9.9 Charlie AMPS 326, + 2 275, +10 298

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
Actually, last night's numbers are much more interesting. I missed the +2 mark watching TV but I figured I'd get up and test him before I went to bed at +3. Imagine my surprise to see 155. I gave him some of his normal food and a tiny spoonful of a medium-carb pate. +4, 122. Rinse, repeat. At +5 get was at 128 so I fed him again (and then he meowed at me for more, for good measure) and went to bed. I thought for sure last night I was going to catch him under 90, but alas.

He's had a couple of days lately with some surprise lower numbers, including a 116 at +5 on 9.3.

We are on day 8 of feeding him lower fat food... mostly gently cooked rabbit from Fetching Foods, which is 15% by dry matter, and a couple meals a day of homemade gently cooked chicken breast with EZ complete. And an occasional treat of raw rabbit or chicken hearts/gizzards. He's still getting Cerenia because he was making hairball sounds the other day and I'm still anxious he's gonna get nauseous again.

Also reduced his pred 10 days ago and I would guess that's probably having a bigger impact on his numbers. I can't find my notes from my last convo with the IM vet but I think he's probably due for another reduction there to every other day. So far, he has not completely fallen apart like February. He does seem to be having some better days numbers wise.

Although, I would love it if he stopped freaking bouncing. I'm also really quite peeved that I listened to the ER vet about lowering his dose. I wish I had that new post on Somogyi effect to wave at them since they were so insistent I was killing him with too much insulin despite my data that showed he was high and flat even at 6 u. We wasted a bunch of time going back to 5.5 from 3. And the IM vet who didn't seem to believe me that he was having rebounds dipping, even very briefly into the 100s. I sent her the Libre data that was so high by and large, it actually didn't even show up on the printout.
 
Yes, also terrible at linking other posts

I'm hoping we'll get over this and he'll start recognizing lower numbers as normal and not do an impersonation of a rubber ball when he's approaching the high end of normal. Still have another 75 minutes until the bedtime+2. Curious if he'll be high again or low.

Is it possible to tell at +1 how things are going to maybe slow the drop with some food with some carbs in it? He seems to drop fairly dramatically by +2. He seems to be back to an earlier nadir too.
 
His +2 was 221 down from 306. He's eating his regular second dinner in anticipation of a very busy night of yowling at mom for food.
 
Is he eating food with 15% carbs? That's borderline MC-HC

No, his food currently very low carbs. It's 15% fat by dry matter. The IM vet wanted him on a lower fat diet, on a kibble that was 5% fat and 37% percent carbs and I told her there was no way but I would try to find a lower fat food.

The ingredients are: Oregon pasture-raised rabbit (flesh), heart, kidney, liver, whole fresh egg (shell, white, yoke), psyllium husk, vitamin E supplement, astaxanthin, manganese gluconate. The guaranteed analysis says max crude fiber of 0.13% .

I have instinct rabbit in a can which I think is over 10% carbs for a MC food for him. He got just a baby spoon full yesterday after his +3 and +4. For a HC, I have some FF with gravy and my husband has decided to feed his older cat friskies shreds in gravy so that's available as well. I would rather not have to feed those as I still don't know what exactly sets him off though I suspect fish is one.

I haven't added psyllium husk to the food I make him with EZ complete, though I have some now. I do usually throw in some dried or frozen green lipped mussels for the omegas. But otherwise it's just chicken breast and EZ complete.
 
Back
Top