? 9/9 Jimmy's Cycle 4 Increase +8 351 PMPS 331

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning Susan and Jimmy, no advise from me , but I am watching feeling Titan is about 1-3 months behind you in treatment so I'm taking notes on how this works :). Good luck!
 
R usually works best when you're close to a good dose and Jimmy is not quite there yet. Glad you increased yesterday. Keep increasing every 6 cycles until you see blue. Every kitty will get to a dose that is good for them. Since you've used R in the past, you can try it but if it were me I'd would start with the .25 at presshot and go from there.

Do not copy dosing for any kitty please.
 
So I can't comment on the R but Jimmy is definitively running flat. I'm guessing you'll have to climb back up the dose ladder a bit. I have a question about the raw food. Does that mean its zero carbs? The reason I ask is I questioned the zero to very low carb diet and wondered if maybe a little more carbs would help. There is even a post on it here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feeding-lowest-zero-carb-vs-lower-carb-foods.144220/
I changed from the FF pates 0-2 carbs to the FF chunky variety which are 4-5 carbs. I did this a few days before starting Lev. Did it help? Very possible. I read that even in the wild cats eat other small animals that have eaten greens so its in their system. I'm a firm believer in everything in moderation and if Jimmy is in fact on zero carbs maybe adding something to it to give him a few carbs may help with his BG numbers??
Just my thoughts and wanted to share
:bighug:
 
I'm thinking about the 10% increase rule that starts at 10U - if that's the case my next increase would actually be 13.2. While nominal - any thoughts on how this would be "bad" or "not recommended"?
 
So I can't comment on the R but Jimmy is definitively running flat. I'm guessing you'll have to climb back up the dose ladder a bit. I have a question about the raw food. Does that mean its zero carbs? The reason I ask is I questioned the zero to very low carb diet and wondered if maybe a little more carbs would help. There is even a post on it here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feeding-lowest-zero-carb-vs-lower-carb-foods.144220/
I changed from the FF pates 0-2 carbs to the FF chunky variety which are 4-5 carbs. I did this a few days before starting Lev. Did it help? Very possible. I read that even in the wild cats eat other small animals that have eaten greens so its in their system. I'm a firm believer in everything in moderation and if Jimmy is in fact on zero carbs maybe adding something to it to give him a few carbs may help with his BG numbers??
Just my thoughts and wanted to share
:bighug:
Thanks Michelle.

As for introducing carbs...cats are obligate carnivores and can't process carbs...not to mention they cause sugar spikes. I believe feeding them a species appropriate diet has done him wonders despite his BG. He's been fully raw for nearly two months now and re-introducing commercial wet could cause a real GI upset. I believe this is what effected @Bobbie And Bubba. As for the science...Thing is, whilst wild cats may consume plant matter indirectly from their prey, it's also important to note that said prey has already digested and broken down the food on an enzymic level by that point. I appreciate the suggestion though.

Seeing Beenies success on cabergoline is motivating and I have prob reconsidered trying it several times a day now...will look at it again if and I guess maybe more so when, we get back to 15 units. The struggle continues...
 
Titan (alias Jonny Cash) is having a good day! We have to be gone a bit this afternoon, going to get a +8 b4 we leave then should be home for evening shot etc. trying to get different BG checks to fill in. His SS. I'll admit I've been in a tyme zone rut. I'm anxious because his +2 was lower, that's a bit unusual for him. Practicing the slow and steady :mad:
 
Remember NDW, and patience. The 10% rule doesn't really start at this size, but rather is what dose changes typically are, even at the smaller doses. IE, we do 0.5 unchanged at 5 units dose too. The good news is you have seen yellow at this dose.
 
Remember NDW, and patience. The 10% rule doesn't really start at this size, but rather is what dose changes typically are, even at the smaller doses. IE, we do 0.5 unchanged at 5 units dose too. The good news is you have seen yellow at this dose.
Depending on what I see tonight may increase to 13 tomorrow (would be 5th cycle).
 
I believe this is what effected @Bobbie And Bubba
Hi Michelle, I am not positive but, I highly suspect that giving Bubba some Fancy Feast Salmon, could have contributed to his recent GI upset. He had been eating only raw for 6 months. I had to steer him the PM cycle of 8.19 and the next day was vomiting and diarrhea. His system was messed up for bit. He did also have a hairball issue so I think he could have had 2 issues going on along with being stressed about being on house arrest again. But, I am not too keen about giving him canned food again.

Yes, the raw is zero carbs and there is some info as you sited that some kitties do better on a higher carbs as compared to lower or no carbs while on insulin to help keep their cycles flatter. But, ECID.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top