9/9 Mandarin AMPS 257, +3 247 / Walter AMPS 294, +3 166, +5 76, +6 82 + sad news

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

I just talked to the person that is fostering the other three kittens that were dumped in a box with Iris, Fern and Flora. One of her kittens, Bob, had been showing exactly the same symptoms as Iris. He has had breathing difficulties since he came in, but no typical URI symptoms (no nasal discharge or sneezing - he was just extremely snorkly). Both Bob and Iris tested positive for Calici. And both of them have not responded to antibiotics or antivirals.

Yesterday, he was scheduled to be neutered and he passed away during surgery. Apparently, he did indeed have a polyp. I don't know exactly what happened, but it sounds like he stopped breathing and they were unable to intubate him because of the polyp.

I am heartbroken for his foster family and terrified for Iris. And I have lost all faith in our shelter vets (not that I had all that much to start out with). I doubt that I will even get an honest answer on what that could potentially mean for Iris. I am tempted to just take her to my vet and get a second opinion from someone that I trust. I just wish that I wouldn't have to even think about the repercussions of doing that. God, I hat shelter politics.

Meanwhile, Mandarin and Walter are once again starting the day in yellow... but Mandarin actually managed to stay in blue all night. Let's see what the weekend brings. I'll be home for the most part, so it would be a great time to break the synchronized bounce (or whatever this might be).
 
Why would they neuter a cat that isn't well? Couldn't they hold off knowing eventually they will get it done? I sure hope you don't need to do that to Iris before she is healthy. It's one reason I don't know if I would rescue kittens when the time comes. I was able to decide the time to neuter Max and he's had a long life . Tiffany came to me already fixed and I lost her at just 12, she got CKD before she turned 10 and then cancer. :bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: It is crazy and ridiculous that there are "politics" in shelters. I am so sorry about sweet little Bob. Hugs and prayers for Iris. What are the feelings of other people in your rescue group? Is there something the group as a whole can do to help with the vet situation?

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Why would they neuter a cat that isn't well? Couldn't they hold off knowing eventually they will get it done? I sure hope you don't need to do that to Iris before she is healthy.

That's an excellent question! They have been pushing me to get her spayed too because kittens are just so much more highly adoptable when they are cute and tiny... but I have absolutely no intentions of getting her spayed before she is well enough for the procedure. Same with Flora.

What I am concerned about though is the possibility that Iris has a polyp as well. I don't really know much about polyps in the throat/nose. I had a foster cat years ago that had a polyp in her ear, but that was easily diagnosed and clearly visible. And it wasn't a risky surgery because it didn't interfere with the vet's ability to intubate. If she does have a polyp, I would imagine it needs to come out before it gets even bigger... but do you have to sedate to even diagnose it? And then what?
 
Sorry to hear about Bob, it's so sad :( Sending lots of vines and prayers for little Iris. I don't have any clue but hoping just because Bob had it doesn't mean that Iris does too. Boys, please surf nicely today, mama has enough worry. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hate that they spay and neuter so young.....and not healthy enough... I am so sorry....
When I was looking to get Rico a friend (Dre) I went to my holistic vet to see if she had any (dumped like people do) because I know the shelters just vaccinate the heck out of them .... I know they have their reasons but sometimes it is just too much for a already stressed kitty:(
Im so sorry for your loss :bighug:
 
because I know the shelters just vaccinate the heck out of them ....

Yup, that's another of my other pet peeves and something else that I already don't follow with my fosters. Our shelter vaccinates every 2 weeks until they are 16-18 weeks of age. So, in other words, if we get a 6-week old kitten that stays with other for a while, they would end up with 6 or 7 rounds of vaccines. :eek:

So I guess I might as well do what I think is best for Iris. The more I think about it, I don't seem to follow most of their other rules either. :rolleyes:
 
Yup, that's another of my other pet peeves and something else that I already don't follow with my fosters. Our shelter vaccinates every 2 weeks until they are 16-18 weeks of age. So, in other words, if we get a 6-week old kitten that stays with other for a while, they would end up with 6 or 7 rounds of vaccines. :eek:

So I guess I might as well do what I think is best for Iris. The more I think about it, I don't seem to follow most of their other rules either. :rolleyes:
WOW--that is A LOT of vaccines!!
I think they don't realize they are doing more harm than good--
blasting the immune system repeatedly :(
 
Oh Christina - I am so sorry - how sad and stressful
I too am shocked about all the vaccinations the kitties get - I am a public health person so really believe in vaccinations, but I haven't have a kitten since 1981 (only adopt older adults or seniors) and I am completely shocked by what you have said about vaccinations in kittens. I truly hope your two sugar kitties come down in sync this weekend
 
That's an excellent question! They have been pushing me to get her spayed too because kittens are just so much more highly adoptable when they are cute and tiny... but I have absolutely no intentions of getting her spayed before she is well enough for the procedure. Same with Flora.

What I am concerned about though is the possibility that Iris has a polyp as well. I don't really know much about polyps in the throat/nose. I had a foster cat years ago that had a polyp in her ear, but that was easily diagnosed and clearly visible. And it wasn't a risky surgery because it didn't interfere with the vet's ability to intubate. If she does have a polyp, I would imagine it needs to come out before it gets even bigger... but do you have to sedate to even diagnose it? And then what?

I guess I am confused. One can intubate through the nose, but it's a lot simpler to intubate thru the mouth.
Either way you are going to the same location. No, I would not take the kitties to the shelter for neutering, either. Some regular vets these days are getting grants to do free neutering. My vet does them every Monday. All you pay for is the rabies shot. But first you need to get your lil ones seen by someone competent. Does your rescue group have any funds for such, or do they know of some compassionate vets who will charge you less?

Whatever you manage to find I wish you good fortune in saving the babies. Hugs.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
WOW--that is A LOT of vaccines!!
I think they don't realize they are doing more harm than good--
blasting the immune system repeatedly :(
I think they are overdoing it, but the principle is sound. They are not vaccinating as much as they are supporting the kitten's immune system, until that kitten's immune system actually kicks in. Usually this is done by their mom's milk, particularly the colostrum which is transferred from Mom to kitty during the first 24 hours. Colostrum provides newborns with protection from disease causing organisms. Immunity is "passed" to the kitten through the antibody loaded, first milk produced by the mother. This special milk is called colostrum.The colostrum affords a great deal of immunity to baby kitties.

However, if the shelter is not sure whether or not the ktties received this colostrum, (for example, the mother died giving birth, or soon thereafter)they pretty need to support the babys' weak to non-existent immune system.
 
Geez. I understand that Shelter Medicine is different than client/private vet medicine, but not that different! I think I'd have to be a rule-breaker to foster for anyplace so arbitrary in their treatment of the wee ones, kitties or puppies. Maybe that's one of the reasons I love Best Friends. Fantastic medical facility and treatment. (Although even there, protocols are sometimes too absolute for my taste.) Gotta love a place that puts out of quarantine puppies in Puppy Play School, and kittens in a Kitten Nursery. Specialized care; acclimation to a home environment (rooms set up to resemble a home) and tons of socialization.

Godspeed Bob. And may the universe continue to look after and protect sweet Iris. (Well, it already has; she's with you.)

Oh, and boys. Time to pull it all together, find some comfy numbers, and .... surf. (Walter....skip the bounce this go 'round.)

Marilyn and Polly
 
Sending tons of vines to poor wee Iris!
I see Walter is visiting the lagoon today! Mandarin....why don't you join your brother for a dip?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top