9/9 Titan,first dat at 5.5u, AMPS 512, +2 484, +8 472

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyTitan (GA)

Member Since 2017
Titan 9/8

Morning All, prayers to all the Floridians those bracing for Irma and those cleaning up from Harvey.
Titan is showing a little stability with lower blacks and reds being scattered into his SS . He sure is a lot perkier especially in the morning. First day with the increase to 5.5 units. I'm thinking of doing a complete curve at 6 units and maybe holding 6units for longer say 6 to 8 cycles just to take a pause in the fast track he's been on. Any thoughts on that would be appreciated. My thinking is to see if the rapid increase in dose is having an effect or if he settles back into very high numbers ???.
 
Downward good!!
LOL-Cat-kitten-yoga.gif
 
You really want to keep pushing and get him out of those numbers. I would only hold the dose a max of 6 cycles until you see blue then you would hold the dose 8-10 cycles. There is no need to do a full curve with those numbers but I would change up your testing times here and there to help fill in the blanks. Hang in there...every kitty will get to a break through dose...just follow the protocol.
 
Newbie here...but the TR protocol says:"Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction". Sometimes hurrying things up end up in costing more on long term.
 
That's is true, Titan has been diagnosed with acromegaly which complicates the absorption of the insulin. He has been stuck in the 500+ range so long and after many conversations with the "mentors" here on FDMB we elected to speed up fast track a bit and increase on 4 cycles trying to find the dose that starts to bring him down into the reds-pinks and dare I say yellows befor we slow down and go with more cycles between increases. Acro cats have been known to need 15-20 units 2x a day . Read some of my past posts, it's been a trial just getting here. Thanks for inquiring and keep us posted on Toronto's progress. I could only wish Titan was on 1.5 units :rolleyes:
 
Thank you. I'll go slow on Toro, every time I push him harder, a step forward is followed by two backwards. Even if the BG numbers don't look great, he slowly seems to return to his old habits, even if still drinks a lot and pees a lot. At least he didn't lose any weight in the past month. Go Titan Go !
 
As a newbie ourselves it's a long learning curve. We had two diabetic cats back in the early 90's. Managed both with just diastix's . Lasted twelve years! But care for FD cats has come along way and thank God for FDMB.

P.S. A request, use my current thread dated Sept 11. Board eddicate is to have one thread per day. I put a link to previous days in the current day thread. When you respond to my 9/9 thread it alternates with the current days and both show up on the forum. Thanks, also do you have a name you would share? Put it in your signature if so. Peace Ed :)
 
With those numbers, I don't think I'd hold a dose more than the protocol suggests. You really want to get ahead of the numbers. You don't want those high numbers to settle in and face glucose toxicity. Makes it just that much more difficult to bring Titan down into a much healthier range. My Polly is an acro, diagnosed over three years ago. Before she had the SRT, we sometimes fast-tracked (4 cycles instead of 6) just to keep ahead of the numbers. We really worked to keep her yellow and even eventually blue before she had the radiation treatments.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top