9/9 Loudogg AMPS 172 +3 266 PMPS 102! - Question about dose needs during move

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
September 8, 2018 Condo

Good morning all! Happy Sunday!
Lou had a relatively good, but brief run to the lagoon last night. He's been breaking bounces so quickly! I hope the higher AMPS isn't an indication that he's headed to another bounce, but I'm afraid he is. He needs to spend more time in the greens. T-minus 3 days until closing! While super exciting, today Caleb and I really need to get most of the packing done. I've been having the hardest time getting started, and I don't know what my problem is. Sometimes I'll even start, then have a question that Caleb can't answer (because he's at work), and then lose my gumption. I've been feeling so worthless with this lately, I hope I can get my head out of my behind and be productive today. Well I have to, I don't have much other choice considering I work Monday and Tuesday. :rolleyes:

Now I know I made a mistake with dosing during our vacation with Lou last month, so I wanted to ask for your opinions about dosing for the move. Do you think I should adjust the dose say tonight to drain the depot on the day? I don't necessarily think we'll be in a position to never check him that day, but I want to make sure he stays safe since we likely won't be able to monitor super closely. At the rate he's going, he could even be bouncing that day, which would be a load off, but we all know we're not usually that lucky in this FD game, haha. :p

I hope you all have a wonderful and relaxing Sunday! I hope your kitties surf safely! Sending vines out to @Amanda & Shmee and @Beck and Grandpa! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Nice blue start, hope the packing all goes well, I hate packing as well, ugh
Don’t have dose advice but I’m sure someone will weigh in:bighug:
 
... Now I know I made a mistake with dosing during our vacation with Lou last month, so I wanted to ask for your opinions about dosing for the move. Do you think I should adjust the dose say tonight to drain the depot on the day? I don't necessarily think we'll be in a position to never check him that day, but I want to make sure he stays safe since we likely won't be able to monitor super closely. At the rate he's going, he could even be bouncing that day, which would be a load off, but we all know we're not usually that lucky in this FD game, haha. :p ...

I'm not a veterinarian, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. But... given Lou's numbers recently, I'd hate to see you lose the progress you've made. If you're moving in-state, could you board Lou with a friend or vet that could be trusted to inject 2.25 and monitor every 4-6 hours?

If not, I have a feeling that with the moving stress, you will likely see higher BG numbers, not lower. Can you test every 4-6 hours? If you're worried about 2.25, I suppose you could back off to 2U for a day and then go back to 2.25U the following day?
 
Can't help with dose advice.

When we moved we were lucky enough we already closed 3 yrs earlier in the 2nd house. So we had the time to move most stuff every weekend from Spring to fall. Would pack up my little escort car Thursday night and Friday I would leave work early and drive to new house for the weekend. DH worked weekends but had weekdays off and he did the same. Since most of our large furniture was 10+ years, we through it all out. Exception was the roll too desk, 2 Lazy Boy chairs and kitchen table. Everything else was thrown out.

So closing was suppose to be 10/1. And it was a cold day so the cats could stay in the car and right after we would head to new house (3 hr drive). So here we are in totally empty house, no food, electric, tv, furniture nothing. We are called that morning the closing wasn't taking place. So off to new house we go. DH goes back to work and is staying in the empty house for the 4 days. Then we go on vacation to West Virginia and we get a call saying the closing is that day at 4pm. We tell them we can't we are out of state and it will have to wait until we get back. So all kinds of phone calls start because buyer wants the weekend to start moving in. It was their lender that caused the first delay. So then the date is set again and I go down the morning of the closing. Left house at 5 am. We get to the office and find out It was cancelled again. So dh is staying in empty house again while he works. He just gets back to new house for his 3 days off, and we are called we can close at 5 pm that day. Well we would not get there in time, so it will have to wait until Monday morning. Again buyers were mad but it was their lenders fault. So Monday I did not go, dh had my POA, lawyer had my proxy. And finally it was done. Just a PIA experience.
 
Oh my gosh Paula! What a PIA indeed! I would have just been irate, which we all know doesn't help anything. Ugh. I hope everything goes swimmingly on Wednesday. We close at 0900, and we'll pick up and load up the moving van afterwards. Thankfully we're moving across town, literally only 1.5 mi from our current apartment. So we'll be able to dose as usual both am and pm, and he'll be left in the bathroom/kid's room to start as we're clearing out. We'll bring the kids over last so they have familiar things around them to help them acclimate. We'll be able to test as needed, and I suppose we can dose with a higher carb food during the actual moving period. So we may not necessarily need to change anything too drastically. I just figured if I was going to make changes, now would be the time.
 
What day is the moving day?

If you feel you can not test him at all while you are on the road, I would reduce 4 cycles prior to the day you are moving. That should drain the depot for you to keep him higher and safe. I would probably only reduce to 2.00 units .

It would be wonderful if he would "earn" a reduction on his own before you reduce to drain the depot. But, we all know that cats rarely do something that is actually convenient for us but, I have a feeling it could happen with Lou........

Let's see what others think.
 
What day is the moving day?

If you feel you can not test him at all while you are on the road, I would reduce 4 cycles prior to the day you are moving. That should drain the depot for you to keep him higher and safe. I would probably only reduce to 2.00 units .

It would be wonderful if he would "earn" a reduction on his own before you reduce to drain the depot. But, we all know that cats rarely do something that is actually convenient for us but, I have a feeling it could happen with Lou........

Let's see what others think.
Hiya Bobbie! This Wednesday is the big day! Thankfully there won't be a big road trip. Our house is 5 minutes away from our current apartment, so the trip won't be any further than a trip to the vet. So we'll be available for some regular testing, but we don't necessarily want to spend hours nursing him through a shark visit if he decides to do that. Part of me doesn't want to decrease because I don't want to lose our momentum, but then I don't want to leave him unprotected. Which I'm worried about, but I know he should be safe, since we generally won't be too far away at any given time. I can give MC or HC as necessary to help him surf if needed. I just can't decide. :oops: But gosh it would be amazing if he earned a reduction before then. Make it nice and easy for us (for a change ;):p)

Well he surprised the heck out of me for his PMPS. I was not expecting a low blue. Did he break the bounce during the cycle (I totally missed the +9, whoops), or was it just an exaggerated food spike? Between you and me I think he's (for now) getting better at breaking bounces. But who knows? We all know who leads this dance. :rolleyes:
 
Yeah on the blue PMPS. I didn't realize the house was so close to your apartment so the transit isn't the problem, rather than whether you want to be potentially be nursing him up from lower numbers..........if it were me I probably would reduce unless he earns it.

I did not realize he was positive for IAA! Wow he is doing great!!! Maybe you could put IAA in your signature.
 
I wonder whether the stress of moving will actually increase his BG numbers... In which case, holding the dose may be the best course of action?
 
Back
Top