BG's his depot will be releasing the insulin.........keep posting
 
Keep testing every 15-20 min. until he gives you 2 readings each higher then the last test you did. Then test in a half hour as he could still drop again and you want to make sure he stays high. If his numbers are still rising but not by lots, tests again in 2 hrs and he should be up. He's drinking and eating because he's in hypo mode and craves food. If he's still in hypo mode (Davidson did it for 3 hrs yesterday) then keep feeding and testing as stated. You really need to watch him as with the low BG's his depot will be releasing the insulin.........keep posting
Thank you Shawna!
 
Any chance of updating the spreadsheet with at least the last week or two worth of numbers? Orlando needs a reduction, but not sure how much. It'd help if he was getting the same dose AM and PM too.
 
Thanks Shawna!!
He’s quiet now, not going crazy for food and water, that seems better. But he eats if I tell him to (bless him, he’s such a good boy!!).
3 hours of hypo?! Damn! That’s scary! How’s Davidson doing today?

I’ll keep posting here every test I take.
Thanks everyone <3
Keep testing every 15-20 min. until he gives you 2 readings each higher then the last test you did. Then test in a half hour as he could still drop again and you want to make sure he stays high. If his numbers are still rising but not by lots, tests again in 2 hrs and he should be up. He's drinking and eating because he's in hypo mode and craves food. If he's still in hypo mode (Davidson did it for 3 hrs yesterday) then keep feeding and testing as stated. You really need to watch him as with the low BG's his depot will be releasing the insulin.........keep posting
 
Well, darn, keep at it Carol. How is he looking?
He doesn’t look confused or anything. He wanted to eat some dry food, was at the bowl before I could take it away from him. I let him have a bit. Currently laying in my bed.
I just want these numbers to go back up. 32 is waaaay too low for a cat that is usually in the 300 or 400 for such a long time now... but he’s a trooper, he loves life! I know he’ll get past this.
 
I think he will too, keep a close eye on him. He's eating, and that's good. But the wet food is the best right now I think. Keep giving him a tsp at a time. Don't want to fill him completely up if you are trying to drive the BG up with food. :)
 
I gave him a bit of condensed milk (my vet told me to), waited about 5 minutes, it was already time to test. He’s at 26 now!!!! Damn!!!
More pate?
 
He’s acting pretty normal... it’s so weird! He even cleaned himself after the condensed milk. He doesn’t seem confused or anything... I’m confused!
 
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Do,you have any honey, karo syrup
Yes, we’ve givng it to him twice so far. Rubbing on his gums. Maybe we gave too little?
We’re also giving high carb pate (made for kittens), a teaspoon every time we test and it’s low like this.
The condensed milk was the vet’s idea, I didn’t want her to think I didn’t even try it.. but I know Karo is better.
Gonna give him more pate right now.
 
He tested 35. Better than 26! But still really low... gave him 1/2ml of Karo. He ate a bit of dry food (I was cleaning the syringe and didn’t see him going for the food, my boyfriend saw it but did nothing).
He’s still looking very peaceful, calm but annoyed at me every time I go test him. I’m gonna give him a little more time now, 40 minutes. He seems like he needs a rest. It’s been 3 hours now. He’s laying in his bed on the balcony with my other cat Johnny now.
 
Sorry, I had to leave for a bit and ran out of gas and only made it back now. I'm here for the night.........

Do you have any treats that are laden with sugar or fat? If not, what about those pill pockets? Do you have actual honey, I find that works and keep giving him HC food and testing every 15 min. Is he eating the food? Make sure he does even if you have to spoon feed, as he won't feel too well and may not want to eat. Put more honey on his gums - lift his lip and push it inside with your finger. It may take time (Davidson was close to 2 hrs) but his number will rise as the carbs catch up with him and digest in his stomach
 
Carol, I am going to have to leave for awhile. We are trying to deal with elderly mother and finding home care for her today. I need to just go hide under a blanket for a minute. Shawna and others are here and I will check back later. I have not been talking, but I have been watching all along. Hugs.
 
Carol......I'm here. What are his last 3 BG's.......hopefully you didn't wait 40 min. It's not good to let him stay at such low numbers even if he's not showing any symptoms, they are there and not good to be that low. The dry food isn't too bad when he's that low as it's high carb and that is what brings the numbers up. If food/honey doesn't work then the dry food should
 
Carol, I am going to have to leave for awhile. We are trying to deal with elderly mother and finding home care for her today. I need to just go hide under a blanket for a minute. Shawna and others are here and I will check back later. I have not been talking, but I have been watching all along. Hugs.
Thanks for all the help!! Good luck with finding a good home care :bighug:
 
Carol......I'm here. What are his last 3 BG's.......hopefully you didn't wait 40 min. It's not good to let him stay at such low numbers even if he's not showing any symptoms, they are there and not good to be that low. The dry food isn't too bad when he's that low as it's high carb and that is what brings the numbers up. If food/honey doesn't work then the dry food should
His last 3 BG’s are: 26, 35 and 92. Yeeees! Finally a good number! I know I’m not supposed to relax now, I need at least 3 good numbers in a row to relax a little. But it sure is a relief to see 92 after almost 4 hours of really low numbers!
I gave him 1/2ml of Karo half an hour ago. He ate more dry food (good to know it’s not a bad thing for him to eat now). He ate soooo much these past 4 hours! He doesn’t seem naseous at all. And he’s drinking water. He also pooed about an hour ago.
He’s laying on my boyfriend’s legs now with Johnny. He seems content :) Will test him again in 20 minutes.
Here’s a picture of him with Johnny now (Orlando is the white one and he hates pictures):
 

Attachments

  • 2CA37538-4BAF-4697-94ED-0FF395D962F3.jpeg
    2CA37538-4BAF-4697-94ED-0FF395D962F3.jpeg
    107.5 KB · Views: 67
Ok, no more high carbs as there is tons in his system and you don’t want more. Let him rest and with the 92 he’s good. He ate a ton as he craves food when that low, a reaction of hypo where the brain thinks it needs food and they are ravenous. No more dry food, ONLY for emergency when the HC or honey doesn’t work. You’ll see the numbers rise quite a bit now as the carbs get absorbed but you Needed to bring him out of hypo. Good work. You can test 30 min after the last test. Then if the number is a higher test in another 30 min, when that number is even higher give the ears a rest and test as per your regular schedule or in 3 hrs. Take a peek at Davidson’s SS and see all the tests yesterday while in hypo, then I could relax. I only tested in the middle of the night cuz of his situation with his potassium- or I woud have slept the night. Make sure there is a lot of water around as carbs make them thirsty. Feed a tsp of food as a snack before you go to bed.
 
He’s 47 now, guys.. this is crazy!
Gave him a little more pate and tried giving him his dry food but he didn’t want it... the pate he ate happily.
I guess I’m skipping his pm shot tonight, right? It’d be in 2 hours...
 
See, told you he could drop.....keep testing and giving some - not tons, of HC food. You still may shoot tonight as he’ll go up and stay up as I mentioned the honey is a fast fix, the carbs will be absorbed and cure numbers to rise. Did you look at Davidson’s SS? He did the same thing yesterday as what you are going thru. Just be patient and keep feeding and testing as I indelicate above. So now that he’s dropped you’re back to the 15 min intervals.
 
He’s 47 now, guys.. this is crazy!
Gave him a little more pate and tried giving him his dry food but he didn’t want it... the pate he ate happily.
I guess I’m skipping his pm shot tonight, right? It’d be in 2 hours...
He could still skyrocket by then, but I think you both need a break tonight. Any idea what his dose should be tomorrow? Definitely 6 units is too much.
 
He’s 52 now. Went up 5 points. Gave him a bit of honey, just a bit.
Yeah, I looked at Davidson’s SS and damn, what a day you guys had! And today he was testing kinda low too... btw, how are his ears? Orlando’s are super puffy and red... I feel so bad for him every time I test him...
 
He could still skyrocket by then, but I think you both need a break tonight. Any idea what his dose should be tomorrow? Definitely 6 units is too much.
His pm dose is 5 units but I’m really scared to give him that much, or any insulin at all actually.. I feel like I should skip it. I’ve skipped after testing 80 before (only one test)... it skyrocketed the day after, but oh well... better high than low, that’s what everyone says (and now I agree with that).
We’re both pretty tired, but I won’t be able to rest until he’s back to normal. I just can’t :/
 
So glad you stayed on top of this. You have stopped the drop, but now he needs to show you he can stay over 50 on his own.

Keep testing, but hold food / sugar unless he drops again over the next 2 hours.
 
Davidson's ears are fine.........keep alternating ears and places to prick. R U using the 30 gauge ultra thin lancets? Since there's no info on the SS it's hard for me to see where's he's been. You want to keep the momentum going if at all possible, and if you skip a dose then you have to start all over as it messes up the depot and takes a few days to recover. However, if you can't be there to monitor and test then it's best to skip if you think he'll go low. Test and post a few minutes before shot time - remember you can stall and still shoot within 30 min. if you have to
 
Davidson's ears are fine.........keep alternating ears and places to prick. R U using the 30 gauge ultra thin lancets? Since there's no info on the SS it's hard for me to see where's he's been. You want to keep the momentum going if at all possible, and if you skip a dose then you have to start all over as it messes up the depot and takes a few days to recover. However, if you can't be there to monitor and test then it's best to skip if you think he'll go low. Test and post a few minutes before shot time - remember you can stall and still shoot within 30 min. if you have to

I’m alternating ears and spots but damn, it looks so painful. He’s letting me do it, though. Giving me that “god, again?!!” look, but letting it.
I’m using a 28 gauge thin lancet. I usually have to rub his ear a bit before pricking it, otherwise there’s not enough blood. And the blood seems thicker when he’s on low numbers. Is that normal?

Last time he had a “good” number on last Monday, 190. He’s always around the 300s and 400s. He tested 88 on the 12th. I always freak out a bit when he has “good numbers”. Since he’s been on high numbers for so many months and has been feeling really good, acting normal and happy, lower numbers are scary. But this was the first time in a year and a month he’s been diagnosed that he was on hypo (aside from when he was on the clinic for 48h and they were using the fast kind of insulin).
I know this is not the same as having his SS up to date. As soon as he’s out of the danger zone and I’m a little rested, I’ll update it. Promise.
 
He’s at 78 now :)
I let him take a nap, almost an hour. He was exhausted. Tested it now. Gave a bit more pate. Last time he had a good number today was after a nap as well.
It’ll be insulin time in an hour. I’m gonna test twice before that, if the number kept going up, I’m thinking of giving half his dose, 3 units. If it goes back down I’ll wait 30 minutes after the pm time, test again and see what to do. After that, I’m gonna have to sleep. I have panic disorder and take two meds that destroy me if I don’t sleep. But I’m thinking of setting my alarm clock for every couple of hours to keep testing him... if his numbers don’t keep going up from now on (otherwise I think I’m gonna sleep. I wake up easily if he meows or makes any weird sound. He always sleeps with us). Does that sound like the right thing to do?

He still looks fine, just tired, btw.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top