? 9/9 Ivy AMPS 271, +3 170, +6 118, +9.75 249, +10 173, PMPS 316,+2 335, +4 297, Diet/Dose Question

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-4-115-5-75-62-libre-change-food-dose.281343/
Happy weekend everyone.
Today:
AMPS 271
+3 170
+4 202

Active cycle last night with Ivy. More mellow start to today, no sharp drops so far.
Feeding more of the reduced carb 9.25% lamb recipe into her diet, began 9/6/23.
(Maybe that’s what’s getting a more active cycle the past several days??)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) What do you think?
As we discussed, I am adding more 9.25% lower carb in every 3 days to let her adjust.

@tiffmaxee suggested going faster than that schedule to get her transferred to lower carbs entirely so that if a dose change is needed I’m not holding doses too long, I believe.

I’m on day 11 of current 2.75 u dose, SLGS. Ivy is having active cycles, clearing bounces very fast.
Some nadirs are mid 100s, but most nadirs are higher (from Libre data, some verified when she goes under or around100 with Contour meter) and lots of bouncing high from long stretches of lower (for Ivy) numbers.

I just want to be sure I’m transitioning her diet correctly to a lower carb recipe and I’m not holding doses too long.

I understand I should only be doing one thing at a time, such as diet change versus insulin change.
Does anyone have an opinion? thank you.
 
You still need to be following the dosing guidelines for SLGS. You adjust the dose weekly unless a dose reduction is indicated by the numbers dropping below 90.
 
You still need to be following the dosing guidelines for SLGS. You adjust the dose weekly unless a dose reduction is indicated by the numbers dropping below 90.
Is it safe to give an increase while reducing the carbs? Earlier this week you said:
Just keep the insulin the same. If Ivy needs a dose reduction, her numbers will tell you. It's no different for anyone who is making a diet orinsulin change.

Did I misunderstand you in “keep the insulin that same”?

Also, based on her SS and that she’s seeing some nadirs in the mid 100s and under, would I hold this dose or give an increase?
(All nadirs are not under 149).
She’s having very active cycles, then bouncing, then breaking bounces.
 
I held the dose per SLGS, but he started taking reductions fast. What is the ratio of food right now, Staci?.. High carb vs low carb?
Deb, I make her food.
For 2 months she has been eating 12.5% and the lower carb changing over to is 9.25% (an equal blend of 2 recipes I have 6% and 12.5%).
As of last night I have changed her am meal over and her late pm snacks: +10,11,12, to the lower recipe.
Will hold this schedule ratio for 2 more days till I then change another portion to the lower carbs.

Ivy gets several small snacks generally am cycle +1,2,3. Pm cycle she gets more snacks since she seems to dive more then at +1,2,3,4,5,6.
Does this make sense how I am explaining it?
 
I wasn't being entirely clear. Follow SLGS. You're changing diet slowly and changing dose even more slowly. It should be fine. You don't want to keep leaving Ivy in high numbers unduly long.
 
I guess I’m giving an increase unless anyone sees a reason not to. Nadirs are not consistently or daily under 149.

It took until we were about 25% higher carb, to see a big difference, but after that he started to do much better.

If the increase is called for per SLGS, then increase, you can drop back if she dips below 90.
 
Deb, I’m confused. You said it took until 25% higher carb? What does that mean (sorry, not understanding)

When the ratio of food got to 75%LC and 25% HC, that's when I started seeing a bigger difference in numbers and there were a few back to back reductions. And then naturally once he was eating 6% carb only, he took an even further reduction.
 
When the ratio of food got to 75%LC and 25% HC, that's when I started seeing a bigger difference in numbers and there were a few back to back reductions. And then naturally once he was eating 6% carb only, he took an even further reduction.
Oh I see. What % lc and hc carbs were you feeding?
How long did you take to make the transition? Thank you.
 
Back
Top