+9 and @ 327 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Very Active Member
Copper had a good day and probably went into the green's. Now his +9 is @ 327 already. DOes this mean his body perceived he went too low and his liver is kicking back a little? If that is the case, then i should probably go with a lower dose tonight?
 
It's that "go with your gut" thing, Lori. He did fine with your amps and 1.8. If you can monitor, you can try that again. If you can't monitor, you can be more conservative with the 1.6

If we go back to Dr. Lisa's warranted and unwarranted bounce idea, if this was a bounce, it wasn't a drastic low to high, right? The insulin may have just been used up. (I hope I am interpreting this right.) I am thinking she would stay with the 1.8.
 
Yea, i was thinking unwarranted bounce. I don't think he was too low today. I wasn't here for all of it, but was in and out and he was doing fine. I forgot about hy poop out theory. It just seemed like he did really well last night on the 1.6u with a low amps. So thinking maybe that is the right dose, although he didn't move much on that, but he did stay leveled in the 200's. Is the goal to get them to get lower and lower on the amps, nadir and pmps and eventually get a flat line? I know the goal is in the green's but not sure if the amps and pmps should be lower?

lori
 
No matter if it is liver panic from seeing a blue or insulin poop out, what we do know is that he had a decent day on the 1.8u. If he's on his way back up I think I would stick with that dose.

Eventually we want all of the numbers to be lower, we would like to see them all lower at the same time without any crazy rises and drops.
 
Yes, eventually you want lower nadirs and preshots. A cat is generally considered regulated when he is in the 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir (but of course above that 40 area) on insulin. There are several kitties on the forum who are regulated - Donna's Asher is one. He gets insulin and a pretty good dose, but he stays in that safe regulated window most of the time.
 
So the days i was giving 1.6u and he stayed in the 200's, is not what i want because his nadir was not in the green's? I know a flat line of numbers usually means not enough insulin. IS that right? Just trying to understand it all.

THANKS! His +12 is @320. So it is leveling out in the low 300's. I haven't fed him yet, so know it will go up from that.

Lori
 
Well, it's a balancing act, Lori. Cats won't follow our patterns. Yes, it would be great if they would have 200 preshots and nice green nadirs. But, as you look at other people's spreadsheets, you'll see that cats don't cooperate. You experiment, seeing what a little more insulin does. Or whether it does too much. We would like a nice smile curve, going gently down and gently back up again. (if it was an ideal world)

I think I would try your 1.8 tonight as long as you can test before you go to sleep. But you hold the needle. Do what feels right.
 
Thanks Sue. I had already shot the 1.8u. I felt fine giving it. I will check before bed. Will wake up and fed in middle of night.

SO the cats are regulated when their amps and pmps is in the low 200's and nadir is in green. Is that correct. How do yuu get cats in remission?

lori
 
Lori I'm not sure a flat line means not enuf insulin. It can mean a few things.
In this case I think your 1.8 shot is worth a few days try.
The more info. you gather the better shot you have at a clear picture.
And in order to get good data it is nice to have a few days on that dose.

;-) I do check your SS every day just to see where your at. :razz:
Lori
 
And Lori...remission is not in your hands. We do our best and sometimes a cats health permits remission.
For now...lets just aim for gathering data and consistancy.
Sprint not Marathon ... remember?
Lori
 
Thanks i will keep at it! How did the "Christmas Miracle" kitty work out? Haven't had time to look at other post.

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top