9/9 Tony PMPS 203 glucose curve

Tony'sMomJodi

Member Since 2021
Previous post https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-180-unexpected-low-pmps.252341/#post-2847301

Hello all, Just checking in as we just completed another glucose curve and spent most of the day in the blues and greens for the first time (I'm so happy!)
That being said, I will admit I did panic and give him a few feline greenies treats when I saw him at 80 so early on. I know lantus usually doesn't peak until +6 and he hit 80 at +4 so that scared me some, but overall I couldn't be happier. This curve looks pretty good, right? Thanks for any input!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...7WkASU-HLbRVNOD99jyTrs1YQ/edit#gid=1182885903
 
Beautiful cycle! Just what you'd like see on a curve day.
The 80s are normal numbers and he was curving down gently from +2, so LC may have been enough. But we've all thrown carbs at green when were new to them :-)

With that drop to 80, Tony has earned a reduction per SLGS. Please reduce his dose to 0.75U from tomorrow?

Btw, I see from your signature that you are feeding Purina DM? Is that canned or dry? Purina Pro Plan DM canned is low carb - 6% but the DM Savory Selects is 10% and the dry is high carb!
 
Beautiful cycle! Just what you'd like see on a curve day.
The 80s are normal numbers and he was curving down gently from +2, so LC may have been enough. But we've all thrown carbs at green when were new to them :)

With that drop to 80, Tony has earned a reduction per SLGS. Please reduce his dose to 0.75U from tomorrow?

Btw, I see from your signature that you are feeding Purina DM? Is that canned or dry? Purina Pro Plan DM canned is low carb - 6% but the DM Savory Selects is 10% and the dry is high carb!

Wonderful, I'm so excited we are getting the hang of this! I will reduce his dose tomorrow. He does eat some DM kibble, plus some Dr Elseys clean protein chicken kibble, then the fancy feast pate as many times a day as I can get him to. (hes a kibble junkie, so far I can get him to eat half a can of fancy feast 2x or 3x a day, but we are making progress, he wouldn't eat any at the beginning) Thank you for the reply Bhooma, you guys are great!
 
On your previous post you said

I thought from what I'd read that I was supposed to give a reduced dose on a test under 200, maybe that was on the human meter? I have been using both to try to get used to the human meter, however I dont have a spread sheet set up for the human one yet. Can I set up a second spreadsheet for the human meter?

Are you still using both?
 
Wonderful, I'm so excited we are getting the hang of this! I will reduce his dose tomorrow. He does eat some DM kibble, plus some Dr Elseys clean protein chicken kibble, then the fancy feast pate as many times a day as I can get him to. (hes a kibble junkie, so far I can get him to eat half a can of fancy feast 2x or 3x a day, but we are making progress, he wouldn't eat any at the beginning) Thank you for the reply Bhooma, you guys are great!
Hi Jodi you would be following SLGS dosing method since Tiny is eating kibble
Can you please add to your signature that he is also eating dry food so members don't have to keep asking you :cat:
Nice curve
@Tony'sMomJodi
 
On your previous post you said

I thought from what I'd read that I was supposed to give a reduced dose on a test under 200, maybe that was on the human meter? I have been using both to try to get used to the human meter, however I dont have a spread sheet set up for the human one yet. Can I set up a second spreadsheet for the human meter?

Are you still using both?
I'm using both about half the time, and I will admit that I've given him less insulin on the days that he is low PS and I can't monitor him, I'm trying to break that habit but I'm terrified of sending him into a hypo while I'm at work and killing or seriously injuring him :( How do you get over that fear?
 
I'm using both about half the time, and I will admit that I've given him less insulin on the days that he is low PS and I can't monitor him, I'm trying to break that habit but I'm terrified of sending him into a hypo while I'm at work and killing or seriously injuring him :( How do you get over that fear?
I'm going to tag @Bandit's Mom for you and see what she has to say about using both pet meter and human meter
I'm pretty sure you have to stick with one meter
Also I'll give you the link so you can read about the SLGS dosing method since he's still eating dry
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
He does eat some DM kibble, plus some Dr Elseys clean protein chicken kibble, then the fancy feast pate as many times a day as I can get him to. (hes a kibble junkie, so far I can get him to eat half a can of fancy feast 2x or 3x a day, but we are making progress, he wouldn't eat any at the beginning) Thank you for the reply Bhooma, you guys are great!
Transitioning to wet can be quite a challenge for some cats. Why DM kibble though? It is high carb. Dr. Elsey's is low carb, so that's fine.
 
Hi. You really need to stick with either the pet or human meter. The numbers are slightly different and the ss needs to be coded with one or the other. The strips are cheaper with a human meter.
 
Hi. You really need to stick with either the pet or human meter. The numbers are slightly different and the ss needs to be coded with one or the other. The strips are cheaper with a human meter.
Thanks Elise , looking at her SS it looks like she is dosing based on pre shots


Doesn't she need to find a dose she can shoot the same for AMPS and PMPS?
Always thought Lantus likes consistency

@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Transitioning to wet can be quite a challenge for some cats. Why DM kibble though? It is high carb. Dr. Elsey's is low carb, so that's fine.
He went anorexic at one point and ended up at the ER, the vet there gave me some to see if he would eat it, and he did. Hes turned up his nose at everything else since but is starting to eat the Dr elseys again here and there
 
Hi. You really need to stick with either the pet or human meter. The numbers are slightly different and the ss needs to be coded with one or the other. The strips are cheaper with a human meter.
I always test with the pet meter and those are the numbers i record in his spreadsheet, Ive been testing with the human meter and writing those numbers in his paper log so I have an idea what the number comparisons are so I can change over comfortably to the human meter and not panic because I dont know what his numbers mean when I do change over 100%
 
Just a remiinder you need to shoot 0.75 tomorrow morning since he dropped under 90 today, please read the dosing method I gave you above about SLGS and please add that to your signature since he's still eating kibble
Can you get more tests in at night, I see you said you work, try and get a few in when you get home Do you have an auto feeder so you can set it for certain times for Tony to eat wet food ?
You said you were worried about him dropping to low while you are at work
 
Last edited:
Just a remiinder you need to shoot 0.75 tomorrow morning since he dropped under 90 today, please read the dosing method I gave you above about SLGS and please add that to your signature since he's still eating kibble
Can you get more tests in at night, I see you said you work, try and get a few in when you get home
I will reduce his dose tomorrow morning and Ill try to get more tests in after his pm shot and I updated my signature to include SLGS, Thank you
 
Back
Top