9/9 Zeke - PMPS=195;+1=208;+5=158

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79 (AT) - Reduction?

Have updated Zeke's ss. He dipped below 80 but just barely as per AlphaTrak. Whenever he dips low I like to double check the number against the ReliOn. I got the following readings with ReliOn:
+ 6.75 = 44
+7= 41
+7.5 = 45

The AlphaTrak only once reflected a number below 80. @+7.5=79.

I know the protocol says if <80(AT) or <50 (human glucometer) reduce immediately 0.25 or 0.5 (in Zeke's case 0.25). Just want to confirm that despite a recent reduction (effective 9/8), I should reduce his dose tonight, unless there's PMPS # indicating an upcoming bounce and then I have the option to shoot through the bounce, right?

I've seen the guidance on the FDMB "shooting low numbers", so who knows if that will be another consideration tonight. We'll see.
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79 (AT) - Reduction?

You've asked a good question. I think there's some likelihood that Zeke's depot is still a little too full. As a result, his numbers have dropped fairly close to the last reduction. I'd be inclined to continue with your current dose.
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79;+11=187. Is the shed drainin

So if I hold the dose, this will cause the shed to drain? Please help me understand what in his ss indicates that the shed might still be a little too full? This will help my decision making process in the future.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79;+11=187 - Question

Please see that today Zeke dropped to 41@+7 as per my ReliOn glucometer (and also tested at 44@6.5 & 45@+7.5).

Perhaps I don't yet have the concept down about draining the depot, but my understanding was that if I want to drain the shed, a dose decrease would help to do that. Is that not correct? Do I have it backwards?

Despite Zeke falling to 79 on AlphaTrak today, should I hold the current dose of 1u as he just had a reduction on 9/8? And also in an effort to drain the shed?

Please clarify.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79;+11=187 - Question

Since Zeke dropped below 80 again on the AlphaTrak, and down to 41 on the Relion, the protocol calls for a reduction, but since he's coming up now, you can "shoot through the bounce", which would mean that you'd go ahead and shoot the same 1 unit tonight, and then at the AM dose, decrease to .75

When you "shoot through the bounce" you still take the deduction the next cycle but it gives them a little more support through the bounce (that's how I understand it anyway)
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79;+11=187; PMPS=195-Hold the d

If reductions are too close together, you run the risk of the second reduction failing. In Zeke's case today, it looks to me like the depot from the dose of 1.25u is still influencing the numbers. You've since reduced the dose from 1.25u to 1.0u but there's a good chance that the drop today was the influence of your previous dose. If this is the case, you don't take the reduction based on the numbers today.

If, however, you're nervous about Zeke's numbers, then take the reduction. We'll know soon enough if this reduction holds.
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79;+11=187; PMPS=195-Hold the d

Thanks for the great advice. I went ahead and gave him the full 1 unit. So what about tomorrow morning? Sienne, it sounds to me like you're basically saying you would not take this mornings drop into account - basically that I should totally disregard/dismiss. Is this correct? Therefore I'm understanding you to say not to take the reduction tomorrow morning but continue with the 1u until he drops again below 70. Is this correct? Tonight is only the 4th cycle on the lower dose of 1 unit. Would you hold for at least six unless he drops below 80 again tonight?

Everyone else - Just curious, do you agree? If not, what's your advice on timing of next reduction?

BTW - Zeke weighs 17 lbs. For future reference, should I find Zeke in an emergency situation, how much maple syrup should I give him (as a last resort)? 1 teaspoon?
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79;+11=187; PMPS=195-Hold the d

I would continue on the 1u dose until he earns another reduction by going below 80 on the AT or 50 on the Relion....but I'd pick one glucometer to use to make my decisions.

What Sienne was trying to say is that the 1.25u dose could have been the reason why Zeke went low again today. A higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. For many cats, it's probably 3 or 4 until the depot drains enough from the higher dose so you can see what the current dose of 1u is doing.

As she said, if the 1u is too much, you will know soon enough.

Also...could you p,ease take the 911 down now that everything is ok? Thank you!
 
Re: 9/9 Zeke - AMPS 232;+7.5=79;+11=187; PMPS=195-Hold the d

Gabby is gluten sensitive and I use ether honey or corn syrup to raise her numbers. I give her between 2 - 4 drops to bring up her numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top