9/9 Skunky AMPS 69 PMPS 76 +1.5 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Hi all.

These are much better numbers today. Woot! But. . . . they are pretty much fasting numbers. The AM and PM that is. I'm surprised we didn't get more of a food spike from dinner tonight at PM shot. So, yay!

Here's yesterday's condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124939&p=1294383#p1294383

I haven't been feeding her nearly as much now that she is on 0.1u. I was feeding her obsessively before because I didn't want her to go hypo but I'm figuring. . that won't really be an issue on this low dose. Maybe. . . :?

I know I need to be getting more tests. I guess I'm just relaxing for a bit because things had been so crazy!

Any recommendations of what tests I need to try to get?

And. . what is the minimum number of times she needs to be fed? Pretty much now I feed her when I get up (about an hour or two before her AMPS) and at the shot, when I get home (which varies, from +8 to +10) and at PM shot. And then maybe a touch before bed (around +1 or +2)

But I'm for sure feeling better about her dose today!
Beach trip is one week from Friday. . . I don't think i'll have anybody to give her any juice. And, I think she'd be much better off at home with someone checking on her daily than at the vet's office. She's never been boarded before. I have a sneaky suspicion she will hate and despise it.
 
oh her spreadsheet looks so pretty! all that green and blue. *swoon* :mrgreen:

I just posted to Ana/Bruno tonight - she's in the same situation with Bruno that you're in with Skunky. Hopefully, she's going to be OTJ before you head to the beach, but let's get her there safely. See if any of this is helpful to you:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
wow Ana, Bruno looks like a new kitty! Good choice on the switch to Lev!

I'm a little nervous that you're testing less than you were before, though. There are 2 ways he could go OTJ at this point. From the TR Protocol guidelines:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

In other words, if Bruno goes even one more time below 50, it will be time to start an OTJ trial. Not really optional or opinion - if you can't safely give the smallest dose of insulin, it would be time to do the trial. Some cats are bouncy all the way to OTJ, so just the appearance of higher numbers doesn't mean that he isn't ready. The way to be sure is to step up the testing. At this point, he's so close you actually want to be more vigilant than before instead of less vigilant. You can be pretty sure at some point, before too long, he's going to need another dose reduction and you don't want to miss the occasion that he tells you that news!!!

The second highlighted part means that if he stays in normal numbers (50-120) for 7 days in a row, you could also try reducing the dose. Which in his case, means giving him an OTJ trial.

Hang in there Ana, it's so close we can see it on the horizon! :-D great job handling him - just step up the testing and hopefully, you're going to catch a 40something! I hope you'll let us know - i know I want to celebrate it with you and Bruno! :-D

as far as eating, for a kitty close to OTJ, you want small meals around the clock. I'd think around 4-6 meals perhaps. it's easier on the healing pancreas to have the small meals.
 
Thank you Julie!

I had actually just read what you posted about Bruno and was thinking on it very much.

It looks like I'm going to have to break down and get one of those auto feeders. I wonder if they sell them at petsmart. I like holding things before I buy them!
 
Yes, they sell the feeders at Petsmart. Of course, whether or not your particular store will have one in stock when you go in is another question! :lol:

Skunky is looking so good! Keep up the good work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top