Re: 9/9 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 Fructosamine test
Just wanted to throw in another voice of support! I am single, live alone, and work full-time with a 20-30 minute commute each way. While there have been some long nights on our path, I've been able to make tight regulation work extremely well for Willie. We get no midday cycles during the week (well, except for Wednesdays, but only because I work at home that day), but I do try to get spot checks at night. I can be at work as late as 9:30, so I shoot at 6:30 then usually go back to sleep for an hour. Allows me up to a +2.5 in the morning, and if I'm dealing with a low cycle, +6 is 12:30am, which still affords me 6 hours until the next shot, plus another hour of sleep after. At night, I do basically walk in the door and shoot, which works just fine. While our spreadsheet needs to be updated, you can take a peek at what our journey has been like.
The keys to this approach are early spot checks and getting a handle on understanding how Miss Kitty processes insulin. I know that generally, Willie gets a sizable food bump at +1 to +2. If his starting number is low and there isn't an upward trend in those numbers, I will leave a higher carb food out that day to keep Willie safe. I honestly don't believe there is anything in this situation the vet can do in 4 days that you cannot do yourself at home. There are so many better ways you could spend that money... why, you'd be set on test strips for a good, long while!!
I know it is hard to have strangers on the internet telling you to ignore a vet that you like. What I can tell you is that the folks giving advice her have lived this disease day in and day out for months and years, and their advice is based on collective wisdom based on a pool of hundreds and hundreds of cats. Very few vets, even the really good ones, have that level of knowledge or expertise. They are generalists who don't have the time or energy to become experts in every pet disease that they encounter on a daily basis. I can tell you that, since finding FDMB in December, I've put Willie's life in the hands of the folks here on more than one occasion, and they've never steered me wrong. Because of the kindness and generosity of everyone here, I am able to be a strong advocate for Willie's care.
Please let us know how we can be of assistance!