9/9 Lucy PMPS=137;+2=83;+3=79;+4.5=74;+6.5=86

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

9/8 AMPS=130; +3=112; +7=103; +9.5=101
9/8 PMPS=128; +2=158; +6=203

9/9 AMPS=169; +2=166; +9.5=135
9/9 PMPS=137; +2=83; +3=79; +4.5=74; +6.5=86

Lucy is doing OK, so-so appy and so-so mood.
She went to yellow last night at the before-bed test, so I should be happy that she's doing OK considering she probably stayed yellow over night.
She came down to blue this morning, but still high for her.....
Yesterday was the prednisolone day, so I expected a little higher number, but still this is a bit too high for Lucy.
It's either the combination of prednisolone and metronidazole, or there is some inflammation going on.....
I'm so tempted to just quit metronidazole and give her more prednisolone, but only 5 more pills of metronidazole to go, so I'll try to stick to my plan.

Wishing everyone a nice day today!
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy AMPS=169

It's always nice when they bring themselves down at night. Sending feel better vines for sweet Lucy.
Liz
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy AMPS=169

It sounds like you might as well stick with it, Mariko, as then you know.
But I sure hope Lucy gets back into her cheerful licking mood.
Have a good start to the week!
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy AMPS=169

Blue is still a lovely colour, so don't worry too much! I hope she is back to being a happy licker soon.
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy AMPS=169;+2=166

Thank you, Liz, Lara, Amy.

I know that blue is good and her numbers aren't too bad, but what makes it very hard for me is that Lucy isn't feeling so good because of what I'm doing, because of my steroid dose experiment.
I'm supposed to be making her better, but I'm getting the opposite results.
I hate the trial and error process, because if things don't work out, Lucy is the one who suffer.
I feel really bad about the whole thing.
She was just beginning to eat her food by herself after 2 years of finger-feeding before the experiment, and now we are back to finger-feeding, which is OK by me, but it means Lucy isn't feeling as good.
AArrrhhhggggg!
I'll stop whining and complaining now.
But it's so frustrating!!!
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy AMPS=169;+2=166

I'm sorry, Mariko. How long will Lucy be on the Pred? Also, how long has she been on it this time? Is it possible that she will acclimate to this dose & appy / mood improve? Sure hope so for both of you!
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy AMPS=169;+2=166;+9.5=135

I hope Lucy starts feeling better and eating better soon. Nice blue surf today.
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137

Aw, I'm sorry Lucy isn't feeling super...just a few more days of metronidazole - but, if you feel in your gut that going back to her old dose of pred will do it, then maybe it's OK to hang up your patience pants on this one. Sending calming and feel better prayers your way!
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137

Suzanne, Carla,
Thank you for your visiting Lucy today. :-D

Suzanne,
Lucy has been on pred for years and years for her IBD and asthma, and she will be on pred for the rest of her life.
Long story short, I have been trying to see if she can do with less pred, reducing dose slowly since July, in order to better regulate her FD.
She started having diarrhea about 3 weeks ago, probably because the reduced pred isn't enough for her IBD, so that's why she is on metronidazole, as my last struggle against upping the pred dose.
I'm frustrated because not only her energy and appy have decreased, her blood glucose isn't any better with the reduced steroid, which means I'm making Lucy suffer with zero positive results. :-x

Her appetite was slightly better this evening.
So far, she just had one tiny nugget poo.
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137

((Mariko)), you're doing a great job with the delicate juggling of Lucy's meds.
I'm glad she's eating better tonight, and hope she feels even better tomorrow :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137

Thank you, Amy & Josie
Only 4 more pills, so I'll stick with the plan.
I'll try not to be such a pain about this.
I'm getting sick of myself talking and thinking about this all the time!
You must be getting tired of hearing me talk about this too!
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137

Nope, I'm not tired yet of you expressing care and concern for your kitty.
This place is a great sounding board for all of us ~ keep loving your girl, and keep on keeping us updated :-D
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137

You're not a pain at all, and it's great to hear about how Lucy is doing.
Even if we don't always have the answers, or some things are mysterious and confusing, we can still give support.
Who else can understand what we are going through?
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137

Hi Mariko,

I hope Lucy is feeling better tonight and even better tomorrow. You can always vent, or "think out loud" here. I like to read your reasoning, it shows how much you love Lucy and turn over all the the options in your mind.

Hope you are having a good night~

Jane
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137;+2=83

Awwww, thank you, friends.
You make my eyes water.

Lucy surprised me with a green number after 5 cycles of no green.
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137;+2=83

Green and good poo! Well done Lucy! Paws crossed she feels like eating on her own again soon.

I like how you "think out loud" here. It's good to see why and how other people are doing things. You never know when it'll come in handy with your own cat.
 
Re: 9/9 Lucy PMPS=137;+2=83;+3=79;+4.5=74

This one turned out to be a nice cycle.... :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top